This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

20 Questions: Brooks Brothers’ Michael Bastian

Brooks Brothers is the original authority on American style. With a rich 200-year heritage, the brand has an impressive history that includes being the first ready-to-wear fashion emporium in the States, dressing almost every single president, and offering a timeless heritage style that is so iconic it’s simply called the ‘Brooks Brothers look’.


Earlier this year, it was announced that New York designer Michael Bastian was taking over the creative reins at the label. With a career including a position at another iconic brand, Tiffany & Co., along with a role as Menswear Fashion Director at Bergdorf Goodman, and his own eponymous label — which won the CFDA Menswear Designer of the Year award in 2011 — Bastian brings a wealth of experience (and impeccable style) to the table.


Here, Michael talks to The Style Sheet about everything from returning Brooks Brothers to its roots to why he’s ready to start dressing up again.


1. Congratulations on your new(ish) role as Creative Director at Brooks Brothers! What do you love most about the brand?

Thank you! It’s an exciting moment. I love how consistent Brooks Brothers has been through the years. Even though much has changed, the brand continues to be true to its DNA — the destination for classic American style.


2. How would you describe the direction you're moving the brand towards? 

As a start, I'm adding back all the iconic Brooks Brothers pieces to the collection. I believe that our customers should always walk to our stores and find all the Brooks Brothers classics — if you’re a woman, the classic twin set and if you’re a man, the tennis sweaters, the grey flannel suits, chinos... Also, a big part of my vision for the brand is to expand sportswear. The brand is naturally thought of for career-wear, but also want to highlight the other more casual aspects of the Brooks Brothers lifestyle.

3 men wearing contemporary suits from Brooks Brothers
Brooks Brothers is known for its assortment of expertly crafted suits

3. Where are you at the moment?

I’m sitting in my office in Times Square at the Brooks Brothers New York City HQ.


4. What's the first thing you do every morning?

I turn on the coffee maker!


5. Who do you think are the three most stylish men in history?

I have always admired Steve McQueen, Gianni Agnelli and John F Kennedy Jr. I always thought JFK Jr had the most personal style — he truly embraced the sexy American style.


6. How would you recommend styling Brooks Brothers’ new cashmere tracksuit?

I think you could certainly wear it together, but it's more interesting if you break the cashmere tracksuit apart. Maybe wear the hoodie with a jacket, chinos and sneakers. I’d pair the bottom with a flannel shirt, loafers and a parka if I'm running out the door in the morning. It’s also perfect if you just want to lounge at home.


7. You've been wildly successful in the menswear industry and have a CFDA Menswear Designer of the Year award under your belt. What does it take to be a successful menswear designer?

I think you need to infuse yourself into the customer’s head. It’s usually easy to design menswear if you’re a guy because you can put yourself in the customer’s shoes and make a product that you yourself are looking for. But that might not always be the reality, sometimes you might work for a brand that's a little out of your comfort zone, and you must create this mythical customer that will get you through the job. I consider myself very lucky as I’m the Brooks Brothers customer, so I'm designing everything I love.


8. What defines a perfect Oxford shirt?

The number one thing is the weight of the fabric. It should be 100 per cent cotton, very dense and heavy — also, the roll of the collar, which was a famous Brooks Brothers invention and is very recognisable.

A man with a skateboard wearing a contemporary look from Brooks Brothers
Brooks Brothers’ signature fresh take on heritage style

9. What’s the most understated accessory for men? 

A wedding ring.


10. Do you have any interior design influences? 

The decorator Billy Baldwin. All the apartments he designed were quintessential New York, in my opinion. They’re still modern and very well put together.


11. What's your favourite object in your home and why?

There's a painting in my living room that my mother gave me when I was a freshman in college. I dragged it around with me for years until I finally found a place in my home.


12. What Brooks Brothers pieces are you wearing on high rotation now?

I’m wearing a couple of things — the long-sleeve slim-fit polo, which is a little dressier than a regular polo shirt. Also, the Madras shirt and the ladybug embroidered shorts — they were some of the first things I designed at Brooks Brothers.


13. How has getting dressed for you changed in the past year?

I think after a year of lockdown, all I want to do is dress up again. I keep thinking of items that I wasn’t craving while chilling at home that I want to buy now. A grey flannel pant and a new parka are definitely on the list.


14. What do you love most about New York?

I love the diversity. People always say that New York is only for the rich, but I think that’s not true. I came to New York with big ambitions and no money, but I feel like the city took care of me. You can do a lot of things without money here like visiting museums and parks, and beaches during the summer.


15. What are the three pieces every man should have in his wardrobe?

Navy cashmere crew-neck sweater, red and white Bengal striped shirt, and a pair of five-pocket corduroys.

Brooks Brothers Creative Director Michael Bastian
Brooks Brothers Creative Director Michael Bastian

16. What else is influencing your design?

This Fall, there’s a heavy equestrian theme. There are two main influences — the very preppy East Coast and New England spirit and a great story of one of the Brooks Brothers’ grandsons who owned a horse ranch in Wyoming.


17. Who would you most like to see wearing Brooks Brothers?

I would love to dress President Biden. He does already wear Brooks Brothers, but it would be amazing to create a custom suit for him someday.


18. What do you wish you knew about style when you were 16?

I wish I knew that you didn’t have to change your look to go with a trend. I've always been very preppy, but I would try to morph into a different style to fit in when I was younger. The older I became, the more I realised that I shouldn't have to change my whole persona just to blend in.


19. What would you most like to change about the way men get dressed?

I don't want to change anyone, honestly. I think everyone should be able to express themselves. I just want to make sure the Brooks Brothers customers get what they need.


20. What about your career makes you the proudest?

It’s not so much about pride and more about astonishment! My career took so many turns, yet I ended up in the place that I always wanted to be. I still can't believe that I’m at Brooks Brothers — it’s something that I’d always dreamt about.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
目录 Close
Image

布克兄弟贵为美式服饰的原始权威,拥有200年丰厚历史传承,写下不少骄人故事,包括成为全美首家成衣服装店、几乎是历代每一任总统的御用西装品牌,以及创出极具标志性的复古风格,称为“布克兄弟造型”,历久不衰。


今年稍早,品牌宣布由纽约设计师Michael Bastian出任创意总监。他曾在另一知名品牌蒂芙尼任职,亦曾是Bergdorf Goodman的男装时装总监,来头不少。此外,他创立自家同名品牌,更入选2011年美国时装设计师协会大奖(CFDA)年度男装设计师。Michael会与我们分享丰富经验,演绎完美时尚风格。


Michael跟The Style Sheet大谈布克兄弟的品牌历程,从回归根本,到为何他认为品牌已经整装待发,再次擦亮招牌。


1. 恭喜你成为布克兄弟的新任创意总监,你最喜欢这个品牌的什么地方?

谢谢!我心感兴奋,我喜欢布克兄弟一直以来都贯彻始终,纵使起了很大变化,品牌继续持守其核心价值──缔造经典美式风格。


2. 形容一下你引领品牌所走的方向

一开始,我将所有布克兄弟的标志性单品重新加进品牌系列。我相信客户来到门市,总能找到所有布克兄弟的经典产品──女装的经典背心及外套套装,以及男装的网球毛衣、灰色法兰绒西装及斜纹棉布裤等。另外,我对品牌的愿景是扩展其运动服装市场,它原本主打职场服装,但想突显更多品牌的悠闲生活风格。

Brooks Brothers以匠心剪裁的西装而闻名
3. 你现在身处哪里?
我正坐在布克兄弟在纽约市时代广场的总部办公室。

4. 你每天早上做的第一件事是什么?
开咖啡机!

5. 你认为史上最具时尚魅力的是哪三位男士?
我向来都很崇拜史蒂夫·麦奎因 、 Gianni Agnelli和小约翰肯尼迪。我一直认为小约翰肯尼迪很有个人风格,他真正热爱迷人的美式风格。

6. 对于布克兄弟的新羊绒运动套装,你有何配搭的心得?
你绝对可以穿上整套羊绒运动套装,但如果你把上衣和裤子分开来搭配就更有意思。如果早上赶时间出门,连帽衣可以配外套、斜纹棉布裤和运动鞋;而运动裤则可以配法兰绒衬衫、乐福鞋 及派克大衣。如果你想悠闲地待在家里,这样的搭配也非常适合。

7. 你在男装服装界大获成功,更入选年美国时装设计师协会大奖(CFDA) 年度男装设计师。要成为成功的男装设计师,需要具备什么条件?
我认为你需要把自己代入客户的思想,男人设计男装通常轻而易举,因为你可以设身为客户着想,然后制造你自己本身渴望拥有的服装,但实际情况却不一样,有时你可能会为一个令你踏出安舒区的品牌工作,而且你要虚构一个客户,助你顺利完成工作。我认为自己很幸运,因为我是布克兄弟客户,所以我能设计喜欢的服装。

8. 如何界定何为完美的牛津衬衫 ?
首要条件是布料的重量,一定要采用百分百纯棉,重磅密织;其次是衣领,采用布克兄弟著名的独家设计,很容易辨认。
Brooks Brothers标志性的设计为其复古风格注入新鲜感

9. 男士最低调的配饰是什么?

婚戒。


10. 有任何室内设计对你有影响吗?

室内设计大师Billy Baldwin。他设计的所有公寓都尽显典型的纽约特色,到现在仍充满现代感,美轮美奂。


11. 你最喜欢家里哪件物品?原因何在?

我客厅有一幅画作是我妈妈在我刚进大学时送我的,多年来我都带在身边,直到我在家里终于找到一个适合摆放它的位置。


12. 现时你最经常穿着的布克兄弟服装是什么?

有好几件──长袖贴身polo衬衫 ,它比一般polo衬衫的设计更讲究点,还有格子衬衫及甲虫刺绣短裤──它们都是我最初加入布克兄弟时设计的。


13. 过去一年你的穿著打扮有何改变?

经过一年的封城,我只想再次装扮一下。我不断在想有什么服装是我之前待在家里休息时没想过买,但现在想买的;灰色法兰绒长裤和新斜纹棉布裤绝对在我的购物名单内。


14. 你最喜欢纽约的什么?

我喜欢纽约的多样性。人们总爱说纽约只适合富有阶层的人生活,但我不认同。我带着远大的理想来到纽约,而且身无分文,但我感受到这城市很爱护我。你不用花钱,可以在这里做很多事情,例如参观博物馆及逛公园,还有在夏季去沙滩。


15. 每位男士的衣橱必备哪三件服装?

海军蓝羊绒圆领毛衣、红白相间的孟加拉(Bengal)条纹衬衫,以及五口袋灯芯绒裤。

Brooks Brothers创意总监Michael Bastian

16. 还有什么影响着你的设计?

今个秋季,马术成为重点主题元素。我的设计主要受两方面影响:学院风浓厚的东岸和新英格兰精神;以及布克兄弟其中一个孙子的精彩故事,他在怀俄明州拥有一个马场。


17. 你最想看到谁穿上布克兄弟的服装?

我最想看到总统拜登穿上,他有穿布克兄弟的服装,但如果有天能为他度身订造西装就非常好。


18. 假如回到16岁,你希望自己认识到穿衣风格的哪些方面?

我希望我懂得不必为迎合潮流而改变外表。我向来支持学院风,但我年轻时会试着改变自己的风格去融入他人。随着成长,我越渐意识到我不该为了融入圈子而改变自己的形象。


19. 你最希望如何改变男士的穿著打扮?

老实说,我不想改变任何人。我认为每个人都应该能表达自己,我只想确保布克兄弟的客户能满足所需。


20. 你的职业最令你自豪的是什么?

与其说是自豪,不如说是让我惊讶之处!我的职场生涯经历了很多起跌,但我最终还是加入了我喜欢的公司。我仍不敢相信我加入了布克兄弟,这是我一直梦寐以求的事。

类型

关闭