This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image
07 April 2022
Text by
Christel Escosa
Images by
Ken Wu (@lightseed)
07 April 2022
Text by
Christel Escosa
Images by
Ken Wu (@lightseed)

Sunday Lunch with Arnault Castel

Sunday lunch at Pici with Arnault from kapok Hong Kong

Arnault Castel is a little late to arrive at lunch, but it’s all right. The kapok founder has been in Hong Kong a long time, and any good local will often be the last to appear anywhere that’s very close by. He also prefers not to have to commute to and from work and play, so a city as geographically dense as Hong Kong suits this disposition. 


We’re dining at Pici on St Francis Yard, sitting almost directly across the street as well as perpendicular to two iterations of his renowned lifestyle stores. ‘You know, upstairs used to be my office. And down here…’ he gestures around one of Hong Kong’s friendliest Italian restaurants, ‘…used to be a French restaurant. Actually, the kapok store down there used to be a French restaurant too,’ he remembers. But now, it’s time to order some Italian. We decide to indulge in a crisp white to sip on, before sharing the Vitello Tonnato and the Burrata to start. For mains, Arnault opts for the classic Cacio e Pepe, whilst I choose the Ravioli Carbonara; which, when sliced, open to reveal a runny golden egg yolk in the centre. Divine.

Pici Hong Kong

With the feast ordered, our conversation turns back to Arnault’s French roots. ‘I come from a small village in a wine region of the south of France called Corbières. It was a great place to play as a kid, but I found it deadly boring as a teenager — though nowadays, I love it again.’ Arnault was 22 when he arrived in Hong Kong on a programme that allowed him to escape France’s compulsory military service. ‘I had an interview for my first job at a bank. No fun. During my interview, I made up some serious story about the future of Hong Kong, the economy blah blah blah and a couple of weeks later, I got a letter in the mail — yes, I am old! — and I came here. I landed at Kai Tak airport during Chinese New Year in 1996. 26 years later, and I’m still here!” he laughs.


Fast forward to the very first kapok in Tin Hau, on a street with super cheap rent and nothing much going on. It was Arnault’s first small project, but he found himself enjoying being at work in a way he never thought was possible. So, when the opportunity came to move into Starstreet Precinct, he went for it. He remembers that the owners of the cha chaan teng next door to what’s now Pici were sceptical of the Frenchman moving in across the street. ‘For some reason, they were convinced I was going to open a burger shop!’ It’s unclear to this day why they thought that, but Arnault does in fact have F&B dreams. ‘I like to be in a business that makes people happy. And I really believe that good ice cream in summer makes people really happy! So I’ve been dreaming for a while now of creating my own ice cream brand and opening an ice cream parlour.’ Maybe this is in his DNA: even as a child, Arnault dreamed of one day opening a candy store. As a teenager it was a bookstore, and as a young adult, he imagined himself running a record shop. ‘I guess Kapok was bound to happen, really,’ he reflects.

kapok founder Arnault Castel at Pici Hong Kong

Arnault’s own demeanour is much like his stores: dynamic, effortless, interesting and perhaps most importantly, interested; this goes hand in hand with his taste for the new, and his eye for the ‘future classics’ with which he stocks the spaces. So what is he into right now? ‘I’m into gorpcore. People look good when they don't feel constricted. Breathing and moving well make people beautiful. I’m also totally okay for people to wear gorpcore when they’re not hiking, as hiking is super tiring!’ he says — but jokes aside, and in spite of the current restrictions, Arnault does enjoy an active lifestyle. His low resting heart rate perhaps means he’s very fit, or just very calm.


‘But I also love the “stay at home” trend,’ he adds. ‘And now I can do it much more without feeling any guilt. It's an introvert's paradise!’ So, when he’s not hiking or playing in local tennis tournaments, you can find him at home hanging out with his little black cat Solange, or dancing around the room by himself. As our desserts arrive at the table (airy Tiramisu for me, unctuous Panna Cotta for him), I ask him if there’s a method to his madness. ‘I love productive procrastination. It’s my recipe for success.’ One thing is for sure, I reflect: Arnault knows how to live.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image
07 April 2022
文:
Christel Escosa
圖:
Ken Wu (@lightseed)
07 April 2022
文:
Christel Escosa
圖:
Ken Wu (@lightseed)

與Arnault Castel共進週日午餐Sunday Lunch with Arnault Castel

Sunday lunch at Pici with Arnault from kapok Hong Kong

可是沒有關係。他是kapok的創辦人,來了香港這麼久,亦已入鄉隨俗,目的地越近就越容易遲到。他不喜歡舟車勞頓,於是地理密度高的香港正合他心意。


我們在進教圍Pici用膳,對面和轉角就是他的兩間生活精品店。「你知道嗎?樓上曾是我的辦公室,而那邊…」他指向香港最親切的意大利餐廳之一,「…以前是法國餐廳。事實上,那邊的kapok以前也是法國餐廳。」他憶述。回到此刻,我們準備品嚐意大利菜,決定先喝一點白酒,再享受吞拿魚醬牛肉切片和番茄布拉塔芝士兩款前菜。至於主菜,Arnault點了經典黑胡椒芝士意粉,而我點了卡邦尼意大利雲吞,一刀切開便見金黃色的流心蛋黃,實在賞心悅目。

Pici Hong Kong

我們的話題便回到Arnault的法國根源。「我來自法國南部釀酒地區一個叫Corbières的小村落。那裡是我兒時的天堂,但是當我成為了青少年,便覺得無聊透頂——雖然到了現在,我又再次愛上了它。」Arnault起初來到香港時只有22歲,他參加了一項計劃,避開了法國的強制兵役。「當時我在銀行為第一份工作面試,過程非常無趣。面試期間,我就著香港的經濟前景大造文章,然後幾個星期後,我收到了回信——是的,我年紀很大了!——然後就來了香港。1996年農曆新年,我在香港啟德機械降落。26年之後,我還在這裡!」他笑說。

 

第一間kapok門店位於天后一條租金低、不起眼的街道。那是Arnault的第一個小項目,他發現自己比以往都要享受工作。因此當機會來了,他便把門店搬到星街小區。他記得當年Pici隔壁茶餐廳老闆對於這個搬到自己對面的法國人充滿疑惑。「不知為何,他們總以為我會開漢堡店!」他們為何會有那個想法,到了今日還是不得而知,不過Arnault的確有個餐飲夢。「我想從事令人快樂的業務,而我堅信盛夏中一杯美味的雪糕會帶給人無比的快樂!所以我一直夢想設立自己的雪糕品牌,開一間雪糕店。」這或許是流淌在血液裡的嚮往:小時候,Arnault就夢想開一間糖果店。在青少年時期,他想開書店;長大成人後,他想像自己經營唱片店。「Kapok大概是命中注定要發生的。」他說。

kapok founder Arnault Castel at Pici Hong Kong

Arnault的個性和他的店舖十分相似:活潑、輕鬆、有趣而且充滿熱情。這一份熱情配合他的獨特品味和觸覺,為店內精選前衛的「未來經典」。那麼,他最近又情迷哪些精品?「我喜歡gorpcore,這是實用與時尚的融合,讓人無拘無束地呼吸和活動,舒服之餘亦特別好看。即使不是遠足也可以穿gorpcore,畢竟行山很累!」他說。玩笑歸玩笑,縱然此刻受防疫措施所限,Arnault其實也很喜歡運動。他的靜止心率很低,說明他的體能很好,或者非常平靜。


「但我亦喜歡宅在家的潮流。」他補充說。「現在,我可以隨意留在家中,不用感到羞愧。這是內向型人格的天堂!」因此,只要他不去遠足或參加本地網球賽,就會在家和小黑貓Solange二人世界,或者獨自在房間跳舞。當甜品來到面前(我的是提拉米蘇,他的是意式紅莓醬奶凍),我問他成功秘訣是什麼。「我喜歡有效拖延法,它是我的成功竅門。」回想起來,我很肯定一件事:Arnault很懂得生活。

關閉