This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

When Art Meets Fashion

As art month descends upon us, we look at the artsier garments to tout at exhibition openings, dinners and, of course, plethora of parties hitting Hong Kong this March


Fashion has always taken cues from the art world. Through the decades, designers have looked at the great artists of the past and present for inspiration, and even incorporated artworks in their collections – sometimes injecting them with their own creative twists. Art and fashion have also joined hands through unexpected collaborations, often feeding off each other through a synergetic symbiosis of sorts.


Italian legend Elsa Schiaparelli was one of the first designers to explore that symbiosis. In 1937, she worked with Salvador Dali to create the Lobster Dress, an iconic piece of early 20th-century fashion. Her Tears Dress and Shoe Hat also channelled surrealism, and proved that merging the lines between the sartorial world and the painting one could lead to whimsical, cutting-edge results.


Among other notable examples, Yves Saint Laurent‘s 1965 Fall collection drew heavily from the colourful geometric patterns of Piet Mondrian; Alexander McQueen’s 1999 Spring/Summer line had Jackson Pollock‘s motifs splattered – quite literally – all over it.

YSL's art-fashion looks

Christian Louboutin turned to Renaissance art in 2011, and Karl Lagerfeld played with the notion of wearable art for Chanel‘s 2015 Spring show, with models carrying sketchbooks like handbags and donning rainbow paint textured garbs. The designer, who passed away in February, even converted Paris’s Grand Palais – the show‘s venue – into a huge art gallery, featuring pieces from artists including Marcel Duchamp, Wassily Kandinsky and Pollock next to Chanel’s trademark items, such as tweed, pearls and chains.


In more recent years, collaborations have carried on the art-meets-fashion trend: Valentino‘s Pierpaolo Piccioli and artist Jamie Reid for Fall 2017; Gucci and Spanish artist Ignasi Monreal for Spring 2018; Virgil Abloh and Japanese icon Takashi Murakami for both an exhibition and a limited edition of graphic tees last October.


The artistic muse also inspired some of this season‘s collections – which should help you look quite the part during and around Art Basel Hong Kong, when the entire city basically turns into one giant art hub.


Try Celine, whose Spring/Summer 2019 (Hedi Slimane‘s first for the label) show included pieces in collaboration with Swiss-American artist Christian Marclay, with his 70s and 80s paintings and comic book collages reimagined on embroideries, prints and patches.

Celine's art-fashion looks

Or turn to Loewe, for which designer Jonathan Anderson was inspired by sculptural artworks from a handful of contemporary artists. The garbs he presented in Paris – in a venue filled with the artworks he referenced – put all the attention on craft, texture, fabric movement and colour, and spanned marabou feather-trimmed silk trousers and handkerchief dresses, silk patchwork jackets and thatched wicker bags.


The kinetic graphic motifs by New York artist Andrew Brischler for House of Holland would also be perfectly appropriate at any art event, as would Balenciaga‘s fluid shirt-jackets and matching trousers – what the brand’s designer Demna Gvasalia has called ‘neo-tailoring’ – which draw from digital and new-media art as well as 3D moulding techniques (Gvasalia also partnered with digital artist Jon Rafman for his Paris show, to create an immersive visual experience and further the artistic crossover).


Accessories-wise, the multimedia latex pieces by British artist Samara Scott seen on the Mugler runway are the epitome of wearable art, as are the ‘bees’ pop American artist KAWS designed for Dior Spring/Summer 2019 accessory line — a reinterpretation of the house‘s signature bee symbol in his distinctive style across a raft of products, from leather-printed keyrings hanging off weekend bags, backpacks and wallets to a repeating motif on totes and clutches.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

当艺术遇上时尚

随着3月到来,香港艺术月亦揭开序幕。因此,我们为你搜罗饶富艺术气息的时尚服装,让你能够盛装出席各大展览的开幕和晚宴,以及在无数派对中吸引众人目光。


时装向来喜欢从艺术汲取灵感。数十年来,设计师将目光投向各个时期的伟大艺术家,甚至将艺术品融入自身创作,再偶尔加入个人创意巧思,成就出一件件出色之作。艺术和时尚也经常跨界合作,互相融合,造就令人惊喜的效果。


意大利时装设计巨匠Elsa Schiaparelli是其中一位率先探究两者关系的先锋。1937年,她和达利合作设计龙虾连衣裙(Lobster Dress),成为20世纪初期的经典时尚杰作。她的眼泪连衣裙(Tear Dress)和鞋子帽(Shoe Hat)流露超现实主义风格,同时体现出时尚界和艺术界的结合,能营造出奇异新颖、前卫大胆的效果。


其他例子包括Yves Saint Laurent,品牌1965年秋季系列以荷兰画家Piet Mondrian色彩鲜艳的格子图案为蓝本;而Alexander McQueen<link>1999年的春夏系列,也以美国画家Jackson Pollock的泼洒图案贯穿整个系列。

YSL's art-fashion looks

2011年,Christian Louboutin向文艺复兴取材,创作出当季系列。Karl Lagerfeld在2015年将艺术化为服装,打造出Chanel春季时装展,并让模特儿将画册当作手袋,演绎色彩斑烂、质感独特的服装。这位刚于2月逝世的设计大师,甚至曾经将品牌的时装展场地——巴黎大皇宫变成庞大的画廊,在场内挂上知名画家杜象、Wassily Kandinsky 和Pollock的画作,映衬Chanel的粗呢外套、珍珠和饰链等多件经典作品。


近年,跨界合作的风潮仍然炽热。Valentino创意总监Pierpaolo Piccioli和艺术家Jamie Reid合作,打造出2017年秋季系列;Gucci<link>和西班牙艺术家Ignasi Monreal携手创作出2018年春季系列;去年10月,Virgil Abloh和大名鼎鼎的日本艺术家村上隆合作举办展览,并推出限量版图案T恤。


本季不少品牌的新系列同样受艺术世界启发,助你融入巴塞尔艺术展香港展会的艺术氛围,让你沉浸在香港的艺术天地之中。


2019年春夏,Hedi Slimane为Celine带来上任后首个系列。他与美籍瑞士艺术家Christian Marclay联手,将Marclay 七、八十年代的画作和漫画化为一款款刺锈、印花和拼饰,别具特色。

Celine's art-fashion looks

Loewe旗下设计师Jonathan Anderson则以多位当代艺术家的雕塑为蓝本,塑造出全新系列。他在巴黎展场放满启发是次系列的艺术品,突显系列的造工、质感、物料的动感和色彩,呈献秃鹳羽毛饰边真丝长裤及手帕式裙摆连衣裙、真丝拼接外套,以及细密的草织包。


纽约艺术家Andrew Brischler为House of Holland设计的图案活力十足,能够配合任何艺术场合。Balenciaga的设计也不遑多让,品牌创意总监Demna Gvasalia以他口中的“新式剪裁”(neo-tailoring),利用数字、新媒体艺术及3D塑模技巧,打造出本季系列。在巴黎时装展上,他与数字艺术家Jon Rafman合作,引导观众全情投入视觉体验,扩阔这次跨界合作的界限。


配饰方面,英国艺术家Samara Scott为Mugler以乳胶设计的作品,正正体现出“穿着式艺术”的极致。流行艺术家KAWS则为Dior 2019年春夏配饰系列创作蜜蜂图案,以独一无二的个人风格,重新演绎品牌经典的蜜蜂设计,并以此点缀休闲手袋、背包和钱包上的印花皮革锁匙扣,又将图案布满整个手提包和手拿包。

关闭