This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Noticed how all your favourite holiday spots have started to become swamped with other travellers? We have too — and there’s a good reason for it. According to a recent report by the Global Wellness Summit, more people than ever can afford to travel. And they are, with 1.3 billion of us jet-setting overseas annually, up from 500 million trips in 1995. No wonder the world is suffering from over-tourism.


Of course, we’re here with a solution. Next time you go to book a trip, skip the usual list of suspects and head to these still-unspoilt places to visit instead.

hotel san cristobal mexico todos santos

1. Instead of Cabo, try Todos Santos


Backed by the Sierra la Laguna mountain range, Todos Santos is an hour’s drive from Mexico’s tourist magnet, Cabo. The sleepy town is mostly populated by surfers who come to catch the strong waves of neighbouring San Pedrito and Los Cerritos beaches, and bohemians enjoying a slow-paced lifestyle (ask one where you can might find a phone charger and you’ll likely be laughed at). On first arrival, it doesn’t look like it holds much more than a few quaint hotels and side-of-the-road trucks serving fish tacos that — while incredibly delicious — aren’t out of the ordinary to find in Mexico’s off-the-beaten-track towns. What makes Todos Sanos stand out is that it’s starting to show its first signs of gentrified luxury, meaning if you go right now, you’ll have a holiday that gives you the best of both worlds. New highlights include a tiny hip coffee shop that makes a cup to rival Melbourne’s cafes, and a fancy new five-star hotel by famed Texan hotelier Liz Lambert that’s so incredibly photogenic you can’t help but start snapping its prettily patterned tiled floors and bright woven cushions as soon as you arrive. A few influencers have already started catching on, so go soon.

The beach in Antiparos

2. Instead of Mykonos, try Antiparos


A ten-minute ferry ride from neighbouring Paros, and just an hour further to Mykonos, Antiparos has all the hallmarks of a Grecian getaway — but without the pretentiousness, traffic jams and hefty price tags of some of the country’s more famous islands. The town centre is filled with plenty of places to stop for tourist-favoured gyros and ice cream, but the whole vibe and clientele feels far more local. And if you want a little of that Mykonos glamour, you can still get a fix at the Beach House — a chic hotel-restaurant-beach club hybrid where you can watch the in-the-know style set enjoy fresh grilled octopus and chilled wine under shaded lounge chairs. The sunset viewed from Sifneiko beach rivals Santorini — sans crowds. If you need more swaying that Antiparos is one of best secret spot across all of Greece’s 227 inhabited islands, just ask Tom Hanks — he and his family have been holidaying here every summer unbothered for the last 15 years.

Burleigh Heads beach

3. Instead of Byron Bay, try Burleigh Heads


Ask any Byron Bay local what they think of the bucketloads of tourists arriving to their small Australian seaside town, and most will be quick to tell you they don’t like it one bit. In peak season, you’ll struggle to get a park anywhere near the beaches and you’ll be waiting hours to be seated for brunch at local cafes. While it should be said that even with these setbacks, Byron Bay still holds a lot of charm, it can make for a less-than-ideal holiday situation for those who want to avoid the masses. Instead, take your trip an hour further north and settle into Burleigh Heads, a quainter, quieter version of Byron but with that same bohemian costal charm and plenty of great cafes and restaurants, and enough hotel and rental accommodation options (albeit not as luxurious as those just across the border). One for the ‘must list’ that rivals Byron’s dining scene? A buzzing, scenic pan-Asian restaurant called Rick Shores where the sea literally laps at the windows. Order the bug rolls and thank us later.

The view in Shelter Island

4. Instead of the Hamptons, try Shelter Island


The summer playground of wealthy New Yorkers, The Hamptons swells in population in summer with both extended holidayers and daytrippers. The solution? Make like an in-the-know New Yorker and opt for Shelter Island instead. A five-minute ferry trip from nearby North Haven, Shelter Island has managed to sidestep the pretentious character, crowds, traffic and prices of the Hamptons (although locals have voiced their concerns about it turning that way — which is exactly why you should go soon). If you’re looking for a ‘sceney’ brunch filled with Instagram models you’re on the wrong island, but if you’re looking for a relaxed, lingering breakfast with ocean views, you’ll find it at local organic market and cafe Marie Eiffel Market. With only a couple of thousand people living there, it does come with a set of small-town challenges (there’s no hospital, for example, and if you get caught speeding, your name goes in the local paper) but for a taste of the quintessential life in upstate New York it doesn’t get any better — and you’ll save yourself a pretty penny too.

The beach in Comporta

5. Instead of Lagos, try Comporta


Lagos on Portugal’s Algarve coastline is packed with sunburnt tourists fighting over space to roll out their towels on beachy enclaves. But drive a couple of hours north towards Lisbon and instead settle into Comporta, Portugal’s achingly sophisticated best-kept secret. A beach town beloved of the country’s elite, it’s home to long stretches of empty sandy shores and a sprinkling of uber-chic beachside restaurants and bars. Even the local supermarket is elevated — with more gourmet, artisanal delicacies than commercial or processed choices. (For those who appreciate a beautiful accessory, look up at the roof while you’re buying your milk — it’s covered with handcrafted basket bags, also for sale.) You only need to spend a couple of hours in this town before you’ll be asking yourself why everyone is holidaying in the Algarve instead. The answer might be, at least in part, that accommodation in the area is still fairly limited and not particularly cheap — at least by Portuguese standards. And while there are sure to be sophisticated dinner parties happening in the private residences in the area, the isn’t much of a nightlife in the town. But do keep your eyes peeled for famous faces — the likes of Madonna and Elle McPherson are said to have homes in the area. And why not? With the beach basically to themselves, it’s the perfect place for holidaying under the radar.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

你发现至爱的旅游景点开始被其他旅客淹没?我们又何尝不是?但这个现象背后的原因不难理解。根据全球健康峰会的最新报告,现在比从前有更多人能负担出国旅游的费用。每年乘坐飞机到国外旅游的人数,由1995年的5亿跃升至现在的13亿,难怪全球都受到“过度旅游”的冲击。


当然了,我们就是你的明灯,下次当你预订旅程,跳过惯常的“候选佳丽”,奔向未受破坏的旅游热点吧。

Instead of Cabo, try Todos Santos

1. 想去墨西哥卡波圣卢卡斯?不如考虑托多斯桑托斯(Todos Santos)


托多斯桑托斯背靠塞拉罗拉古纳(Sierra la Laguna)山脉,距离墨西哥的“旅客磁石”卡波圣卢卡斯一小时车程。这座沉睡的城市深受冲浪者欢迎,他们前来追赶由邻近的圣佩德里托(San Pedrito)和洛斯塞里托斯海滩滚滚而来的大浪,以及与波希米亚主义者享受慢活节奏(如果你在当地找手机充电器,大概会被取笑)。一到托多斯桑托斯,几家古雅的饭店就在眼前,美食车停靠在一旁,贩卖墨西哥鱼柳卷饼,美味得惊为天人,这些景象就是墨西哥这个鲜有人涉足的小镇的惯常面貌,但是并非它的全部。近年托多斯桑托斯开始渗出一丝丝高档的奢华感,让这个地方显得与别不同,这代表现在你去当地旅游,就可以感受到当地两种风貌,度过两全其美的假期。新推介的特式小店包括以下这间时尚小型咖啡店,他们出品的咖啡比得上墨尔本的咖啡馆,还有由德州著名饭店经营者莉兹·兰伯特(Liz Lambert)所设计的五星级豪华饭店,一踏进去就是图案精致的瓷砖地板,加上亮眼的编织座垫,让人忍不住拿着相机不停拍照留念。目前已经有好些网络红人领会到这个地方的过人魅力,你也要不甘后人。

Instead of Mykonos, try Antiparos

2. 想去希腊米克诺斯岛?不如考虑安提帕罗斯岛


安提帕罗斯岛邻近帕罗斯岛,只需要坐10分钟渡轮,即使从米克诺斯岛出发往安提帕罗斯岛也只需要一小时船程。岛上拥有所有希腊式假期的标记,而且跟希腊其他著名小岛相比,这里少了一份做作的感觉,没有交通挤塞,消费水平也低。市中心的美食数之不尽,有旅客最爱的希腊旋转烤肉和冰淇淋,而岛上整个氛围和客户群都流露着更浓厚的当地气息。如果你想感受米克诺斯岛的魅力,去Beach House就可以让你如愿以偿。这家雅致的饭店结合餐厅和沙滩俱乐部,你可以看见一群穿着入时的人士,在太阳椅上品尝新鲜烤章鱼,再喝一口冰镇的红酒。西弗内科海滩的日落景致足以媲美圣托里尼岛,却不用忍受人潮的挤拥。如果这样还不足以说服你,安提帕罗斯岛是全希腊227个有人居住的小岛中最神秘的度假胜地,你就去问问汤姆·汉克斯吧,过去15年的每一个夏季,他都会跟家人来度过无忧无虑的假期。

Instead of Byron Bay, try Burleigh Heads

3. 想去澳洲拜倫灣?不如考慮波丽台


访问一下拜伦湾的当地人怎样看大量旅客蜂拥而至他们的海滨小镇,大部分人都会马上异口同声地说他们一点都不喜欢这样。在旺季,你很难在海滩附近找到停车位,而且要在当地咖啡厅吃一个早午餐,就要排队等上好几个小时。就算拜伦湾有这些缺点,依然充满魅力,但若你想避开人潮,就会觉得这个假期美中不足。相反,再花一小时往北走,到波丽台安顿下来,你就会发现自己犹如身处在一个更古色古香、更幽静的拜伦湾,但依然有着同一份无拘无束的海滨魅力,一流的咖啡厅和餐厅林立,饭店和出租旅馆的选择多不胜数(尽管它们不及边境另一边的奢华)。能与拜伦湾的用餐景致匹敌的必选餐厅?非Rick Shores莫属,一间热热闹闹、风景优美的泛亚洲餐厅,海浪会拍打到窗上。点一客招牌炸东方扁虾包,吃饱喝醉后再来多谢我们的推介吧。

Instead of The Hamptons, try Shelter Island

4. 想去美國東岸漢普頓?不如考慮谢尔特岛(Shelter Island)


东岸汉普顿是纽约客富豪的避暑圣地,延长假期的度假人士和即日来回的旅客纷纷涌至。应对方法呢?扮作地道的纽约客,选择去谢尔特岛吧,从邻近的North Haven坐五分钟渡轮就到。这里朴实无华,没有汹涌的人潮和熙来攘往的交通,物价也不像汉普顿一样高(当地人已经表示担心谢尔特岛会逐渐变变成另一个汉普顿,所以你更要快点去一趟)。如果你在寻找一个顾客争相拍照打卡的漂亮地方享用早午餐,你就来错了小岛;但如果你想看着大海,享用一个放松又让人再三回味的早午餐,到本地有机市场和咖啡厅Marie Eiffel Market>就会心满意足。这里人口只有几千人,这样的小镇自有它的挑战(例如这里没有医院;如果你超速驾驶,你的名字就会在当地报章出现),但如果你想感受纽约北部的典型生活,这里就是不二之选,还可以省下一笔金钱。

Instead of Lagos, try Comporta

5. 想去葡萄牙拉各斯?不如考虑孔波塔


拉各斯坐落于葡萄牙阿尔加维海岸线,挤满一身晒伤痕迹的旅客,在海滨内飞地争位置摊开毛巾躺下,但你可以往北开两小时车前往里斯本,然后在孔波塔安顿下来,这是葡萄牙一个鲜为人知的非凡秘境。这个海滨城市深受葡萄牙名流喜爱,沙滩海岸连绵不断,游人不多,时尚海滨餐厅和酒吧散落各处。就算是当地超级市场也相对高级,比起商业化和加工食品,这里提供更多佳肴和手工美食。(喜欢美丽配饰的人,在买牛奶时不妨抬头看看屋顶,手工篮子就挂在头上,你也可以选购。)在你问为什么大家都在法鲁区旅游之前,你只需要在镇上逛几个小时就知道答案,其中一个可能是当地的住宿相当有限,租金不是特别便宜,至少对葡萄牙人来说不是。当地的夜生活不算多姿多彩,但晚上一定有几户人家在家里办精致晚宴。然而,留心周围的话可能会遇到名人,据说天后玛丹娜和名模艾丽·麦菲逊的家就在附近。有何不可呢?基本上这里的沙滩犹如他们的专属私人沙滩,是最完美的避世度假胜地。

类型

关闭