This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Day in the Life: Skater-Musician-Videographer

Ollie Rodgers plays in his band Mr Koo
Ollie Rodgers writes, sings and plays guitar for his band Mr Koo

In the latest instalment of The Style Sheet’s Day in the Life series, we spend a day with creative multi-hyphenate Ollie Rodgers, who is a skater, musician and videographer. Along with co-founding online platform LIKEWISE — which documents contemporary culture in Hong Kong and Asia — Ollie is part of Hong Kong’s local skate community and works within the marketing team at Vans. He also sings, writes and plays guitar for indie rock band Mr Koo.


Morning


‘I wake up, check my phone and emails, and then I make myself a bagel for breakfast and take my dog, Frankie, for a walk — she’s a one-year-old Shar Pei-mix I adopted from Catherine’s Puppies in Sai Kung. After that, I get my most important tasks done, like video editing or writing copy for LIKEWISE, or crafting an Instagram post for Vans Skate APAC. I also head into the Vans office in Kwun Tong when I need to get work done or assist with product seeding, which involves sending sneakers to skaters around the region.’

Ollie Rodgers walks his rescue dog Frankie
Ollie’s morning walk with rescue dog Frankie

Lunch


‘If I have time, I like to head over to an Indian and Nepalese joint in Sai Ying Pun called Momo N Curry. They have great lunch deals and the best chana masala and laccha paratha in town.’


Afternoon


‘If I’m not too busy, I make time to go skating a few times a week. It feels good to move my legs and sweat, and it helps me destress. If it’s cloudy, I usually hit up the Kwun Tong waterfront since there’s an undercover skate spot there. I use a fisheye lens on my camera to get up close to the action as it’s a good way to capture the energy of a trick. I’ve been filming a lot lately for the next skate video that’ll be released under LIKEWISE. The series is called Canto Pop and we’re filming the third episode now. I feel like a lot of people in Hong Kong still tend to look down on skateboarders and see it as a childish thing. However, the identity of skateboarding is slowly changing, with it being in the Olympics this year and big brands getting a taste of what they see as a “trendy” skate industry. No matter how much it changes, it’s nice to keep the core of it alive. My crew and I are excited to skate, film and capture what street skateboarding is in Hong Kong today.’

Ollie Rodgers skates at Kwun Tong Promenade
Ollie fitting in an afternoon skate session at the Kwun Tong Promenade

Early Evening 


‘As the evening approaches, I usually head to my studio in Lai Chi Kok. I share the space with other musicians and creatives. I sing, write and play guitar for the band Mr Koo. The studio is where we practise and host jam sessions with other musicians. Sometimes we play a gig, such as at Lau Bak Livehouse in the West Kowloon Cultural District. Before a show I always like to strum my guitar and prepare my equipment before heading over to soundcheck.’


Evening


‘Playing live original music for new and old fans is always a good time. At Lau Bak Livehouse we played for 45 minutes — a mixture of originals and covers. The set went smoothly aside from me breaking a guitar string during a song!’

Ollie Rodgers plays in his band Mr Koo

Watch Mr Koo play live at The Aftermath Bar on 6 August, and listen to the band’s single Big Wave Bay on Spotify or other streaming platforms.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

我的一天:滑板手/音乐人/摄录师

Ollie Rodgers plays in his band Mr Koo
Ollie Rodgers在乐队Mr Koo中,担任作曲和结他弹唱的角色

The Style Sheet「我的一天」系列最新一期,我们邀请了多才多艺、身兼多职的创作人Ollie Rodgers与我们一起度过作为滑板手、音乐人和摄录师精彩的一天。 Ollie 是香港滑板社群的一员,是网上平台LIKEWISE创办人之一,专注记录香港和亚洲的当代文化,同时他也在品牌Vans的市场部工作,还为自己的独立摇滚乐队Mr Koo写歌、演唱,并以结他演奏自己的作品。

早上


「醒来后我会查看电话、检查邮件,然后为自己制作一个百吉饼做早餐,之后带我的狗Frankie散步——她是我从香港西贡的Catherine's Puppies领养回来的沙皮狗,现在一个年大。散步后,就会做最重要的事情,例如为LIKEWISE剪辑影片或撰写文案,或花时间为Vans Skate APAC制作Instagram帖子。 另外,如我需要办理某类型工作,我也会前往位于观塘的Vans办公室,例如将运动鞋邮寄给附近地区的滑板手,让他们宣传品牌产品。  」

Ollie Rodgers walks his rescue dog Frankie
Ollie与搜救犬Frankie的早上散步时间

午餐


「如果我有时间,我会前往西营盘一家名为Momo N Curry的餐厅,它提供印度和尼泊尔菜式,有很棒的午餐优惠,还有最美味的鹰嘴豆马萨拉和印度拉卡油饼。 」


下午


「如果不是太忙,我每星期都会抽时间练习滑板数次。活动双腿和出汗的感觉很好,亦可帮我减压。在天色较阴暗的日子,我通常会去观塘海滨,因为那里有一个有盖滑板场。我在相机上加设鱼眼镜头,近距离拍摄动作,这样做最能捕捉使用技巧时所散发的能量了。 我最近一直为下一条LIKEWISE滑板视频进行拍摄,这系列影片名为Canto Pop,现在正在拍第三集。我觉得现在仍有不少香港人看不起滑板手,认为滑板是孩子的玩意。不过,滑板的形象正在逐渐改变,今年滑板更成为奥运项目,大品牌能够感受到他们眼中的潮流滑板产业开始实现。一件事无论发生了多少变化都好,都需要让其核心保持生命力。我们团队上下都很高兴能够玩滑板、拍片和捕捉现时香港的街头滑板风潮。 」

Ollie Rodgers skates at Kwun Tong Promenade
Ollie在观塘海滨的午后滑板时段进行摄录工作

傍晚


「临近傍晚,我通常会去位于荔枝角的工作室,我与其他音乐人和创作人分享这空间。 我为乐队Mr Koo担任唱作和结他演奏部分。工作室是我们练习的地方,也是与其他音乐人一起夹歌的场所。有时候我们会去表演,例如到西九文化区的留白Livehouse。演出前我习惯先弹一下我的结他,并在试音前将所有设备都准备妥当。 」


晚上


「现场表演原创音乐,无论是为我们长期的粉丝抑或第一次听我们音乐的人演奏,都是让人愉悦的美好时光。在留白Livehouse,我们表演了 45 分钟原创和翻唱歌曲,一切都进行得很顺利,除了中途结他突然断了一条弦线之外! 」

Ollie Rodgers plays in his band Mr Koo
Ollie 与其他Mr Koo的乐队成员一起在留白Livehouse表演

你也想听Mr Koo的音乐? 8月6日在中环The Aftermath酒吧可观看到Mr Koo的现场演出,你也可在Spotify或其他串流平台上欣赏到乐队的单曲Big Wave Bay

类型

关闭