This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Paris, New York, Milan and London usually throw up a plethora of different styles and imagery during their seasonal shows, but one thread seemed to tie together all four major fashion weeks’ Spring/Summer 2019 collections last fall: models walking down the runways as if they were the boardwalks of a coastal town in California.


Across household names and up-and-coming labels, there were tie-dyes and neoprene, tropical motifs and shark prints, each evocative of sunny mid-afternoon beach outings. Surf style was the trend to flaunt.


Riding the wave was Raf Simons’ final Calvin Klein show in New York, where looks included wetsuits – some with the bibs folded over at the waist to reveal graphic, painterly prints – nautical hardware, vests and short-sleeved sweatshirts plastered with the poster of the 1975 Spielberg classic Jaws, a main influence for the collection.

Spring Summer 2019's surfer trend, as seen on the runways at Prada (left) and Proenza Schouler (right)
Spring Summer 2019's surfer trend, as seen on the runways at Proenza Schouler (left) and Prada (right)

Proenza Schouler followed with some polished takes on tied-and-dyed, while Michael Kors and Anna Sui turned to Hawaii – where surfing is thought to have originated – with tropical prints on swimwear, bucket hats and board shorts.


In Milan, Prada played the surfing theme with more tie-dye prints, printed neoprene-esque tops, and rash-guard-like surf socks. Etro brought surfer-girl cool (and two actual surfers) to the runway with a boho and breezy line aptly titled Pacific Zen.

Buckets of tie-dye hit MSGM’s extra-long knits in punchy, almost punk-like hues, for a modern take on the fabric dyeing technique. 


Point Break, a classic surf movie, was the clear inspiration behind Sportmax’s show, which was especially loaded with surf references. Here, looks featured stylised surfwear and shell anklets, dresses in technical nylon ruched with drawstrings, bikini tops under relaxed suit jackets, slides and slouchy backpacks, and leather board shorts – admittedly unpractical on any real beach – paired with wetsuit-style T-shirts.


Another giant, Dior, took on the sea in Paris with more acid wash and artisanal tie-dye on beautifully crafted garbs – a feminine and edgy interpretation of surf’s laid-back, easy-does-it vibe.


Labels to watch embraced the trend too: newcomer Marine Serre’s second catwalk show featured a decidedly utilitarian and sporty aesthetic in the form of wetsuits and neoprene bodysuits, not to mention a showstopping scuba-suit ball gown with voluminous ruffles. In London, Rejina Pyo threw pastel-hued tropical motifs and zingy neon green on short-sleeved shirts, and Richard Malone sent out rash-guard-inspired tops.


But fashion’s fascination with surf culture and lifestyle isn’t new. The two have been crossing paths for decades, ever since surfing began gaining popularity in the 50s and pro surfers started looking at flair as an element as important as function in their outfits in and out of water – a way to display their edginess and carefree style. Together with the first wetsuits – made of bright neoprene pieces and first introduced in the early 50s by American businessman Jack O’Neill – stripes, blue jeans and tailor-made trunks were the garbs of the day. The first surf clothing brand, San Francisco-based Sundek, was established in 1958, further helping create a specific surf aesthetic.


In the span of a few years, as Hollywood the sport and broadened its appeal with films like The Endless Summer, Big Wednesday and Ride the Wild Surf, surf style began expanding its gamut, cycling through different trends just like ready-to-wear did.

Surf style has been kept in the public consciousness by popular films over the years
Films such as Lords of Dogtown (left) and Blue Crush (right) have helped to keep surf style a part of fashion over several decades

In the 60s, it embraced bright colours and slim silhouettes. Fast-forward a decade, and acid hues were its main trademark, followed by the big-logoed designs of the 80s and the baggy looks of the 90s and early 2000s (films like Lords of Dogtown and Blue Crush are particularly great at portraying the latter evolution of the surfer look).


Fashion, on its end, watched and made some of the sport’s signature looks its own. It did so on the high-street, where Aloha-type prints have been a staple since the 50s, and are still bestsellers at Zara, Topshop and H&M. It also followed in the realm of high clothing, with designers like Proenza Schouler, Hedi Slimane and Raf Simons toying with surf style in more than one collection over the last three decades. Even a classic powerhouse like Chanel got involved: in 2010, it launched a range of branded surfboards, priced at US$4,000+. 


Over the past two seasons, the look has picked up strength once again: Spring/Summer 2018 saw anyone from Fenty Puma and Michael Kors to Coach and Gucci<link> take inspiration from the beach-ready sport with traditional surf motifs, silhouettes and loungey, stretchy fabrics. Louis Vuitton went as far as hosting traveling pop-ups in surf spots Miami and Honolulu to showcase its men’s range, and flaunted a special-edition surfboard to accompany the garments.


The trend’s omnipresence is no doubt a logical progression of fashion’s obsession with athleisure and the growing shift towards sporty, comfortable clothes embraced by shoppers and brands alike. Plus, it’s fun – another aspect that seems to have become the industry’s favourite buzzword these days. Call it a new wave of dressing.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

时尚浪花 激烈四溅

每逢时装季展,巴黎、纽约、米兰及伦敦都会各施奇技,展现千姿百态的风格和意景。去年秋季,2019春夏四大时装周不约而同推出洋溢加州阳光气息的设计,模特走在台上,彷佛在海滨小镇散步。


由知名大牌子到新兴小品牌,春夏时尚盛载海岸风情,扎染、潜水布、热带图案及鲨鱼印花,让人置身阳光明媚的午后,享受沙滩漫步的写意。冲浪风尚席卷而来,值得炫耀。


Raf Simons乘浪而来,在纽约举行他最后一场Calvin Klein时装展。此系列灵感主要来自史蒂文斯皮尔伯格执导的1975年巨作《大白鲨》,Raf设计了别出心裁的潜水衣,把上身布料反过来挂在腰间,可以展示吸睛的艺术印花,他还将航海器材打造成前卫配件,系列亦有印花无袖上衣和短袖上衣,把大导演的经典海报变成时尚的一部分。

Spring Summer 2019's surfer trend, as seen on the runways at Prada (left) and Proenza Schouler (right)
Proenza Schouler和Prada率领2019春夏冲浪风尚走秀

Proenza Schouler亦从扎染入手,以巧妙设计打造细腻高贵的春夏系列,而Michael Kors和Anna Sui则拥抱人称冲浪之乡的夏威夷风情,在泳衣、渔夫帽和沙滩裤上铺满热带印花。


在米兰,Prada悉心演绎冲浪主题,带来更多扎染印花设计、酷似潜水衣的印花上衣,以及防晒冲浪板袜。Etro不单让模特在台上散发冲浪少女魅力,其中更有两位是名副其实的滑浪好手,呈献清爽飘逸的波希米亚系列——“Pacific Zen”。


MSGM把扎染融入超长针织衣物,并配以夺目的朋克色系,以现代狂野扭转这种传统染色技法。


经典滑浪电影《极盗者》明显是Sportmax春夏系列的灵感来源,每一件新作都有相关典故:极富个性的冲浪服装配搭贝壳脚链、以拉绳为褶裥饰边的尼龙长裙、宽敞西装外套下的比坚尼、懒洋洋的拖鞋和大背包、无可否认地不切实际的皮革沙滩裤,以及潜水衣设计的T恤。


另一时尚名牌Dior在巴黎推出春夏新装,以雪洗花纹和工艺扎染打造美丽服饰,强调冲浪女士的甜美与前卫,但又显得随意自然。


不少时装新贵亦蜂拥而上,带来各自的冲浪风尚:新兴设计师Marine Serre举行第二次时装展,以实用的运动美感为目标,成就春夏潜水衣和潜水物料制成的连身衣系列,当然还有那套令人叹为观止的潜水衣晚装,长裙下摆一层又一层褶边特别引人注目。Rejina Pyo在伦敦以粉色热带图案和亮丽萤光绿色的短袖上衣作主打,而Richard Malone则推出一系列以长袖防晒衣为灵感的上衣。


其实时装界对冲浪生活文化的着迷,亦非一朝一夕的事。自从冲浪于50年代兴起,专业冲浪手希望展示前卫且无拘无束的生活态度,因而开始追求美感与功能并重的水陆装束,从此结下两者的不解之缘,让时装与乘浪者数十年以来不时交错。于50年代初期,美国商人Jack O’Neill率先推出首批潜水衣,以颜色鲜艳的合成橡胶发泡体为材料,加上条纹设计、牛仔裤甚至量身定制的泳裤,一同揭开当年的冲浪时装序幕。总部在旧金山的Sundek始于1958年,为世上首家冲浪服饰品牌,它的出现进一步确立冲浪在时装设计的特别影响。


在短短数年间,荷里活电影如《无尽之夏》、《伟大的星期三》及《狂野冲浪骑士》大行其道,令冲浪广受大众欢迎,推而广之,影响力之大可媲美高级成衣(Ready-to-wear)潮流。

Surf style has been kept in the public consciousness by popular films over the years
《狗镇之主》(左)和《碧海娇娃》(右)等电影亦助冲浪时尚维持数十年依然不朽

到了60年代,冲浪时尚换上鲜艳的颜色,并以纤幼剪影为主调。十年之后,它又改以刺眼的酸性色调作招徕,在80年代则流行大型商标的设计,而90年代到千禧年代早期,又钟情宽松的剪裁(《狗镇之主》和《碧海娇娃》等电影便完美捕捉了冲浪时尚的后期发展)。


时尚吸纳了冲浪的代表美感,并将之融会贯通,变成一种“高街时尚”,其中以夏威夷印花最受欢迎,自50年代起便十分流行,时至现在仍是Zara、Topshop和H&M的热卖款式。当然,冲浪风格亦成功晋身高级时装世界,成为Proenza Schouler、Hedi Slimane和Raf Simons等设计师的宠儿,造就过去30年来多个冲浪服装系列。冲浪的魅力势不可挡,就连经典品牌Chanel亦于2010年推出价值4,000美元以上的名牌冲浪板系列。


冲浪造型又在过去两季兴起:在2018春夏时装舞台上,Fenty Puma、Michael Kors、Coach和Gucci纷纷投奔海岸,以传统冲浪图案和贴身剪影,配搭舒适又有弹性的布料。Louis Vuitton更大胆破格,现身迈阿密和火奴鲁鲁两个冲浪胜地,设立期间限定店展示旗下男装衣品,更同场炫耀一块特别版冲浪板,与衣物相映成趣。


冲浪时尚无处不在,无疑反映时装界对休闲运动风格的热爱越发深厚,而群众以至各大品牌亦愈来愈喜欢舒适至上的运动服装。此外,这种风尚十分好玩——“好玩”已经成为时装界近日最爱的词汇。穿搭新浪潮,早就掀起。

关闭