This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

20 Questions with… Linda Farrow’s Creative Director

Linda Farrow Creative Director Simon Jablon revived his mother’s eponymous 1970s eyewear label after discovering boxes of forgotten glasses in 2003. Since then, Linda Farrow has expanded into the world’s most progressive and fashionable luxury eyewear brand.


From London, Simon speaks to The Style Sheet about iconic moments, life in lockdown and the world’s most universally loved eyewear style. 


1. Linda Farrow has collaborated with some incredible brands. Do you have a favourite that you’ve worked with? 

We’ve worked with so many great brands and had such different experiences with each of them. My all-time personal favourite brand is Dries Van Noten, so that was a big one for me because I’m quite obsessed with what he does on a personal level.


2. How often do you spot Linda Farrow designs on the street, and do you go up to the wearers?

I’ve seen it a lot, luckily for us, and it’s always a weird thing. I wouldn’t want to say anything to them — I get a bit shy — but I love it at the same time. The child in me gets really excited. I don’t have the ego to go up to someone and say something like ‘I created what you’re wearing on your face!’ but it is really such a compliment. I think that feeling never goes away, no matter how big you get.


3. You live in London. What do you love most about the city?

I think it’s the energy — that’s what Linda Farrow is built on. Our heritage is 1970s London and that kind of uptown, downtown, rock ’n’ roll, hedonistic cultural mix of everything. There’s always energy where there’s music, fashion, the arts, and all different types of people from every different culture, and that’s London. It’s the beauty and the chaos all mixed together.

A model wearing Linda Farrow Debbie sunglasses
The limited-edition Debbie was created from recycled materials hand-finished with gold foil to celebrate Linda Farrow’s 50th anniversary

4. Could you give us a recommendation for next time we’re in town?

I like Exmouth Market in Clerkenwell where our office is based. There are a lot of independent bars and cool little restaurants. It’s a little part of London that most people don’t know about; it’s a weird hidden gem.


5. Linda Farrow has a very impressive following. Is there a moment of seeing your eyewear that stands out?

There were two really high-profile moments that happened in a very short period of time. It was when Lady Gaga wore them in her music video Paparazzi and then in the video Telephone with Beyoncé. It was quite a moment, and it’s hard to get moments like that. You can’t plan for those, they just happen and it becomes iconic overnight.


6. How did those moments come about? 

The glasses got borrowed by Lady Gaga’s stylist Nicola Formichetti but we didn’t know what for. When you lend stuff out, you keep an eye out. You’re not sure if they will be worn at all, or if it’s just going to worn to the supermarket, so when that came out, it was a bit like ‘Wow!’


7. What’s your work-from-home situation been like this year?

Most of our people are working from home, and I’m working from my attic half the time but, because product is tactile, sometimes you do need to be face-to-face and touching things. So me and the design team go into the office two to three days a week.


8. What’s the biggest lesson your mother taught you?

She always told me to follow my heart. There are always going to be doubters, everyone has an opinion, and you can’t let that interfere with your vision because then that vision becomes unclear and in the end consumer feels that in your product. You can’t be something to everybody.


9. Which pair of Linda Farrow glasses are you most likely to be sporting yourself?  

It’s going to sound quite cheesy! We’ve given names to a lot of the glasses in our core collection, and there’s a pair called Simon because I wear them all the time. I didn’t really like the idea of them being named after me but it was a unanimous team decision!


10. How do you think Linda Farrow has changed the trajectory of eyewear?

I think one thing Linda Farrow did is put eyewear on the fashion map. I think previously it was very functional, it wasn’t that interesting and it was never on the runways — we made eyewear a fashion accessory again. And I feel like that trend is continuing, with the eyewear industry becoming more and more solidified in the fashion world.

A model wearing Linda Farrow Jerry sunglasses
The new-season Jerry sunglasses epitomise the brand’s style, with an oversized angular cutwork frame finished with gold-plated titanium hardware

11. If you didn’t uncover your mother’s archive of eyewear what do you think you would be doing now?

I’ve always been interested in design. I would’ve loved to have gone into like furniture and interiors, something with a technical design aspect. I love the technical side of things, and I think that’s where my love for creating eyewear comes from — it’s a very technical product.


12. What’s been the biggest lesson of 2020 so far?

It’s cliché but I think the world was obsessed with expansion and growth, and now less has become more. People want fewer things, but they want better things. People want quality items that they are happy with and proud of. I think that’s the same with friendships as well — I don’t need a million friends or to go to a million parties. I’d rather just have a dinner in with good friends. We appreciate our family more, our time more, our friends.


13. What’s been the biggest silver lining of this year?

I had a daughter six months ago, so being able to have that time at home this year, when I’d usually be travelling so much, has been a massive silver lining.


14. What do you miss most about travelling?

I live in London, so seeing the sun! No, to be honest, for the last 20 years I’ve been travelling like a maniac. At one point I was travelling 10 months a year. It wasn’t sustainable, I was tired. And while I loved every minute, I haven’t missed travelling this year.


15. What’s on your travel bucket list post-pandemic?

The last trip I went on, just before the pandemic happened was down to Cape Town, South Africa. To be honest with you, I love it down there, it’s absolutely stunning. I’d be happy to go back there again!


16. What kind of eyewear styles have you noticed Hongkongers gravitating towards?

It’s always been about slightly bigger shapes there. I think that’s why we do quite well, because our heritage is steeped in the 1970s, which means bigger frames but still statement, and with quality.

A model wearing Linda Farrow D-frame glasses from the Linear collection
Sculpted from recycled acetate and hand-polished, the D-frame glasses from the Linear collection are elevated with custom hinges and gold-plated titanium fittings

17. What are the key eyewear trends at the moment? 

I think light lenses are coming back, with a big, oversized light lens so you can see the eyes. I also think we’re going to see a spike in neon reflective lenses again.


18. Do you think there’ll be a trend shift post-pandemic?

Generally, I think post-pandemic people will want to have a bit of fun. Everyone’s been sitting at home wearing sweats all day, so I think people will want excitement when it comes to everything, including eyewear.


19. Where do you like to shop for menswear?

I have a soft spot for Prada, and I love Dries Von Noten. Then I’d mix it in with some streetwear brands like Nike. As I’m getting slightly older I can’t go too streetwear-y, otherwise, I feel like I look a bit ridiculous!


20. Do you think there’s a universally flattering eyewear style?

Yes! Our number one selling style is and always has been the Calthorpe. It’s named after where our office is, which was also were my mother’s office was. So we named it after that — the home of Linda Farrow. Everybody that tries them on really likes them.


Discover Linda Farrow’s eyewear collection at Puyi Optical, Pacific Place.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

Linda Farrow创意总监亲自为你解答20问

2003年,Linda Farrow创意总监Simon Jablon意外地发现了几盒老早被遗忘的眼镜,启发他将这个与其家母同名的70年代眼镜品牌重振旗鼓。自此,Linda Farrow发展蓬勃,跻身世界最革新及引领潮流的高级眼镜品牌。


Simon现居伦敦,他向The Style Sheet分享人生各个重要时刻、封城下的生活,以及世界上普遍最受欢迎的眼镜款式。


1. Linda Farrow跟好些非凡品牌合作,你最喜欢哪个合作伙伴?

我们跟许多了不起的品牌合作过,每次合作都有不同经历。我个人特别喜欢Dries Van Noten,这次合作对我别具意义,这位设计师的作品都让我挺着迷。


2. 你在街上多常看到别人戴着Linda Farrow的眼镜?你会走上前跟他们说话吗?

幸运地,我经常碰到支持者,往往感到难以言喻。我有点害羞,不会想走上前跟他们搭讪,同一时间我很喜欢这种遇见。我内心的〝孩子魂”会感到兴奋不已,但我没那么自负,不会跟别人说:〝你脸上戴着我设计的眼镜!”然而,我感到备受赏识,不论年纪多大,这种感觉永远都不会消失。


3. 你住在伦敦,你最喜欢这城市的哪方面?

我想是这城市的活力,Linda Farrow也是建基于这份活力。我们的品牌起源于70年代的伦敦,当时上城区、市中心、摇滚音乐与享乐主义的文化融合在一起。凡有各式各样音乐、时装、艺术及文化背景的人聚在一起,就会产生无穷活力,这就是伦敦,将美好与混沌结合在一起。

A model wearing Linda Farrow Debbie sunglasses
限量款式Debbie采用循环再造物料制造,人工精制并缀以金箔,以庆祝Linda Farrow 50周年盛事

4. 下次我们去伦敦游玩,你会推介什么好去处?

我喜欢位于克勒肯维尔(Clerkenwell)的小街Exmouth Market,也是我们办公室的所在位置。那里独立酒吧及特色小型餐厅林立,是鲜为人知的伦敦一角,犹如隐藏的珍宝。


5. Linda Farrow的支持者多不胜数,你的眼镜品牌曾在哪个时刻广受瞩目?

在短时间内有两个备受瞩目的时刻,Lady Gaga曾戴上我的品牌眼镜拍摄音乐录影带,先是《Paparazzi》,其二是她与Beyoncé合唱的《Telephone》。两次都难能可贵,非比寻常,这并非我们能计划的,恰巧发生了,在一夜之间成了时尚标志。


6. 事情起源是怎样的? 

Lady Gaga的造型师Nicola Formichetti向我们借了眼镜,但我们并不知道用途为何。每当我们把东西外借,就会格外留神。你根本不会知道眼镜会否被戴上,或是人们只是戴着去超级市场。因此,用途一揭晓,我们都惊讶不已。


7. 今年你在家工作的情况如何?

我们很多员工都在家工作,而我有一半时间都在阁楼工作,因为眼镜讲求触感,有时候工作需要面对面沟通及亲身触摸产品,所以我跟设计团队一星期会回办公室两、三天。


8. 母亲对你最重要的教导是什么?

她总是跟我说要追随自己的内心,每个人都有自己的想法,质疑你的大有人在,你不能让别人的意见左右你的愿景,否则你就会看不清愿景,最终消费者会从你的产品感受得到。你不能满足每一个人。


9. 哪一副Linda Farrow眼镜最让你想向人炫耀? 

这听起来有点做作!我们命名了主要系列的多款眼镜,当中有一副叫〝Simon”,是我经常戴着的。我不太喜欢以我的名字来命名眼镜,但这是团队全体一致的决定!

10. 你认为Linda Farrow如何改变了眼镜界的趋势?

其中一个Linda Farrow的影响是把眼镜融入时尚界,以往眼镜都是非常实用的物品,缺乏趣味性,不会出现在时尚伸展台,而我们让眼镜再次成为潮流配饰。我感受到这个趋势会持续下去,眼镜业界在时尚界的地位会越加巩固。

A model wearing Linda Farrow Jerry sunglasses
今季新款Jerry的加大码镜框切割出个性棱角,添以镀金钛金属臂,完美彰显品牌风格

11. 若你没有发现母亲昔日的眼镜,你现在会有何发展呢?

我向来对设计很感兴趣,本来想投身技术型设计,如家具及室内设计。我喜欢涉及技术层面的设计,我想这是我热爱眼镜设计的原因,这是非常讲求技术水平的产品。


12. 到目前为止,你在2020年学到的最重要一课是什么?

虽然这听起来陈腔滥调,但我认为世界太沉迷于扩展和增长,现在简约就是美。人们重质不重量,追求能让他们满足及自豪的优质产品,其理念跟友谊如出一辙,我并不需要拥有无数朋友或参加无数个派对,我宁可跟好朋友吃一顿晚餐,我们更重视家人、时间及朋友。


13. 今年纵有不如意事,带给你最大盼望的是什么?

六个月前我女儿出生了,以往我经常到处旅行,今年能与她在家中享受亲子时光,是我最大的安慰。


14. 说到旅行,你最想念的是什么?

我住在伦敦,所以我会说最想念的是阳光!不,老实说,过去20年我疯狂似的去旅行,更一度试过一年中有10个月都在旅行,我感到疲累,不能持续下去。今年我每一刻都很享受,并不想念旅行。


15. 你的疫情后旅游清单上有什么地方?

在疫情爆发前我最后一趟旅行是去南非开普敦,老实说我很喜欢那里,美丽绝伦,我很乐意重游此地!


16. 你留意到香港人钟情于什么眼镜款式吗?

香港人向来喜欢尺寸稍大的镜片,我们的品牌札根于70年代的传统,镜框较大,既是时尚宣言,又有质量保证,我想这是我们业务不错的原因。

A model wearing Linda Farrow D-frame glasses from the Linear collection
人手打磨过的再用醋酸纤维,制作成Linear系列的D镜框,加上定制铰链和镀金钛金属臂,实在美不胜收

17. 现在主要的眼镜潮流是什么?

我认为轻薄镜片会再次流行起来,采用超大型轻薄镜片,双眼清晰可见。另外,霓虹色反光镜片亦会再次掀起热潮。


18. 你认为疫情后眼镜潮流会改变吗?

一般来说,我认为疫情后大家都想寻找一点乐趣。现在每个人都整天待在家里,身穿运动服装,自然希望凡事有多点刺激感,包括眼镜款式。


19. 你喜欢在哪家店选购男装?

我偏爱Prada,也喜欢Dries Van Noten,我会混搭街头服饰品牌,例如Nike。我年纪渐大,不能穿得太街头风,否则会格格不入!


20. 你认为有某种眼镜款式能风靡所有人吗?

有!一直以来,我们最热卖的眼镜款式都是Calthorpe,以我们办公室的位置来命名,亦是我母亲办公室的所在之处,所以我们以Linda Farrow的发源地来命名这款眼镜,每个人试戴过后都爱不释手。


前往太古广场溥仪眼镜发掘Linda Farrow的眼镜系列。

类型

关闭