This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Refresh Your Look Part 1: The Closet Cleanout

In need of a wardrobe cleanout? Our three-part series shows you how to do it with expert guidance and a natty flowchart. This first part shows you how to let go of clothes - stay tuned for part 2 on what essentials to keep and part 3 on injecting trends into your wardrobe.


Reorganising an overflowing wardrobe is a task many of us avoid. Filled with a chorus of memories, hefty price tags (often still attached), and unpractical pieces you’re hanging onto ‘just in case Leonardo DiCaprio invites me to a sequin-themed yacht party or something’, the emotional task of culling your closet can feel like pulling teeth. If that wasn’t enough, once you’ve sorted through every piece, you’re suddenly hit with the second task of what to actually do with all the items you no longer need.


We’ve called on some Hong Kong style experts to help you navigate the challenging – yet cathartic, we promise – task of clearing out your closet.


You’ve got this.


When deciding how to refresh your look you need to make some key decisions about what to keep, what to clear out and what to do with the clothes you don’t need
When deciding how to refresh your look you need to make some key decisions about what to keep, what to clear out and what to do with the clothes you don’t need

‘What’s important to bear in mind when having a wardrobe clear-out is what your end goal is,’ shares local personal stylist and shopper Ihna Holtermann. ‘If the clear-out is merely to make space for new clothes on your wish list, I’d suggest going straight to the back of your closet or the bottom of your drawers and taking out the pieces that are collecting dust. If they don’t hold any sentimental value, they should be first to go. If your goal is about minimising your wardrobe to key pieces to feel more organised and streamlined in your home life, be ruthless and honest with yourself. Look at each piece of clothing with a critical eye as if seeing it for the first time and ask yourself “Do I actually like the way it looks?” This sounds obvious but when you’ve been staring at the same clothes for years, it’s actually quite tricky. You also need to consider how clothes make you feel. Don’t hang onto pieces that you don’t have a positive association with. This can make the whole process of clearing out your wardrobe a cathartic one.’


If the thought of starting this process seems a little daunting, Holtermann suggests easing into your wardrobe overhaul by determining the pieces you do want to keep first. ‘With my clients, the first thing we do is take out their most-loved and most-worn pieces. We discuss why we like them, how they fit, how they make us feel and our favourite ways to wear them. It’s then easier to spot the pieces that don’t fit well or feel good to wear. With items that you’re not sure of, think imaginatively about ways you could tailor the piece = a shapeless dress can be easily reworked into a great skirt, for example.’


Christina Dean, founder of Redress, the Hong Kong NGO promoting environmental sustainability in the fashion industry, and author of Dress [with] Sense (available here, shares Holtermann’s views on using imagination when it comes to injecting new life into old pieces. ‘A moment of hesitation during the radical wardrobe purge could be called for as some clothes that may initially whisper “I need to go” could actually scream “keep me and reinvent me by styling me, repairing me or altering me and taking me to a tailor” if we gave them the chance. This is a “new” type of creating “new” clothes for the increasingly sustainable and conscious consumer,’ she says.


Hong Kong-based fashion journalist and stylist Daniel Kong offers an approach that’s equally as therapeutic when applied to other areas of your life. ‘I often like to think of garments as people – when you guilt-trip yourself into wearing something or seeing someone purely for the reason that you haven’t done so in a long time, it’s time to let it go. When it comes to life and fashion, I work with this love-first policy. This means keeping my time, my energy and my approach to dressing as joyful and easy as possible.’


Once you’ve decided what to keep and what not to, the next step is deciding what to do with the items you no longer need. ‘Every hour in Hong Kong, we send up to a whopping 15,000 garments into our landfills even though textiles are almost 100% recyclable,’ shares Dean, reminding us, that ‘whatever you do, don’t bin them.’


Refresh Your Look Part 1: The Closet Cleanout
Dress with Sense: The Practical Guide to a Conscious Closet

What to do with luxury or higher-priced pieces in good condition…


Says Dean: ‘You can swap them; remember that a swap can be as simple as with a friend over a lunch break to a large swap party, the beauty being, of course, that when you swap you get something back in return! Additionally, you can sell, or list your valuable pieces on second-hand clothing platforms, such as HULA  and Guiltless, both of which support Redress’s work. Redress also holds an annual clothing drive and collects in partnership with Zara Hong Kong all year round, where we welcome high-quality clothing and accessories that are sold to support our work to cut waste out of fashion.’ 


What to do with pieces of less retail value that are still in wearable condition…


‘You can donate these to various charities in Hong Kong, including those listed by The Home Affairs Department  as having clothing containers dotted around Hong Kong, such as Salvation Army, Friends of the Earth, Conservancy Association and Christian Action. You can also donate to brands’ in-store collection containers, as many like Zara now have take-back schemes. This can also be very convenient, depending on where you work and live. Along with the charities and the clothing shops that have containers, you’ll also spot clothing recycling containers in commercial builders and estates. Many of these are managed by recycling businesses, and donating here will still ensure that your unwanted clothes will reach another market – and not landfill.’


What to do with old and tattered clothing and accessories no longer suitable for use…


‘Remember that textiles are almost 100% recyclable and that the holy grail of a sustainable closet – and lifestyle – is to keep textiles out of landfills. So I’d still put in worn clothes and textiles into those listed on the Home Affairs Department website. While this may incur additional sorting (which charities in general will sigh at!), at least your textiles will go into a waste-sorting stream that can, hopefully, find the best recycling routes for poor quality textiles.’


Check back for our next instalment on what essentials to keep!

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

造型大翻新第一步:執衣櫃

新年想為衣櫃送舊迎新?當然可以,不過首先要學會「衣櫃整理法」。我們將會分三期傳授這種重要大法,沿途不但有專家護航,更有明確的步驟,助你輕鬆過關。今期我們首先教你斷捨離大法,下一期將會是留衫秘方,而最後第三期則是造型增值法。


看著衣櫃的舊衫堆積如山,有時只能輕嘆無能為力。因為我們的衣櫃不但滿載無限回憶,同時也埋藏著價值連城的貴價衣服(很多衣服的價錢牌甚至還未剪掉)和大量根本不會穿的服飾,當年你豪擲千金把它們買回來,也許只是因為你有一刻妄想「要是有一天里安納度迪卡比奧約我遊船河,而且那天要穿閃令令的珠片長裙,那怎麼辦?」因此,執衣櫃時,每件衣服背後承載的強烈情感,會讓你心如刀割,難以下手。不過最可悲的是好戲還在後頭,當你千辛萬苦將每件衣服分類後,如何處理那一堆被你歸類為「不再需要」的衣服,才是真正的難題。


為了幫助你克服執衣櫃的難關,我們請來多位香港時裝達人替你護航,保證讓你順利完成這項浩大的斷捨離工程,不留半點遺憾。


你做得到的。

要為造型大翻新,首先要下幾個重大決定,例如哪衣服應該留下,哪些應該清理,還有要清理的衣服該如何處置
要為造型大翻新,首先要下幾個重大決定,例如哪衣服應該留下,哪些應該清理,還有要清理的衣服該如何處置

香港個人造型師兼購物達人Ihna Holtermann說:「執衣櫃時,腦海裡必須時刻緊記自己這次大掃除的目標。假如你為衣櫃大掃除的原因只是為了騰出多一點空間,方便購置新衣服,我會建議你直接把塞在衣櫃底或抽屜最裡面的衣服翻出來,這些衣服太久沒碰過,應該已經封塵多時了。假如這些衣服沒有什麼感情回憶,就直接清理掉吧。然而要是你的大掃除目的是來一次斷捨離,為衣櫃瘦身,重新整理生活和家居情況,那你的行動就得狠心一點,切勿感情用事。每翻出一件衣服,都要像第一次看到它一樣,撫心自問:我真的喜歡這款式嗎?正常來說,你一定會答喜歡的,不然為什麼會買回來!可是當這些衣服好幾年來只是堆在一角,並未得到你的青睞,也許你重新細看它時,會找出真實的答案來。此外,執衣櫃時還要認真想想你是否喜歡每件衣服,要是你並非真心『喜歡』它們,就不要執迷不悟。這種認知會為你的斷捨離過程節省不少心痛時刻,不必牛衣對泣。」


假如你還是覺得整個大掃除過程太艱鉅,想知道如何入手會輕鬆一點?Holtermann建議首先決定哪些衣服是你一定會留下的。「我會叫找我幫忙的顧客首先取出她們最喜歡和最常穿的衣服,然後講解為何對它們情有獨鍾,穿到身上為何特別好看、穿上後感覺有多好,還有最喜歡用來配搭什麼衣服。完成這一步之後,就可以此作為指標,幫助你界定其他不太合身或不太好穿的衣服。至於那些食之無味、棄之可惜的衣服,我們可以想想是否有辦法令它們變得好看,例如將剪裁闊身的連身裙修改為合身好看的半截裙。


香港非牟利機構Redress致力在時裝界宣揚環保意識,提倡可持續發展的時裝,機構創辦人兼《Dress [with] Sense》(可在此購買)作者Christina Dean對斷捨離的觀點跟Holtermann不謀而合。她認為我們應想想如何讓舊衣服重生:「執衣櫃時,只要我們能多想一刻,就能讓不少本身屬於『要扔掉』的衣服變成『只要稍為修補,重新造型,或帶到裁縫那兒修改一下,就可以留下來』,幫助舊衣服重生。現代社會越來越多消費者關注環保,而這就是以環保方式創造『新』衫的『新』方法。」


香港時裝記者兼造型師Daniel Kong則表示,這種斷捨離方法在其他生活層面同樣適用。「我經常將人比作衣服,假如有件衣服你很久沒穿過,一穿上就覺得不是味兒,那就表示你該扔掉它。同一道理,假如有個人你很久沒見面,一見面就覺得話不投機,那就表示你該忘記他。我對生活的態度和對待衣服一樣,只做喜歡的事,那就能省下不少時間和精神,做更多喜歡的事,令生活更輕鬆自在。」


當你決定好哪些衣服要留、哪些衣服要走之後,下一步就是決定如何處理「要走」的衣服。Dean說:「在香港,每小時就有15,000件衣服被送到堆填區,可是這些衣服的布料幾乎是百分百可以回收重用的。」她更提醒我們:「無論怎麼處置都好,切勿扔到垃圾箱。」

造型大翻新第一步:執衣櫃

如何處理狀態良好的貴價衣服?


Dean建議:「可以找人交換。簡簡單單找個朋友一起吃午飯,然後跟她交換自己不要的貴衣服,或是去大型的衣服交換會也行,不過記得找時裝界的交換會,那才能等價交易,換回同樣名貴的衣服!另外,也可以直接賣掉,只要放在二手衣服轉售平台就行,HULA 和Guiltless都是不錯的選擇,他們都支持Redress的行動。Redress每年均舉辦年度衣物收集活動,並與Zara Hong Kong合作全年回收舊衣服,歡迎各位將優質衣服和配飾送來給我們,讓我們轉賣後,將收入用於推廣時裝減廢。」


如何處理仍然可穿的平價衣服?


「可以將這些衣物捐給香港的慈善團體,民政事務總署在全港各區均有設置舊衣回收箱,收集到的舊衣物會捐到救世軍、地球之友、長春社、基督教勵行會等機構。此外,有不少時裝品牌也像Zara一樣推出回收計劃,你可將舊衣物拿到這些品牌在專門店﹐投入回收箱內。要是你工作或居住的地區設有回收箱,就能輕鬆回收舊衣物了。除了慈善團體和時裝店之外,商廈和屋苑也設有回收箱,這些回收箱多數由回收公司設置,將舊衣服捐到這些回收箱後,你不再需要的衣物就能重新走進市場,而不會直接送到堆填區。」


如何處理不能再用的破舊衣物?


「我希望大家能緊記一件事:布料幾乎是百分百可以回收再用的,所以要令衣物和生活符合可持續發展原則,就要記著不要把布料送到堆填區。我會把這些破舊衣服跟二手服裝一併送到民政事務總署網站所列的回收箱,這做法雖然要回收機構多做一重分類(負責分類的慈善團體肯定會不高興),可是最少能保證這些低品質布料經廢物分流後,能夠循環再用。」


至於如何選取該留下的服飾,且待下回分解!

類型

關閉