This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

A round of applause erupted around the theatre. The actors took their bows on stage. You could feel the exhilaration in the air.


Except it wasn’t a theatre, it was a cinema. And the actors weren’t on stage, but on screen. Yet it very much felt like being in a theatre in London’s West End. This is NT Live, or National Theatre Live, where hit shows, starring big names from the big screen and from the stage, many of which are sold out months in advance, are beamed into audiences in cinemas around the world. And it’s been a phenomenon.


‘When we started NT Live, we wanted to give people access to our work who otherwise may not be able to see it,’ says Flo Buckeridge, a producer at the National Theatre. ‘It was a bit of an experiment but it was really well received, not just in the United Kingdom, but all over the world. Not everyone is able to get to the theatre and this way, we bring theatre to audiences.’


NT Live launched its pilot season in the UK in 2009 with Phèdre, which starred Helen Mirren. It was made available to audiences in 73 cinemas across the UK broadcast live from the theatre and 200 more around the world, which brought a growing global demand. Due to time differences international screenings were usually recordings rather than real time broadcasts, but this didn’t take away from the audience’s enjoyment and feeling of being there.


The success of NT Live meant other performance arts companies followed suit. While The Met in New York City had already been screening operas since 2006, The Royal Shakespeare Company debuted with Richard II starring David Tennant in 2013, and ballets from The Bolshoi launched in cinemas in 2014. More recently event cinema has expanded to include live sports broadcasts and music performances.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has been a global hit
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has been a global hit

Event cinema arrived at AMC Cinemas in Hong Kong in 2011. ‘We seized the opportunity to explore different content from around the globe and to provide alternative entertainment to our audience so that when they come to our cinemas, there are not just movies they can choose from, but all kinds of recorded live performances,’ says Judith Kwong, AMC’s film booking manager.


Since 2011 the popularity – and awareness – of event cinema in Hong Kong has only grown. Each year sees more productions and a greater number of screenings, though in an attempt to garner full houses that recreate the theatre experience more realistically, they are still limited.


There are other ways that event cinema strives for authenticity, too. ‘We really try to get the atmosphere in the theatre to the viewers in the cinema,’ says Buckeridge. Ahead of an NT Live production, for example, there will be shots of the auditorium as people sit down, conveying the buzz of anticipation for what they are about to experience. There’s also a presenter in the theatre introducing the production. “We try to replicate the theatre experience as much as possible for our cinema audiences, and we’ve been told that people clap in the cinema along with the audience in the theatre.’

Benedict Cumberbatch has been one of the major drawcards in event cinema. Here he plays Hamlet
Benedict Cumberbatch has been one of the major drawcards in event cinema. Here he plays Hamlet

High-quality theatre companies are behind most of the content for event cinema, but much of the draw is also that the productions have received rave reviews and boast star-spangled casts. And they can be enjoyed from the comfort of an audience’s hometown. Event cinema also offers the chance for many theatre fans to achieve the impossible. For many people it was inconceivable that they might see Benedict Cumberbatch in Hamlet in his 12-week run as the title character in 2015 at the Barbican in London – a year ahead, advance tickets were sold out in minutes and it was declared the fastest-selling ticket in London theatre history. But when the production was later screened by NT Live, it was seen by around 800,000 people across the world, and remains the most-viewed NT Live broadcast.


Perhaps the greatest achievement is that screening stage productions in the cinema has not been to the detriment of people actually going to the theatre. ‘We’ve found that seeing an NT Live encourages people to see more live theatre and performance generally, and that’s really one of our main aims,’ says Buckeridge.

Left: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. Right: Ian McKellen as King Lear in 2017. Image courtesy of National Theatre Live
Left: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. Right: Ian McKellen as King Lear in 2017. Image courtesy of National Theatre Live

Every year Bolshoi Ballet and NT Live launch a new set of productions. NT Live recently screened the powerful and critically acclaimed Yerma starring Billie Piper, and Angels in America Part One and Two with Andrew Garfield. The current season includes productions of King Lear starring Ian McKellen and Tennessee Williams’ Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, which will hopefully make their way onto Hong Kong’s screens. The 2017-2018 season for Bolshoi Ballet includes Giselle featuring acclaimed dancers Svetlana Zakharova and Sergei Polunin, Coppélia and The Flames of Paris.


While such productions may not be a total substitute for the live show, when you're on the other side of the world and may not have the opportunity to see the shows that are raved about, it’s an affordable alternative – and a hugely enjoyable one.


AMC Cinemas screens events from ballet, opera and theatre to rock concerts, with some of the most advanced audio tech in Asia and yummy treats from classics to canapés.

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

当表演圆满结束,剧院内掌声如雷,演员在台上鞠躬致谢,全场情绪高涨,你也深受感动。


不过你不在剧院现场,而是身处电影院;演员也不在你面前,而是在银幕上。尽管如此,你感觉犹如置身伦敦西区剧院,亲眼见证舞台表演的魔力。英国国家剧院现场(National Theatre Live,简称NT Live)与世界各地的电影院合作,专门直播影坛和剧坛巨星主演的大热节目,有关门票广受欢迎,通常在直播前几个月已经售罊,带来令人震撼的另类观影体验,掀起新的热潮。


NT Live制作人芙洛‧巴克里奇说:“我们最初创立NT Live,是想让无法亲临剧院的人,也能看到我们的演出。那算是一场实验吧,没想到市场反应极佳,不仅在英国,在世界各地也一样。毕竟不是人人都能去剧院,而我们能把舞台‘带到’观众面前。”


2009年,NT Live于英国率先试播诗剧《费德拉》。剧作由海伦‧美兰主演,当年于全国共73家和世界各地200多家电影院上映直播,自此全球需求便日益增加。由于时差问题,国际放映的通常是现场演出的录像,而非实时转播,但观众依然彷佛身历其境,无损观剧雅兴。


NT Live获得空前成功,其他表演艺术机构也不遑多让,纷纷加入直播行列。事实上,纽约市大都会歌剧院早于2006年尝试直播歌剧,而皇家莎士比亚剧团于2013年首度直播大卫‧田纳特主演的《查理二世》、莫斯科大剧院则在2014年开始于电影院直播芭蕾舞演出。近年,直播题材更扩展到体育赛事和音乐盛事。

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has been a global hit
《深夜小狗离奇事件》是全球大受欢迎的剧目

直播影院于2011年登陆香港AMC院线,负责买片排檔的邝经理表示:“我们把握机会,搜罗全球不同类型的节目,为电影院的观众带来另类的娱乐体验。当观众来到AMC,不仅可以选看电影,也能选看各类现场演出的精彩录像。”


自2011年直播影院进驻香港起,大家的支持和关注一直有增无减,上映的制作数目和播映次数均年年上升。不过,为了做到全院满座的现场效果,播映场次还是有限。


为了营造十足剧院的观赏环境,直播影院也在其他方面巧施妙计。制作人巴克里奇说:“我们很想让电影院的观众感受到剧院的现场气氛。”其中一个方法是在播放演出之前,先直播剧院观众入座的情况,让电影院的观众透过银幕感受现场的热切期待,更有专人负责介绍演出。他补充:“我们歇尽全力,将剧院演出完美呈献到电影院观众眼前。听说当剧院观众拍掌,电影院也会随即传来掌声。”

Benedict Cumberbatch has been one of the major drawcards in event cinema. Here he plays Hamlet
本尼迪克特‧康伯巴奇是直播影院数一数二的卖座红星,图为他在《哈姆雷特》的演出照片

直播影院主要播放优秀剧团的演出,但直播剧目叫好叫座,也因为它们大获好评,以及演员阵容鼎盛,观众更可在附近的电影院观赏,相当方便。此外,直播影院还能让一众舞台剧迷“梦想成真”。对很多人来说,想要亲身欣赏本尼迪克特‧康伯巴奇主演的《哈姆雷特》,简直是痴人说梦。2015年,这部舞台剧在伦敦巴比肯剧院连续上演12星期,而预订门票早于一年前在几分钟内火速售罄,成为当地舞台剧界有史以来,卖票速度最快的演出。后来,NT Live直播《哈姆雷特》,吸引全球80万观众到电影院“看剧”,时至今日仍是NT Live最多人收看的直播节目。


虽然直播影院转播舞台演出,买票进剧院的观众却没有减少,这也许正是其成功之处。制作人巴克里奇解释:“我们发现NT Live的直播节目,反而鼓励大家光临剧院,亲身观赏舞台剧和其他演出,成功达到我们其中一个主要目标。”

Left: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. Right: Ian McKellen as King Lear in 2017. Image courtesy of National Theatre Live

莫斯科大剧院芭蕾舞团和NT Live每年都会推出一系列新节目。NT Live早前播出《耶尔玛》,一部由比莉‧派佩主演且好评如潮的剧目,还有安德鲁‧加菲尔德主演的《天使在美国》第一部和第二部,而今季精选剧目则有伊恩‧麦克莱主演的《李尔王》,以及田纳西‧威廉斯的经典之作《朱门巧妇》,这两部作品有望稍后在香港上映。2017至2018年度,莫斯科大剧院芭蕾舞团放映由顶尖舞者斯维特兰娜‧扎哈诺娃和瑟基‧普魯尼领衔的《吉赛尔》,另外还有《葛蓓莉亚》和《巴黎的火焰》。


虽然电影院直播未必能完全代替现场演出,但当你身在世界的另一端,未能亲身欣赏热门演出,到电影院看直播也是相宜的折衷方案,而且表演同样精彩绝伦。


AMC院线配备亚洲最先进的音响设施,上映不同类型的演出,如芭蕾舞、歌剧、舞台剧和摇滚音乐会等等,更提供经典小吃和开胃菜,一次满足你吃喝玩乐的需要。

关闭