This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Natural Beauty: The History of Pearls

In fashion, as we know, trends come and go. Statement items, on the other hand, live on forever. A case in point? Pearls.

 

The world’s oldest gemstone and the only one created by a living creature, the precious, glistening object has been around for thousands of years and, for just as long, been associated with power, status, and style — but also natural beauty, thanks to its flattering effect on the skin.

 

In ancient China, pearls were presented as gifts to royalty as early as 2300 BC. Similarly, pearl jewellery was considered the ultimate symbol of wealth and social standing in ancient Rome — so much so that Julius Caesar passed a law limiting the wearing of the spherical gem only to the ruling classes.

 

Giovanni Battista Tiepolo, 1743-1744, The Banquet of Cleopatra.
Giovanni Battista Tiepolo, 1743-1744, The Banquet of Cleopatra.

The ancient Greeks believed pearls to be the tears of the gods, while the ancient Egyptians, who had been using decorative mother-of-pearl at least as far back as 4200 BC, cherished pearls so much they were buried with them. But it was their most famous queen who best captured their love for the gems. According to Roman historian Pliny the Elder, Cleopatra wagered Marc Anthony that she could host the most expensive dinner in history to prove that Egypt had a heritage and affluence that put it above conquest. To prove it, she crushed a large pearl from a pair of earrings and dissolved it in a goblet of wine or vinegar before gulping it down. Amazed, Antony declined his dinner — the matching pearl — and admitted she had won.


Pearls’ alluring legacy continued through the centuries. Browse any art book, and you’ll see paintings of royalty bedecked with ropes of them, saints flaunting beautiful white strands to mark their loftiness, and gallant knights wearing them in battle as a talisman against misfortune. In Victorian England, seed pearls were used in mourning jewellery to symbolise tears.

Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961), Blake Edwards.
Still from Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961), Blake Edwards.

More recent history and pop culture, too, have turned pearls into a shorthand for class and refined elegance, but also a symbol of dedication and stability. Think of Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s — the epitome of chic — Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly and Elizabeth Taylor (who almost lost the storied 50-carat La Peregrina on a trip to Las Vegas).


Or pay attention to the wardrobes of every US First Lady since Martha Washington, including Jackie Kennedy and Michelle Obama; and the accessories of Queen Elizabeth II and Lady Diana, who wore the gem in all kinds of pieces, from tiaras to earrings, chokers and brooches.

Elizabeth Taylor and Jackie Kennedy wearing pearls
Elizabeth Taylor: PictureLux / The Hollywood Archive / Alamy Stock Photo. Jackie Kennedy: IanDagnall Computing / Alamy Stock Photo

So, while diamonds might be a girl’s best friend, pearls have proven to be their evergreen partners in style.


Fashion, of course, has played a crucial part in granting them such timeless charm. Coco Chanel was one of the first to use them on the catwalk (though hers were fake), making them an integral part of the modern woman’s look — one of her most famous maxims, after all, was ‘a woman needs ropes and ropes of pearls’. Dior, Saint Laurent and Balenciaga all reinterpreted the gemstones in myriad different ways through their accessories and collections, bringing pearls into the realm of casual attire and making them the most covetable item for career women and young debutantes alike.


Over the past decade in particular, pearls have surged again after a brief lull in the 1990s as a marker of panache, re-emerging in unexpected, sometimes bold combinations — and on a whole new demographic. The comeback is surely in part due to Dior’s 2013 Tribales earrings, which featured a gobstopper-sized pearl on the front of the earlobe and a smaller one on the back, and went on to become something of a cult piece. The pearl-encrusted jacket in the 2015 Balmain x H&M collection, had its role, too, in shedding the prim connotations around the gem. So did Karl Lagerfeld at Chanel and Alessandro Michele at Gucci (who sent a pearl balaclava down the runway on the brand’s 2018 Resort show).


And then of course, there’s been the pivotal work of the jewellery world’s greatest and brightest. From Cartier and Chopard to Van Cleef & Arpels and BVLGARI, heritage brands have been quietly modernising pearls through cool, bold reconfigurations of classic collections, creating contemporary pieces that have become highly sought-after.

Kamala Harris wearing pearls
Kamala Harris: DOD Photo / Alamy Stock Photo

A new wave of progressive pearl-wearers has followed suit. Among them have been female role models like Kamala Harris, who wore a custom pearl necklace at the US presidential inauguration; and poet Amanda Gorman, who flaunted a crown of pearls for her appearance at the Super Bowl in 2021. Emma Watson donned pearl-embellished droplet earrings to complement her upcycled outfit at the Earthshot Prize in October 2021.

Harry Styles and Shawn Mendes wearing pearls
Harry Styles: INSTAR Images LLC / Alamy Stock Photo. Shawn Mendes: WENN Rights Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo

Men, too, have been embracing pearls. Harry Styles led the way in 2019, when he attended the Met Gala wearing a single pearl earring by Gucci. And more forward-thinking gents have followed: A$AP Rocky, Billy Porter and Shawn Mendes have incorporated pearls into their outfits, breathing fresh air into the gem and bestowing it a whole new signifier — not just of femininity, but of a softer, radical notion of masculinity as well.


‘Pearls are always appropriate,’ Jackie Kennedy once said. As they continue to reflect style’s ever-evolving zeitgeist, the statement couldn’t ring any truer today.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

自然之美:珍珠的歷史

時裝界的潮流變化不斷,但具代表性的單品歷久不衰。珍珠,就是箇中表表者。


顧名思義,珍珠乃是珍寶,散發著閃亮光澤,貴為全球最古老的寶石,存在長達數千年,亦是唯一產自生物的寶石。長久以來,珍珠被視為權力、地位及格調的象徵;此外,珍珠亦是天然美容品,歸功於其超卓的護膚效果。


早在公元前2300年,珍珠在古代中國是獻給皇室的貢品;同樣地,在古羅馬,珍珠首飾被視為財富和社會地位的終極象徵,以至凱撒大帝通過了法例,只限統治階級佩戴這種球形寶石。

Giovanni Battista Tiepolo, 1743-1744, The Banquet of Cleopatra.
圖:Giovanni Battista Tiepolo, 1743-1744, The Banquet of Cleopatra.

古希臘人相信珍珠是諸神的眼淚,而早在公元前4200年,古埃及人就開始使用珍珠母作為裝飾,他們對珍珠珍而重之,甚至拿來當陪葬品;而最出名的埃及女王最能體現古埃及人對珍珠的喜愛。根據羅馬歷史學家普林尼(Pliny the Elder)所說,埃及妖后跟Marc Anthony打賭,她舉辦的晚宴會是有史以來最昂貴的,以證明古埃及擁有豐富遺產,而且富裕繁榮,沒人能征服。因此,她從耳環摘下一顆大珍珠,將其溶解在葡萄酒或醋裡,然後吞下去。安東尼驚訝不已,拒絕了他的晚餐──另一隻耳環的珍珠,承認她贏了。


珍珠的誘人傳奇延續了幾世紀,翻閱任何一本藝術書籍,都能看到畫作描繪皇室用一串串珍珠作裝飾、聖徒炫耀著漂亮的珍珠鏈,標誌其崇高地位,以及勇敢的騎士穿戴珍珠上戰場當護身符,祈求遠離不幸。在維多利亞時代的英國,小珍珠被用作悼念首飾,以象徵眼淚。

Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961), Blake Edwards.
圖:Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961), Blake Edwards.

在較近期的歷史及流行文化中,珍珠成為階級和優雅的代名詞,同時也是奉獻和穩定的象徵。想想經典電影《珠光寶氣》中的柯德莉夏萍──她是時尚的典範,還有瑪麗蓮夢露、Grace Kelly和伊莉莎伯泰萊(在一次拉斯維加斯之旅中,她幾乎失去了重達50克拉的La Peregrina珍珠)。


或者留意一下繼Martha Washington後每位第一夫人的衣櫃,包括Jackie Kennedy及Michelle Obama;還有伊利沙伯二世及戴安娜王妃的配飾,從冠冕到耳環,從頸鏈到胸針,所有類型的配飾都飾有珍珠。

Elizabeth Taylor and Jackie Kennedy wearing pearls
圖:Elizabeth Taylor: PictureLux / The Hollywood Archive / Alamy Stock Photo. Jackie Kennedy: IanDagnall Computing / Alamy Stock Photo

因此,鑽石可能是女性的知己,而珍珠則被證明是她們永恆的時尚夥伴。


當然,時尚擔當著重要的角色,賦予珍珠永不褪色的魅力。Coco Chanel是第一位將珍珠帶到時裝展的人(儘管當時她用的是仿珍珠),將珍珠塑造成現代女性必不可缺的物品,畢竟她最著名的格言是「女人需要一串又一串的珍珠」。DiorSaint LaurentBalenciaga的配飾及珠寶系列,以無數方式重新詮釋了寶石,將珍珠帶進休閒服飾的領域,以及使其成為職業女性及初次於社交圈亮相的年輕女性最嚮往的物品。


特別是在過去十年,珍珠於上世紀90年代沉寂了一段時間後,以華麗的姿態強勢回歸,設計款式出人意料,有時甚至大膽創新,打入新的年齡層市場。2013年,Dior推出Tribales耳環,小珍珠點綴正面,配以特大珍珠藏於耳珠後,大受追捧。2015年,Balmain x H&M系列的珍珠刺繡外套也發揮了作用,讓珍珠擺脫了其古板形象;而Chanel 的創意總監Karl Lagerfeld和Gucci 的創意總監Alessandro Michele亦應記一功(後者將珍珠化身成Balaclava頭套,在2018度假展的天橋亮相)。


當然,少不了珠寶界最偉大、最耀眼的關鍵作品。從CartierChopard,到Van Cleef & ArpelsBVLGARI,各大傳統品牌將其經典系列,重塑成極具格調的大膽設計,悄悄將珍珠推向現代化,創造出備受追捧的當代作品。

Kamala Harris wearing pearls
圖:Kamala Harris: DOD Photo / Alamy Stock Photo

一眾前衛的珍珠佩戴者緊隨其後,掀起新浪潮。其中有一些女性模範,例如美國副總統Kamala Harris,她在美國總統就職典禮上佩戴了定制珍珠頸鏈;以及詩人Amanda Gorman,於2021年的超級盃亮相時戴著一頂珍珠皇冠。Emma Watson出席「為地球奮鬥獎」(The Earthshot Prize)時,戴上飾有珍珠的水滴耳環,點綴她的升級再造服裝。

Harry Styles and Shawn Mendes wearing pearls
圖:Harry Styles: INSTAR Images LLC / Alamy Stock Photo. Shawn Mendes: WENN Rights Ltd / Alamy Stock Photo

其實男士亦一直擁戴著珍珠。 2019年,Harry Styles引領潮流,戴著單邊Gucci珍珠耳環出席紐約大都會博物館慈善晚宴(Met Gala)。其後一眾高瞻遠矚的男士們紛紛仿效:A$AP Rocky、Billy Porter及Shawn Mendes將珍珠融入其服裝,讓珍珠耳目一新,並賦予其全新象徵──不僅散發女性氣質,更流露出柔和而激進的男性氣質。


Jackie Kennedy曾說:「無論何時,珍珠總是合宜。」珍珠反映出時尚風格不斷變化的真貌,這句話在今時今時再真實不過。

類型

關閉