This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

‘I’ve been thinking about how to bring more people together,’ muses Laura Zhang, artist and curator of Mihn 宀 Gallery. Basking in the successful opening of street artist Lousy’s show at the gallery, Zhang sits down to chat with me over fresh cold mezze of tzatziki and roasted eggplant. Sharing a plate of veggie crudités, we lounge in the afternoon sun pouring into Artemis & Apollo, a Greek taverna complete with spray-painted busts. In a stroke of fate, the restaurant along Moon Street happens to be directly across some of Lousy’s drawings.


Curious about her journey towards championing emerging artists as well as creating her own abstract works, I ask about her early life. Growing up on Lamma Island with an English mother and a Chinese father, she describes her young self as ‘a classic Lamma hippie child’. Roaming barefoot around the island with her older sister, she fondly recalls long days spent in nature, and painting as soon as she could hold a brush. Watching broadcaster David Attenborough wax poetically about the miracles of mother earth, she developed a deep connection to the world around her — but as a daydreamer, she found herself facing difficulties during primary school.

Hong Kong artist Laura Zhang speaks with writer Kaitlin Chan at Francis Hong Kong
Artist Laura Zhang (left) converses with Kaitlin Chan at Artemis & Apollo in Starstreet Precinct

‘Assignments were marked based on what you got wrong, not on what you got right,’ she bemoans with a laugh. For Zhang, it was only on meeting empathetic educators who nurtured her creativity that her life possibilities began to unfold, like the art teacher who enthusiastically told her that art would be her path. When the time came to consider life after secondary school, Zhang felt clear that the artist’s life was a challenge worth undertaking. Embarking on a fine arts degree at Leeds University, she finally felt that she’d met her tribe.

Middle Eastern food at Francis Hong Kong
Chicken and pork souvlakis and simple, tasty mezze exemplify the restaurant's take on Greek cuisine

In addition to painting and drawing, Zhang found herself drawn to the thriving communities embedded in Leeds’s underground music scene. Over juicy pork and chicken souvlakis, we discuss how this passion transformed her life. ‘There were people creating their own businesses, record labels and parties — things you can survive off,’ she says, eyes bright with wonder. ‘It was an interesting path to a different world, and a different way of making a living.’ She began participating in art fairs, creating decor for parties and scheming of ways to meld the worlds of fine art and techno music. Rather than artworks being rarefied objects, she wondered if it was possible to open things up. ‘I wondered if art could be consumed more like music, which is a little more free,’ she says.

Middle Eastern food at Francis Hong Kong
Vegetable crudites are a light complement to engaging conversation

Moving back to Hong Kong after graduation, she soon became connected to a new underground music platform: Mihn 宀 Club. From June 2018, Mihn started bringing electronic music talents from all over the world to play in its Sheung Wan space. Committed to a dynamic roster of programming, Mihn welcomes people of different backgrounds to gather and be free. In October 2019, Laura became the curator of Mihn 宀 Gallery, a pop-up art space providing an autonomous platform for emerging artists to exhibit and sell their work.


Zhang specifically sought out artists whose work spoke to her sensibilities, including linework drawings riffing off beloved Hong Kong films by Iris Yung, 35mm quotidian street photography by Gideon de Kock, and earlier this year, a group exhibition of breakout women artists themed as Stardust. Collaborating with a range of creators, she revels in the possibilities of different interactions; when other people are involved, she notes, anything becomes possible. She credits her friends and the Mihn community for inspiring her to brainstorm more intentional ways for people to congregate. In March, Zhang and a group of collaborators, including Curvasian founder Bertha Chan and DJ Misty Penguin, launched Puurr, a new collective celebrating femininity in any form. Carving out a space by women for women in the city’s nightlife, they’re planning events that centre on inclusivity and open dialogues.

Laura Zhang's artwork 111531 Flux, 2017. Pen and pencil on paper, 39 x 39 cm
Zhang's artwork 111531 Flux, 2017. Pen and pencil on paper, 39 x 39 cm

As we finish up lunch, we circle back to her own artistic practice. Her childhood love for the environment would later manifest in abstract geometric paintings and drawings, all based on algorithms found in the natural world, such as the repeating fractal patterns of snowflakes. The resulting works are often colourful and hypnotic. ‘I’m interested in building processes rather than final pieces,’ she explains. ‘My approach is very meditative, where I’m learning from doing.’ She hopes to exhibit more of her works in the future, though her focus for now is building on Mihn’s exhibition programme and developing Puurr.


Indulging in final bites of sweet labneh cheesecake, we toast our glasses of fresh green apple juice and Greek chamomile iced tea to the exciting possibilities ahead.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

與張亦亞共進週日午餐

「我一直在思考如何凝聚更廣泛的人群,」藝術家兼宀畫廊策展人張亦亞(Laura)沉思道。宀畫廊為本地街頭藝術家Lousy舉行展覽,取得空前成功,而我和幕後功臣Laura一邊聊天,一邊享用透心涼的tzatziki前菜和香烤茄子。我們分享一份蔬菜冷盤,感受午後陽光灑進Artemis & Apollo的寫意悠閒。這間希臘小館位於月街,正好面對Lousy的一些街頭作品。


Laura全心投入支持新晉藝術家,亦正在研究自己的抽象作品,叫人十分好奇,於是我不禁問起她的兒時經歷。她在南丫島長大,媽媽是英國人,爸爸是中國人,她稱自己為「典型的南丫島嬉皮士兒童」。她和姐姐會赤腳探索島上每個角落,每日都和大自然作伴,而她一學懂拿畫筆就開始作畫。聽著主持人David Attenborough描述大自然奇蹟時的動人詩意,她漸漸培養出和世界的親密連結。可是愛作白日夢的她,在小學時遇到不少困難。

Hong Kong artist Laura Zhang speaks with writer Kaitlin Chan at Francis Hong Kong
張亦亞(左)和Kaitlin Chan在星街小區的Artemis & Apollo對話

「作業答錯了會扣分,答對了的卻沒加分。」她苦笑說。對Laura來說,全靠遇上善解人意的老師,願意栽培她的創作能力,才為她打開人生的大門,其中一個熱情的藝術老師更告訴Laura藝術就是她的方向。中學畢業後,她必須作出人生抉擇,那時候她已經下定決心,不顧一切要成為藝術家。她在英國利茲大學修讀藝術,終於找到心之所屬。

Middle Eastern food at Francis Hong Kong
可口的烤豬肉、烤雞肉和精緻前菜,展現餐廳對希臘菜的十足把握

Laura除了喜歡油畫和繪畫,她亦被當地的地下音樂社群深深吸引。我們一邊享用鮮嫩多汁的烤豬肉和烤雞肉,一邊討論這份熱情如何改變她的一生。「他們自己創立業務、唱片品牌和舉辦派對,全部都可以賺錢。」她興奮地說。「那是一個與眾不同的世界,以截然不同的方式謀生。」於是她開始參與藝術節,為派對製作裝飾,並精心策劃她的大計,希望將藝術和techno音樂結合。藝術品一般被視為珍稀物品,她卻想打破這個固有形式。「我想知道藝術是否能像音樂一樣,給人自由自在的體驗。」

Middle Eastern food at Francis Hong Kong
蔬菜冷盤清新怡人,一邊享受一邊對話

她畢業之後回港,很快就認識了新的地下音樂平台:我們的悠樂場「宀」。由2018年6月起,這個場地就在世界各地搜羅電子音樂人才,邀請他們到上環空間演出,旨在透過充滿活力的演出節目,吸引不同背景的人士相聚狂歡,享受自由。2019年10月,Laura成為宀畫廊的策展人,以快閃藝術空間為新晉藝術家提供一個自主平台,讓他們隨意展出和出售畫作。


Laura特別追求能感動她的藝術家,例如藝術家Iris Yung啟發自本地電影的簡約線條畫作、南非攝影師Gideon de Kock的35mm 鏡頭街頭攝影作品,以及本年較早舉辦的《星塵》女藝術家主題展覽。Laura和多元創作者合作,把握每次交流帶來的可能性;她認為只要有其他人參與,一切都會變得可能。她感謝一眾好友和宀社群,激發她探索更多凝聚人群的方式。3月,Laura和一群合作夥伴聯手,當中包括Curvasian創辦人Bertha Chan和DJ Misty Penguin,她們推出嶄新組合「Puurr」,慶祝所有形式的女性態度。她們在都市為女性策劃一個獨特空間,準備舉行各式各樣的活動,提倡共融意識和開放討論。

Laura Zhang's artwork 111531 Flux, 2017. Pen and pencil on paper, 39 x 39 cm
張亦亞的2017年作品《111531 Flux》。鋼筆及鉛筆紙本,39 x 39厘米。

當午餐快要結束,話題又回到她的藝術創作。她小時候對大自然的熱愛,演變成抽象幾何畫作,這些設計全部基於自然世界的法則,例如雪花不停重複的分形規律。她的成品大多色彩繽紛、令人沉醉。「我對創作過程的興趣大於最後成品。」她解釋說。「我著重沉思和觀察,並透過實踐慢慢學習。」未來,她希望展出更多自己的作品,但是現在會先專心為宀畫廊策展,並進一步發展Puurr。


我們吃下最後一口labneh芝士蛋糕,享受那份極致甜蜜,然後拿起各自的飲料(青蘋果汁和希臘洋甘菊冰茶),為精彩未來乾杯。

關閉