This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Sunday Lunch with Janice Leung Hayes

Raised in Melbourne, Janice Leung Hayes returned to her hometown in Hong Kong over a decade ago as a food and travel writer and has built an impressive résumé. Her work has featured in the South China Morning Post and local society mags, as well as international publications like Monocle and The New York Times. She was the founder of Tong Chong Street Markets, the popular Sunday gathering of local organic farmers, culinary entrepreneurs and sustainable retailers in Taikoo Place. Passionate about food production, Janice runs farmers’ markets under her social enterprise Honestly Green, which aims to keep Hong Kong informed on food sustainability by cutting through the hype and looking at food with a more evidence-based approach.


Sounds like an intimidating lunch companion, but Janice is known for her niceness in a famously bad-tempered industry. She’s soft-spoken, usually just chooses to let her diverse portfolio of projects speak for her, and we can happily geek out on a well-thought-out menu, food history and language. We both studied linguistics in university, are a part of Little Adventures in Hong Kong, where we design and lead custom food tours, and just spent a couple of weeks eating and drinking in Italy.

Janice Leung Hayes with Johannes Pong in conversation
Janice and Johannes indulge in some siu mai

So I started our lunch at Tien Yi with a ‘How was your Italian summer?’ We picked the spacious, circular Cantonese restaurant as we were both uncharacteristically craving dim sum after our time in Europe.


Tien Yi is known for seafood specialties like abalone, sea cucumber and fish maw, but Sunday lunch means yum cha. As Hongkongers, we don’t stop merely at dim sum, which are considered snacks – we finish with fried rice or a noodle dish, plus a plate or two of greens in this health-conscious era.


There were the usual suspects of har gau and siu mai, the latter topped with crab roe, encircled with a thin wheat wrapper.


‘Pasta was out of this world, but I do miss my Cantonese ravioli,’ muses Janice in reference to the trip. We’d both been on a wine tour, Janice starting off with Sicily, Sardinia, then Piedmont. I’d missed her by a day as I joined in Tuscany, including Janice’s team at Capsule48, then made my way down to the Aeolian islands and Sicily with part of the group.

The table is populated with favourites
The table is populated with favourites

When I asked about her favourite part of the trip, Janice enthused about Tenuta Regaleali, an idyllic agriturismo. But Regaleali meant staying at the farm house resort of Alberto Tasca, an actual Sicilian count whose family has made Sicilian wine for eight generations. Rough-hewn stone walls of bright blue jut out against 550 hectares of rolling fields — citrus trees, olive groves and vineyards.


‘I was just so excited about a working farm on their family property, the orchards, and that gorgeous vegetable and herbal garden, all working on organic principles,’ beams Janice.


Indeed, the immaculately manicured parts of the vegetable garden and vineyards were shockingly bucolic, with strategically placed couches, benches and swings under the shade of leaves to lounge on for your picture-perfect farm Instagram shot.


‘It was just so lovely; we woke up and milked the sheep with their shepherd. Breakfast afterwards included fresh ricotta made from the milk we just got from the sheep, still warm.’

The two reminisce about farm-to-table dining in Italy
The two reminisce about farm-to-table dining in Italy

We both raved at how we finally tasted zucchini for the first time in our lives, realising that the summer squash actually packs a lot of flavour. Absorbing all that Mediterranean sunshine in fertile Sicilian soil seemed to have granted unearthly sweetness to the zucchini grown there. Even the courgettes in France seem to pale in comparison to the ones from Sicily.


‘Did you try the pasta soup at Regaleali, with the delicate zucchini shoots?’ Janice asks. ‘It was phenomenal.’ I had to agree. My first taste of tenerumi, the tender tendrils and leaves of the native zucchini, made into a simple green soup and sprinkled with local pecorino, was after a two-hour drive from the coast to the centre of Sicily. That green pasta soup was everything – very reminiscent of comfort food to this Asian stomach.


We were told that zucchini were rinfrescanti (refreshing for the body), similarly to all the bitter gourd and winter melon that the Cantonese consume during the summer, considered leung (cooling). Although Hong Kong is not blessed with the climate and farmland of Sicily, traditional foodways still pack a lot of wisdom in eating with the seasons for optimal health.

Writer Johannes Pong lunches at Tien Yi
Johannes Pong lunches at Tien Yi

Italian diversion done, it’s back to the food at hand!


For veggies, we ordered bamboo pith, recognised as a healthy delicacy in Chinese cuisine. Rich in protein and dietary fibre, the antimicrobial and antioxidant (‘heat-clearing’) properties of bamboo pith are well known. Contrary to its name, the crunchy sponge-like fungus is not the pith of the bamboo plant. It’s a mushroom with a lacy, net-like veil that grows inside or outside rotting or reasonably healthy bamboo around Southern China, although diners nowadays are getting bamboo pith that’s commercially grown on sawdust. When cooked, bamboo pith retains its earthy crunch, but because of its porous consistency it absorbs any flavour it’s cooked in. We enjoyed this version, flavoured with thick slices of umami-laden Chinese ham.


‘There are so many parallels in Italian cooking with Chinese cuisine, like pairing mushrooms with this intense Parma-like ham,’ muses Janice. Indeed, we may not have mind-blowing zucchini, but we can’t help but think that Italians would enjoy the unique texture of bamboo pith, whether it’s harvested in the pristine forests of Yunnan or sawdust-grown on a farm.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

与梁帼婷 共进周日午餐

梁帼婷(Janice Leung Hayes)在墨尔本长大,超过十年前返回香港发展,现为饮食旅游作家,表现超卓,其文章曾在《南华早报》、本地杂志、国际杂志《Monocle》和《纽约时报》刊登。Janice还创办了“港岛东农墟”,让本地有机农夫、手作艺匠和环保零售商每逢周日在鲗鱼涌摆摊。热衷食品生产的Janice,也透过她的社会企业Honestly Green经营农夫市集,锐意打破名不副实的环保炒作、实实在在推广有机食物,让香港市民对食物可持续发展的理念保持认识。


听来跟Janice吃午餐可不能随随便便,但在以“火爆”闻名的饮食业,大家都知道她很平易近人。为人和蔼可亲的Janice负责过很多不同的项目,总是身体力行推广理念。我们两个可以自己大聊精心设计的餐单、食物历史和语言等等,因为以前我们在大学均修读语言学。现在,我们同为Little Adventures in Hong Kong的成员,负责设计地道美食之旅,带大家探索香港。另外,我们也刚去意大利几周,品尝美酒佳肴。

Janice Leung Hayes with Johannes Pong in conversation
Janice和Johannes在酒家享用烧卖

我约了Janice在天一酒家吃午餐,见面就问她:“意大利的夏天如何?”我们在欧洲的时候,不约而同想吃点心,所以今天选在空间宽敞、圆形设计的广东中菜馆相聚。


天一酒家以山珍海味闻名,选用鲍鱼、海参、鱼肚等食材入馔,但在周日中午,当然要“饮茶”。我们香港人去“饮茶”不止吃点心,那只是小吃,吃完点心还会点一碟炒饭或面。而在这讲究健康饮食的年代,也会点一、两碟蔬菜。


虾饺和烧卖是两款常见点心,包裹烧卖的是薄面皮,铺面的是蟹籽。


说起意大利之旅,Janice分享:“那道意大利汤面好吃极了,不过我也很想念广东饺子。”Janice比我早一天开始酒庄之行,她从西西里出发,再到撒丁岛和皮埃蒙特。我则是后来在托斯卡纳才加入,同行还有她的Capsule48团队。之后,我与部分成员南下伊奥利亚群岛和西西里。

The table is populated with favourites
桌上放满大家爱吃的点心

我问Janice这趟旅程最爱哪个部分,她说最爱田园农庄雷加利庄园 ,所指的其实是入住土生土长西西里人塔斯卡伯爵的农庄度假村,塔斯卡家族多年来一直精心酿制西西里葡萄酒,承传八代。农庄以粗削石墙和鲜蓝色的门窗组成,对开是550公顷的起伏田野,有柑橘类果树,也有橄榄园和葡萄园。


Janice笑着分享:“我很兴奋他们在家族土地耕种,他们的果园、菜园和香草园全部以有机方式种植。”


没错,他们悉心打理的菜园和葡萄园极具田园风情,还特意在树荫下摆放沙发、长椅和秋千,营造美丽如画的农庄场景供人拍照。


“真的好棒,我们早上起来就跟农庄的牧羊人去挤羊奶,还用这些温热的鲜羊奶制成新鲜羊奶酪作一部分早餐。”

The two reminisce about farm-to-table dining in Italy
二人回想在意大利享用“从农场到餐桌”的美食

我们两个很高兴“终于”第一次吃到意大利西葫芦的原味,没想到味道这么浓郁。和煦的地中海阳光和肥沃的西西里土壤,孕育出异常清甜的意大利西葫芦,甚至比法国西葫芦更清甜。


Janice问我:“你有吃农庄的汤面吗?汤里有美味的西葫芦茎叶。简直惊为天人。”的确是简为天人,那道简单的蔬菜汤面,是用意大利西葫芦的嫩卷须和嫩叶制成,最后洒上当地的羊奶酪。当天我从海岸开车两小时前往西西里,抵步后能吃到那道蔬菜汤面实在好极,非常适合亚洲人胃口,像道舒心美食。


听说意大利西葫芦对人体有清凉消暑作用,就像广东人在夏季会吃的凉瓜和冬瓜,均属凉性食物。虽然香港没有西西里的气候和农田,但传统广东菜依然充满智慧,按照四季时令严选有益身体的食物入馔。

Writer Johannes Pong lunches at Tien Yi
Johannes Pong在天一酒家吃午饭

谈完意大利美食之旅,焦点回到桌上的中菜!


我们点了竹笙,它是素菜,也是中菜的健康美食。竹笙富含蛋白质和纤维,并以抗菌和抗氧化(清热)功效闻名。虽然它叫竹笙,但这种入口爽脆的海绵状菇菌,并不是竹子的一部分,而是呈网纱状长在枯烂或肥沃的竹子里面或外面。竹笙通常长在中国南部,但现在很多餐馆选用以木屑人工培植的竹笙。竹笙在烹煮后,依然爽口好吃,因为它的“海绵小孔”可以吸收滋味。我们很喜欢这道竹笙配金华火腿厚片,十分美味。


Janice想了想说:“其实意大利烹饪与中菜有异曲同工之妙,像竹笙配金华火腿,意大利人也会用菇菌搭配巴马火腿。”没错,虽然中菜没有惊为天人的意大利西葫芦,但无论是云南无污染森林生长的野生竹笙,还是农场以木屑培植的竹笙,我们相信意大利人也会喜欢它的独特口感。

关闭