This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Once upon a time, slow was synonymous with bad. Slow service, slow lines, slow-witted — all meant dissatisfaction, frustration, impatience. That’s no longer the case. Over the last few years, slow has taken on a series of positive connotations, coming to signify quality, meaningful connections, the ability to enjoy life on a deeper level, and the very important quest for sustainable living.


But the shift has actually been in place for the past three decades. In 1986, Italian activist Carlo Petrini launched the non-profit Slow Food, an organisation promoting local food and traditional cooking that’s since spread worldwide. In 2004, Canadian author Carl Honoré coined the phrase ‘slow movement’ in his book In Praise of Slow, spearheading the cultural phenomenon to encompass all aspects of lifestyle. Almost paradoxically, the rise of slowness has accelerated in recent seasons, linked to the ever-faster pace we are moving at.


It’s easy to understand why. In the age of tech- and efficiency-driven everything, instant social media and breakneck consumption, the idea of a slow morning to reconnect with oneself sounds more than appealing. The popularity of mindfulness and apps like Headspace is clear proof of that. So is the success of yoga, whose practice has been steadily on the rise around the world, Hong Kong included. Here, one just has to look at the exponential growth of Pure Yoga, which since starting in 2002 has opened 12 locations across the city, including Pacific Place and Starstreet Precinct. Its 1,600 weekly classes are almost always fully booked out, as are its teacher training programmes.


But the rise of slowness is also a result of environmental concerns. As the threat of global warming becomes increasingly tangible and discarded mass-produced items fill landfills to bursting, many of us are taking a step back to reassess our consumption.

Lala Curio, another shop in the Star Street area specializing in artisanal home furnishings, handmade wallpaper and one-of-a-kind objets d’arts, has built a loyal customer base – both here and internationally – on that same ethos of quality and uniqueness.

Industries like travel, fashion and design are reassessing too. Today, a rising number of hospitality businesses are engaging with local communities and adopting green initiatives in an effort to sensibly use the resources around them. Experiential trips embracing the notion of slow — from living the rural life in Spain to herding sheep and goats in the Himalayas — have become alluring alternatives to your regular beach holiday. And even that’s changing, with beach and reef clean-ups, stretching classes and sunrise meditation on offer in more than one resort destination.


Fashion brands, both high-end and high-street, have been rethinking their production process and pushing back against the pressure to deliver new products every few months. Gucci’s Alessandro Michele voiced that push poignantly in September 2017, when in the notes for his spring/summer 2018 collection he wrote, “Resist the mantra of speed that violently leads to losing oneself. Resist the illusion of something new at any cost.


Ever since then, the fashion house has pledged its commitment to sustainability and transparency — last year, it launched Gucci Equilibrium, a platform for its social and environmental initiatives.


Other labels have slowed down by shining light on artisanal craftsmanship and ethical sourcing. Theory runs a Good Fabrics initiative that uses premium merino wool woven by pioneers of renewable manufacturing in Italy. The 182-year-old Hermès, which has always made craftsmanship its core pillar, continues to be highly-sought after because of it — and has in fact seen a growth in sales globally.

In fashion, brands, both high-end and high street, have been rethinking their production process, and pushing back against the pressure to deliver new products every few months.

Similarly, a number of small, independent brands have found success because of their slower approach to business. In Hong Kong, many are centred around the Starstreet Precinct; there’s an array of eateries offering slow-made, local ingredients and dishes, and the same mood is prevailing in fashion and homewares. Multi-brand concept store Kapok is a case in point. The boutique prides itself on carrying niche designers and products that ‘will last for more than one season’, says head buyer Chris Lo. ‘Creativity and craftsmanship are more important than meeting trends,’ she adds. ‘We support fashion with substance.’ Lo observes that an increasing number of people are drawn to their approach; as she puts it, they’re ‘looking for items that feel special and unique, and last longer’.


Nearby Lala Curio specialises in artisanal home furnishings, handmade wallpaper and one-of-a-kind objets d’art, has built a loyal customer base — both locally and internationally — on that same ethos of quality and uniqueness.  The company works with artisans near Beijing for its cloisonné, and has a workshop in Suzhou where it creates its wallpaper. Its mission from the start was to approach design with a slower, more meaningful pace, says founder Laura Cheung.


‘We work on reinventing the lost crafts of Asia, and that’s been resonating incredibly well with our clientele,’ she says. ‘We honour the skills, time and arts behind our products, and respect the process involved in making them, however slow or minute or complex it is. I think of it as new luxury. The items we create aren’t just “seasonal”, but are to be passed on to the next generations. I believe people appreciate that, now more than ever, because of all the issues that the opposite trends — fast fashion, fast consumerism — have caused.”


Cheung sums up the current mood: ‘There’s a longing for a more sustainable lifestyle, but also a wish to keep traditions alive. Nothing captures that better that slowness.’

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

从前,“慢”算是等同于“坏”,服务慢、速度慢、脑筋慢等等,都有令人不满、沮丧、不耐烦的意思。现在,今非昔比,慢活文化在过去几年开始得到支持,象征优秀的品质、有意义的联系、深刻享受生活的能力,以及对可持续生活的追求。


然而,其实这趟文化转型早在过去30年已经开始。1986年,意大利的社会活跃分子卡洛·佩特里尼(Carlo Petrini)创立了非牟利组织Slow Food,推广本地食物和传统烹饪,后来更普及至全球。2004年,加拿大作家卡尔·欧诺黑(Carl Honoré)在其著作《慢活》,更自创“慢活运动”一词,提倡平衡各个生活层面的文化现象。正当我们的生活节奏比从前更加急促,慢活文化于近年亦迅速抬头,仿佛是带矛盾的幽默。


其实不难明白这个转变的由来。在这个事事讲求科技和效率的时代,加上即时社交媒体和快速消费大行其道,慢慢享受早晨、重新与自己连结的人生似乎更为吸引,而正念和冥想手机应用程序Headspace大受欢迎,也足以证明这一点。这同样是瑜伽运动在全球取得空前成功的原因,香港也不例外,看看本地瑜伽中心Pure Yoga发展蓬勃就知道,由2002年开业至今,已在全港12个地点开设分店,包括太古广场和星街小区。他们每周开设1,600节瑜伽课,几乎总是爆满,而瑜伽导师的训练课程同样座无虚席。


近年大家愈来愈关注环保议题,这也是慢活文化掀起热潮的原因。随着全球暖化问题迫在眉睫、堆填场无法不停接收大量被丢弃的量产物品,大家开始反思自己的消费行为。

Lala Curio, another shop in the Star Street area specializing in artisanal home furnishings, handmade wallpaper and one-of-a-kind objets d’arts, has built a loyal customer base – both here and internationally – on that same ethos of quality and uniqueness.

旅游、时装和设计等行业也开始重新审视有关议题。今天,愈来愈多服务行业与本地社区合作,尽量善用现有资源、推动环保。体验式行程也融入慢活元素,推出前往西班牙享受乡村生活和深入喜马拉雅山脉牧羊等方案,除了惯常的海滩假期,这些体验旅程也是不错的选择。今天,就连去海滩度假,游客也能参与清洁行动、上伸展课和日出冥想等另类活动,而且并不局于某一个旅游胜地。


不管是高级还是高街的时装品牌,也开始重新思考其生产过程,力抗每几个月就要推出新品的市场压力。时装名牌古驰的创意总监亚力山卓·米开理(Alessandro Michele)在2017年9月对此表示强烈支持,并在2018年春夏系列时装展的简介中写道:“抵抗疯狂追求速度、令人失去自我的魔咒;不计代价抵抗务要推陈出新的错觉。”


自那之后,古驰承诺秉行可持续发展和高透明度的运营方式。去年,他们推出Gucci Equilibrium古驰平衡计划,旨在以此平台实践社会和环保责任。


其他品牌则以支持精湛手工艺和道德采购体现慢活,例如希尔瑞(Theory)推出“Good Fabrics”计划,采用来自意大利再生制造先锋编织的优质美丽诺羊毛设计时装。又如有182年历史的爱玛仕(Hermès),一直以纯手工精心制作产品,多年来也因为这点而广受追捧,近年更带动全球销量增长。

Multi-brand concept store Kapok prides itself on carrying niche designers and products that will last for more than one season

同理,不少独立的小店也因为放慢业务步伐而取得成功。香港的星街小区林立许多这类小店,例如大量供应“慢工炮制”和地道食材与菜式的餐厅,而这股风气在时装店和家品店同样盛行。多元品牌概念店Kapok正是一个好例子,采购总监Chris Lo指他们以引入小众设计师和“不仅流行一季”产品为傲,并补充说:“创意和工艺比迎合潮流更加重要,我们设计的时装着重内涵,不流于表面。”她又留意到愈来愈多人欣赏他们这个做法,她说顾客“想要别具特色、独一无二的产品,而不是昙花一现的潮物” 。


邻近星街小区的另一小店Lala Curio专门售卖工艺家品、手工墙纸和非同凡响的艺术品,着重品质之余,也充满独特性,吸引了一批本地和海外的忠实粉丝。他们更与北京附近的工匠联手制作景泰蓝产品,并在苏州开立工作室设计墙纸。Lala Curio的创始人Laura Cheung说这间小店一直以来的目标,就是以较缓慢、较有意思的步伐设计产品。


她说:“我们正在重塑日渐没落的亚洲工艺品,而此举深得顾客支持。我们想歌颂制作产品背后所花的技巧、时间和工艺,以及所牵涉的制作流程,不管过程有多慢、琐碎或复杂也没关系。我认为这就是新奢侈品,我们创作的产品不仅能做到‘入流’,还能流传到下一代。我相信大家比从前更加欣赏这种模式,因为快速时装和快速消费主义的潮流带来太多问题。”


Cheung以此总结当前的心情:“大家一直期待更进一步的可持续生活模式,但也希望可以保留传统,而慢活文化最能兼顾两者了。”

类型

关闭