This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Sunday Dinner: Manuel Palacio

Seven years. A long time if you’re waiting to get your Hong Kong permanent residency, but a short one for building a burgeoning empire of 14 (and counting) restaurants and bars. Manuel Palacio has done both of those since opening his first restaurant Pirata with his co-founder and mentor Christian Talpo in 2013.

Manuel Palacio and Janice Leung Hayes have dinner at The Pizza Project
Janice Leung Hayes and Pirata Group co-founder Manuel Palacio sit down to dinner at The Pizza Project in Starstreet Precinct

As Manuel and I sit on the balmy terrace of the group’s newest endeavour, The Pizza Project in Starstreet Precinct, he reflects on why he’s been so keen on opening restaurants in this precinct (one of his other restaurants, Pici, is just around the corner). ‘I used to live here, actually,’ says the Madrileño. ‘It feels European, and it has really been planned with an ecosystem in mind — you have cafes, gyms, restaurants, shops, a really good variety. For example, we wanted to open a pizza restaurant here before, but were told that we couldn’t because there was already another pizza restaurant in the area. Now that it’s gone, we were able to open The Pizza Project here.’

Kitchen staff at The Pizza Project prepare pizza
The kitchen team creates favourites like the Nduja as well as Starstreet Precinct exclusives like the Bresaola

Over carbonara pizza, a riff on the classic pasta dish upscaled with pancetta, quail eggs and smooth fior di latte cheese, Manuel gives me a brief history lesson. Before it became The Pizza Project, the space was occupied by Madame Ching, another Pirata Group restaurant serving Westernised Chinese food. It didn’t prove as popular as the team had thought, and they decided to close it. ‘We got arrogant. We thought we could do anything. I had a slice of humble pie,’ says Manuel. In a way, Pirata did deserve to be a little ‘arrogant’ at the time — their portfolio of cuisines spanned from Italian to Nikkei, and their most popular concept, Pici, a fresh pasta bar, grew from what Manuel calls ‘a little project’, in a humble shopfront on nearby St Francis Yard, to five outlets spanning Hong Kong, Kowloon and the New Territories, in the blink of an eye. ‘I never anticipated the success of Pici. I knew we were going to be busy, but I never anticipated serving ten thousand people a week,’ he says.

Pizza in the oven at The Pizza Project
The oven bakes the pizzas on stone, giving them just the right amount of crunch

To Manuel, surprises and bumps in the road are opportunities to learn, and learning is a sign of success. Having spent almost two decades in hospitality, starting as a dishwasher at a hot chocolate and churros shop in Madrid at age 15, he’s learnt a lot about the business. ‘There’s no secret to running restaurants. You work sixteen, eighteen, twenty-hour days, and it’s your passion,’ he says. ‘When we opened Pirata, I’d stay in the restaurant after it was closed, just touching the furniture, caressing the walls. I loved every part of it,’ he reminisces, chuckling at the thought of his own naivete.

Janice Leung Hayes enjoys pizza at The Pizza Project
Left: The popular Carbonara Pizza, a take on the classic pasta dish with quail eggs and pancetta. Right: The table is set with a variety of favourites

The pesto pizza arrives, the Italian basil paste complemented by cherry tomatoes and three cheeses (creamy burrata, fior di latte and buffalo mozzarella) on The Pizza Project’s trademark base, as Manuel tells me about the group’s wide-ranging concepts. These are the result of his and Talpo's inspirations, which he says are ‘intuition; it’s from the gut’. From there, his first medium of ideation is not through food, but music. In his late teens, he founded a hip-hop record label (‘it wasn’t successful, obviously,’ he laughs), and music remains one of his most important creative outlets. ‘I do the music selections for all our restaurants,’ he says, and he fleshes out the concepts from there. ‘Of course, I do market analysis and run the numbers, but in the beginning, it’s intuition.’


As we tuck into a piquant nduja pizza with smoked scamorza and fior di latte, Manuel tells me another lesson he’s learnt: ‘Every day you start from scratch. You’re only as good as your last service,’ he says. He wants everyone to feel good when they come into Pirata’s restaurants, so good hospitality, consistent experiences and an accessible price point are key.

Freshly made pizza at The Pizza Project
Piquant Nduja Pizza, creamy Pesto Pizza and egg-topped Carbonara Pizza make a perfect combination

Feeling good is something Manuel has had to work on for his own well-being too. His first year or so in Hong Kong, before starting Pirata, was tough: ‘I didn’t know anything about Hong Kong,’ he says. ‘I just moved here a little bit blind. I came by myself, I didn’t know anybody, but after a year, I started meeting people, and I fell in love with my girlfriend.’ In his fourth year, despite — or maybe because of — leading a fledging restaurant business, he ‘got bored, thinking it was too small, and that’s when I started discovering nature. Once I discovered it, Hong Kong became my favourite city in the world.’ He now goes trail running several times a week, clocking up 100 kilometres a week, be it to The Peak or in Sai Kung.


2020 has been a challenging year for everyone, but especially for the social nature of the hospitality sector, and for Manuel personally, as he has watched friends and family around him fall victim to mental and physical health issues. Maintaining a balanced lifestyle has been key. ‘I love people,’ he explains — it’s why he’s in hospitality, after all — but being a busy, creative entrepreneur, these experiences have taught him to take time to love and care for himself too, which is perhaps the most important lesson of them all.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

週日晚餐:Manuel Palacio

如要取得香港永久性居民身份,需要熬過7年的漫長等待;但對於建立目前由14間餐廳和酒吧組成、持續擴展的事業王國來說,只花7年就能達成算是很快。自Manuel Palacio在2013年與其共同創辦人兼良師Christian Talpo開設首間餐廳Pirata至今,他已順利完成這個兩個7年任務。

Manuel Palacio and Janice Leung Hayes have dinner at The Pizza Project
梁幗婷(Janice)與Pirata Group共同創辦人Manuel Palacio於星街小區的餐廳The Pizza Project共進晚餐

集團最新開設的餐廳The Pizza Project位於星街小區,Manuel和我坐在餐廳的和煦露台,他開始沉思當初為何這麼熱衷在這個小區開店(其實拐角處有他另一間餐廳Pici)。這位馬德里人說:「其實我以前住在這區,很有歐洲風情,而且生態系統的規劃十分完善,有咖啡廳、健身室、餐廳、商店等等,非常多樣。舉例說,最初我們打算在此開設薄餅餐廳,但被拒絕了,因為同區已有另一間薄餅餐廳,後來它結束經營,我們才能在此開設The Pizza Project。」

Kitchen staff at The Pizza Project prepare pizza
烹飪團隊炮製意式辣肉腸招牌美食及星街小區獨有的意式風乾牛肉

卡邦尼薄餅登場,它是以經典卡邦尼意粉為基的升級製作,用上意式煙肉、鵪鶉蛋和幼滑的fior di latte水牛芝士。我們一邊吃,Manuel一邊分享了店址舊史。開設The Pizza Project之前,這裡原本是Pirata Group旗下另一間餐廳鄭氏烤肉,主打西式中菜。可是生意不如預期,於是決定結束營業,他說:「當時我們『太大想頭』,以為做什麼都能成事,結果給上了一堂課。」某程度上,那時Pirata有發展的『想頭』也不是沒有根據,畢竟他們有不同菜系的餐廳,有意大利菜的,也有日系秘魯菜的。而坐落於進教圍附近的低調地舖餐廳Pici,是廣受歡迎的手工意大利麵餐廳酒吧,它是由Manuel口中的「a little project」計劃項目發展出來的,轉眼間今天已有五間分店遍佈港九新界。「Pici如此成功完全在我預料之外,雖然我預期會很忙,但從沒想過一星期有一萬人次光顧。」

Pizza in the oven at The Pizza Project
特製石爐快速焗熟薄餅,餅皮香脆可口

對Manuel來說,業務的高低起跌是學習機會,而學習是邁向成功的道路。由他15歲那年在馬德里一間賣熱朱古力和西班牙油條的餐廳當洗碗工,到今天已在款客服務業打滾接近20年,他學到很多關於做生意的要點。他說:「經營餐廳沒有什麼秘訣,就是經常工作16、18、20個小時,這是出於對行業的熱愛。」然後他緬懷著開店的種種,想到自己天真的一面還笑起來:「我們開設Pirata的時候,打烊後我仍會待在餐廳,摸摸那些家具和牆壁。我喜歡餐廳的所有部分。」

Janice Leung Hayes enjoys pizza at The Pizza Project
左:廣受歡迎的卡邦尼薄餅以卡邦尼意粉為靈感,加入鵪鶉蛋和意式煙肉製成。右:桌上放了各式各樣的美食

意式青醬薄餅來了,它用上The Pizza Project的招牌底醬,以意式羅勒醬、車厘茄和三款芝士:香濃幼滑的布拉塔芝士、fior di latte水牛芝士及莫札瑞拉水牛芝士製成。在細味的同時,Manuel開始細數集團的多元構思。這些是他和Talpo想出來的構思,亦即是他所說「憑直覺、憑感覺」的構思。有了構思後,他將之變成實體的第一媒介並不是食物,而是音樂。全因他曾在後青春期創立hip-hop唱片公司(他笑說:「顯然是失敗收場」),所以自此音樂成了他發揮創意的重要渠道。他選擇以音樂帶出構思,並說:「我負責挑選所有餐廳播放的音樂,當然我會做市場分析,也會計算清楚,但說到底一切還是源於直覺。」


開胃的意式辣肉腸薄餅搭配意式煙燻香腸和fior di latte水牛芝士,我們大快朵頤的時候,Manuel又分享他上了的另一堂課:「每天都是從零開始,今天的服務水準要靠今天的表現。」他希望所有來到Pirata旗下餐廳的客人,都會對餐廳感覺良好,因此款客殷勤、服務穩定和價錢相宜是關鍵。」

Freshly made pizza at The Pizza Project
開胃的意式辣肉腸薄餅、香滑的意式青醬薄餅和以鵪鶉蛋鋪面的卡邦尼薄餅是完美組合

Manuel也經過多番努力才能讓自己感覺良好。他來香港的最初幾年有點難熬,那時還未創立Pirata。他說:「我對香港一無所知,就貿然移居香港。當年孤身來港,完全沒有朋友,但一年後我開始交到朋友,還找到了女朋友。」在他來港後的第四年,儘管他已在率領一間剛起步的餐飲公司,或正因如此,他還是覺得「有點沒趣、不夠挑戰性,於是開始探索大自然。當我發掘到香港的這一面,這裡就成了我最愛的城市。」現在,他每個星期都會去幾次越野跑,通常是去山頂或西貢,一週所跑的距離可長達100公里。


對任何人來說,2020都是充滿挑戰的一年,甚具社會性質的款客服務行業大受打擊;對Manuel個人亦然,因為他見證許多親友受到身心的健康問題影響,並認為保持平衡的生活模式非常重要。他解釋:「我對人有一份熱愛」,所以他才投身款客服務業。雖然身為日理萬機和充滿創意的企業家,但這些經驗教曉他要珍惜時間去愛和照顧自己,這或許是眾多課堂中,最重要的一課。

關閉