This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Creative Spaces: LUÜNA’s Olivia Cotes-James

The Style Sheet was lucky enough to spend a sunny afternoon at the Lamma home of Olivia Cotes-James, female entrepreneur, founder and CEO of LUÜNA naturals — an award-winning line of feminine hygiene products. Along with organic cotton pads, tampons and liners, all hypoallergenic and free of the toxins found in conventional cotton and non-cotton brands, LUÜNA is also the first brand to stock a period cup in a mainstream retailer in Hong Kong, through Watsons.


The start-up founder has spent the best part of the pandemic so far in her colourful Lamma abode. While paying her a visit, we learnt about her WFH routine, love of nature and support of the women in her creative world.


The Style Sheet: What drew you to Lamma Island, and your flat itself?


Olivia: LUÜNA launched in 2019 when we established our offices in Hong Kong and Shanghai. Before COVID I was travelling between those locations every month. I liked the contrast between the bustling urban nature of Shanghai and the serenity that Lamma afforded during my time in Hong Kong. Honestly, launching a start-up is incredibly challenging, more so than I could ever have prepared for. As such, those quiet moments on Lamma developed very quickly from treasured moments of calm to necessary acts of self-care amid the craziness. Put it this way — working seven days a week is less intense when weekend work can take place on a sunlit balcony to the sounds of birds chirping!

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals relaxes on her balcony
LUÜNA naturals founder & CEO Olivia Cotes-James in her Lamma Island abode

Tell us a little about your WFH routine. What are your key criteria for creating an inspiring space?


I could sit in an empty room on a beanbag and be happy to WFH, as long as it has lots of natural light and access to good coffee. I often grind straight through when I’m in the zone, but I definitely advocate for making sure you take breaks where possible, otherwise burnout looms. This is what I loved so much about living on Lamma during those long WFH periods last year. As I’m not always good about taking a break from work, with nature on my doorstep, even a necessary shopping trip ends up being a relaxing stroll through nature and means some time to recalibrate.

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals sits in front of her artwork collection
Olivia gets comfy on a pre-loved chair. Her artwork collection champions local female creators

Tell us about some of the vintage finds and upcycled pieces in your home.


I’m always looking for ways to reduce my environmental footprint, from reusable period care to shopping for second-hand clothing and upcycling old furniture. Sourcing pre-loved items is something I love doing in my spare time. I painted a lot of the furniture and art myself during COVID — if you look closely, you’ll see I’m not very good at it! However, I created these pieces for myself, so while they aren’t perfect, they’re meaningful to me and I love them for their imperfections.

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals relaxes at home with a selection of curios
Olivia takes a tea break on the balcony of her tranquil home, which is filled with colourful nooks

Your space champions a lot of work from local female artists too.


The walls of my flat are a testament to many of my favourite local artists in Hong Kong and Shanghai, many of whom I’m lucky enough to have discovered, worked with for LUÜNA and now call friends. From Shanghai we have illustrator Patti Ruan, and from Hong Kong you can see the work of Claudia Chanhoi, Charlene Man and Ellie Suh. One of my favourite pieces is an illustration by Ellie that she designed for the launch of our friend Rae Hu’s first feature film. I look at this piece and can feel so proud of the talented creative women in my life.

LUÜNA naturals' colourful packaging complements founder Olivia Cotes-James's taste in decor
Left: LUÜNA’s bold packaging makes a statement. Right: Colourful objects, plants and works by local artists fill Olivia’s home

On the topic of championing women, you lead a team of nine women as founder and CEO of LUÜNA. What’s been your managerial approach?


Proving just how prevalent gender bias is in the start-up world, less than 3% of VC funding was allocated to female-founded start-ups in 2020. At LUÜNA, we tackle gender bias at all levels, from our external work to tackle menstrual stigma in Asia to our internal structure within which women lead at every level. With statistics like this in mind, our very existence and success is proof that long-outdated industries can and will be redefined, with women leading the charge. Too many leaders today still act out of fear, whereas at LUÜNA we’re committed to leading boldly and bravely. This involves having the difficult conversations many are too scared to have in a professional setting, being transparent with one another and empathetic at every turn.


Lastly, LUÜNA also has an impressive impact model. Can you share a little more about how you’re giving back?


Every purchase of our products helps fund period education and products to local communities in need. We’re so excited to be launching The Red Box Project in Hong Kong with The Zubin Foundation to alleviate period poverty. The Zubin Foundation has been working to improve the lives of marginalised ethnic minorities by reducing suffering and providing opportunities. We’ll be providing organic pads and period education to ethnic minority girls living in the city, which forms part of our efforts to eradicate period poverty in Hong Kong and across Asia.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

創意空間:LUÜNA裸月創辦人Olivia Cotes-James

今期The Style Sheet有幸於週日下午,到訪女企業家Olivia Cotes-James的南丫島住所,她是獲獎女性衛生用品品牌LUÜNA naturals裸月的創辦人兼行政總裁。LUÜNA裸月的有機衛生巾、衛生棉和護墊全部防敏感,不含一般棉花和非棉花女性衛生用品品牌常見的有毒物質,它更是全港首個於主流零售商屈臣氏上架月經杯的品牌。


這位初創企業創辦人在疫情期間,於其色彩繽紛的南丫島住所度過許多美好時光。在登門造訪的過程,我們了解到她在家工作的日常、對大自然的熱愛和透過其創意世界表達對女性的支持。


The Style Sheet:南丫島和這個單位有什麼吸引到你?


Olivia:LUÜNA裸月於2019年成立,當時我們於香港和上海設有辦公室,而在疫情尚未爆發前,我每個月都會往返來兩地。上海是個繁華城市,香港南丫島則是個寧靜小島,我喜歡兩者之間形成的對比。老實說,創業的挑戰極大,完全超出我預料之內。正因如此,清幽的南丫島生活,很快變成珍貴的安靜時間,讓我能夠遠離創業的瘋狂,好好照顧自己。這樣說吧,如果一週要工作7天,週末的時候能在和煦陽光和清脆鳥鳴相伴下工作,就沒那麼緊繃。

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals relaxes on her balcony
攝於LUÜNA naturals裸月創辦人兼行政總裁Olivia Cotes-James的南丫島住所

說說你在家工作的日常,建立激發靈感的空間有什麼重要條件?


只要有自然光和美味咖啡,我樂意坐在只有豆袋梳化的空房在家工作。當我進入狀態,就會埋頭苦幹,但我鼓勵大家一定要在適當時候小休,不然會「腦便秘」。所以過去一年很長時間在家工作的日子,我很享受在南丫島的生活,因為有時候我會忙到忘記休息,但當我與大自然相伴,外出買東西其實也是一個放鬆行程,能為自己充電。

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals sits in front of her artwork collection
Olivia安坐在二手椅子,其藝術收藏品可見她對當地女創作家的支持

介紹一下你家的復古和升級改造的物品。


由保養可重用物品、選購二手服飾,到升級改造舊家具,我經常透過不同方法減低自己的環境足跡。空閒的時候,我很喜歡去挑選二手好物 —— 但你仔細看就會發現我不太會挑。不過我還是為自己挑了這些物品,雖然它們不盡完美,但對我來說意義重大,我也愛它們的不完美。

Olivia Cotes-James of LUÜNA naturals relaxes at home with a selection of curios
Olivia在露台喝茶小休,這個恬靜舒適的家還有其他色彩繽紛的角落

你家也有許多當地女藝術家的作品。


香港和上海都有我喜歡的當地藝術家,家裡的牆壁掛了其作品。我很幸運能夠找到這群人,並一起合作LUÜNA裸月的項目,如今還成為朋友。與我們合作的有上海插畫師Patti Ruan,香港則有陳凱彤(Claudia Chan)、萬蒨衡(Charlene Man)和Ellie Suh。我最愛的其中一件作品由Ellie操刀,是她為我們的朋友Rae Hu在推出首部影片時設計的。看著這件藝術品,我對身邊有才華、有創意的女性感到相當驕傲。

LUÜNA naturals' colourful packaging complements founder Olivia Cotes-James's taste in decor
左:LUÜNA裸月大膽創新的包裝盡展品牌特色,右:Olivia家裡的彩色小物、植物,以及當地藝術家的作品

談到支持女性,你作為LUÜNA裸月的創辦人和行政總裁,並率領有9位女性的團隊,你採用什麼管理方針?


2020年,只有不到3%的創業投資資金分配予女性創辦的初創企業,可見性別偏見在初創世界相當普遍。在LUÜNA裸月,我們從各個層面著手解決性別偏見的問題,對外我們致力於亞洲打破月經污名,至於對內,每個層級都有女性擔任管理職務。有了此數據,LUÜNA裸月的存在和成功,足以證明在這方面大大落後的行業也能夠和將會被重新定義,能由女性擔任領導位置。今天,仍有太多的領導者因恐懼而固步自封,但在LUÜNA裸月,我們敢於以破舊立新的方式領導企業,當中涉及很多大家不敢在職場進行的討論,需要彼此對每件事保持透明和同理心。


最後,LUÜNA裸月也是相當具影響力的企業典範,能否分享你們如何回饋社會?


每當有人購買我們的LUÜNA裸月產品,就能資助我們為當地有需要的社群提供月經教育和產品。我們很高興能與小彬紀念基金會合作,於香港推行The Red Box Project,以緩解「月經貧困」的問題。小彬紀念基金會致力透過減少痛苦、提供機會,幫助被邊緣化的少數族裔改善生活。我們將為本港的少數族裔女生提供有機棉衛生巾和月經教育,為香港和亞洲消除「月經貧困」出一分力。

關閉