This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image
Shoes have the power to crystallise the moment in fashion – they can be sexually provocative, outrageously glamorous and exist as pure folly and fantasy that continually trumps more functional concerns. Shoes can send messages and tell stories. This season, shoemakers have been diving into their wildest dreams and gliding through the contemporary zeitgeist to conjure up styles that speak of female empowerment, unadulterated exuberance and cult-worthy cool.
Available exclusively at Pacific Place, Roger Vivier’s bejewelled heeled mules let beauty blossom from the feet up
Available exclusively at Pacific Place, Roger Vivier’s bejewelled heeled mules let beauty blossom from the feet up

Spirit of the age


As the V&A Museum’s enlightening show Shoes: Pleasure and Pain opens, the reading and understanding of footwear will become ever more nuanced. The exhibition surveys the triumphs in footwear design through the centuries, underlining how shoes can speak volumes not only about the wearer but about the times we live in. The ever-changing mode for heel heights, toe shapes, decorative effects and materials shows how the shoe has become the number one messenger of fashion, as well as a harbinger of the times ahead. Throughout the centuries, shoes not only came to be seen as adornment for the feet but have been interpreted as a cipher for fashion, an object of dreaming as well as a barometer of women’s evolving roles.


As Vogue wrote in 1920, ‘And how expressive of character is our footwear! Watching the feet go by, one may learn almost as much as by looking in the faces of their wearers. Women have always understood the importance of shoes.’ From cowboy boots to flower-like Cinderella heels and wild animal prints, shoes’ expression today concerns individuality, adventure, hybridisation and cultural collision.

Today the cowboy boot represents adventure, and that mood is neatly summed up in Fendi’s glazed logo-motif pair
Today the cowboy boot represents adventure, and that mood is neatly summed up in Fendi’s glazed logo-motif pair

These boots are made for everything


Never a winter goes by without a slew of new boots. The difference now is that they’ve been conceived as all-day and all-night wear, fashioned to go with midi skirts and pants as well as the new thigh-skimming, 80s-charged cocktail dress. Boots are full of mastery and mischief. Take Dior’s patchwork boot. While Roger Vivier fashioned Christian Dior’s footwear during the heyday of couture in the 1950s, Maria Grazia Chiuri is putting her own stamp on designs. Patchwork speaks of women’s stories and the beauty in stitching together remnants and memories. 


The cowboy boot is also out in force not witnessed since the iconic style first appeared in the 1970s. Back then, fashion took to exploring ethnic tropes in step with a more liberal, bohemian society. Today the cowboy boot still represents adventure, and that mood is neatly summed up in Fendi’s glazed logo-motif pair that boasts an architectural cut-out wooden heel. At Chloe, Natacha Ramsay -Levi  seizes the bohemian spirit in her tapestry and top-stitched hiking boot that boasts high function and artistry. For Clare Waight Keller at Givenchy, purism is a driving force and that’s summed up in a side zipper wrap over a mid-calf boot that’s the ideal marriage with midi-length hems.

As seen at Dior this season, patchwork speaks of women’s stories and the beauty of stitching together remnants and memories
As seen at Dior this season, patchwork speaks of women’s stories and the beauty of stitching together remnants and memories

Boots have always represented rebellion, with tribes adopting their own symbolic styles. Hippies championed suede desert boots, 1980s new romantics sported Westwood’s pirate styles while the punk movement took on the industrial Dr. Martens. At Saint Laurent you’ll find a cultish recalibration of the glam rock platform, this season fashioned in leopard print and fastened with an ankle buckle. While on the surface it appears that every shoe style has been achieved in the 21st century, hybridisation gives way to a whole new genre of shoes. Try Olivier Rousteing’s Diane heel at Balmain that segues between a hiking boot and a heeled sandal.


Head turners


Heels can often do the talking for you. They’re icebreakers and head turners in our frenetic life. Miuccia Prada’s motif is a fierce flame that’s seen to burst from the thin edge of a patent-leather wedge. These heels give you the thrill of excitement that is the driving motive of fashion. With advances in technology, we can now balance on impossible-looking structures like Zanotti’s silver thunderbolt heel that transforms a classic heeled pump into a totem. At Balenciaga, a severely pointed toe gives a new witchy character to a conformist ‘cute’ kitten-heel slingback.

Polka-dot mesh and a deep V-shaped vamp turn Jimmy Choo’s pumps into decadent objects of desire
Polka-dot mesh and a deep V-shaped vamp turn Jimmy Choo’s pumps into decadent objects of desire

Beyond passing trends, what endures is the celebration of the transformative power of the shoe. Cinderella’s delicate slipper is just one of a family of styles that encompasses dance and ballet pumps, court shoes, strappy sandals and thigh-high ‘Prince Charming’ boots. The imaginative prowess, the richness of materials and the decorative flair are hallmarks of the Cinderella shoe that is a classic in the lexicon of footwear. Beautiful polka-dot mesh and a deep V-shaped vamp turn Jimmy Choo’s pumps into decadent objects of desire; intricate floral-motif cut-outs on Gucci’s design remind us that there’s beauty to be found everywhere. But one of the most exuberant designs of the season is Miu Miu’s pink satin and crystal confection that embraces the wearer as if she’s just stepped into a full-blooming flower. What better declaration of the love between a woman and her shoes?


Harriet Quick is a style writer and former fashion features director at British Vogue. She is the author of Vogue The Shoe

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

鞋履往往能夠抓住目光,成為時尚焦點,其設計可以性感誘人、華麗浮誇、荒誕離奇。現在我們不再只著眼於鞋子的功能,還重視它們所傳達的信息和故事。今季,一眾鞋匠發揮無窮創意、擁抱現代思潮,大施魔法設計極盡奢華和時尚非凡的新鞋,透過不同造型展現女性力量。

Available exclusively at Pacific Place, Roger Vivier’s bejewelled heeled mules let beauty blossom from the feet up
太古廣場獨家發售,Roger Vivier的踝跟鞋以珠寶裝飾,盡展雙腳美態

時代精神


維多利亞與艾伯特博物館的《鞋履:樂與苦展覽》精彩絕倫,自展覽開幕後,大家對鞋履的認識可謂透徹入微,因為場內展出多個世紀以來的傳奇鞋履,它們不僅能夠展現穿鞋者的品味,還能反映他們所身處的時代,可見鞋履的地位舉足輕重。鞋履的設計方法非常多變,鞋跟高度、鞋頭形狀、裝飾配件和製作物料均有層出不窮的選擇,難怪鞋履一直穩居時尚指標之首,帶領潮流。從古至今,鞋履不但能修飾雙腳、展現時尚品味和天馬行空的創意,還能反映女性角色的演變。


正如《Vogue》於1920年寫道:「鞋履盡展個性!看著一個人穿什麼鞋子,幾乎等於看著穿鞋者臉上的表情,而女性早已明白鞋履的地位何等重要。」由牛仔靴到華麗的Cinderella高跟鞋,再到印有野性動物紋的鞋款,現今鞋履設計更重視個人特色、大膽創新、多元混合和文化碰撞。

Today the cowboy boot represents adventure, and that mood is neatly summed up in Fendi’s glazed logo-motif pair
今天,牛仔靴仍是大膽豪邁的象徵,而這股冒險精神在這雙印滿Fendi標誌的靴子上表露無遺

百搭靴子 造型多變


每年冬季都有大量新靴推出,近年靴子更被視為日夜皆宜的鞋款,不但可搭配及膝裙子和褲子,更是仿80年代晚裝迷你裙的絕配。靴子能展現個人特色和玩味風格,看看時尚品牌Dior的拼布靴子就知道。1950年代,服裝設計大行其道,有大師級鞋匠Roger Vivier為Dior設計新款鞋履;今年則有Dior創意總監Maria Grazia Chiuri操刀,並於設計加入她的個人特色,以拼布靴子細說女性故事,帶出舊物和回憶的美麗一面。


牛仔靴的經典造型於1970年代首度面世後,今季再次傾巢而出。當年,時裝界積極探索民族風格,跟較為開明和不羈的波希米亞社會與時並進。時至今天,牛仔靴仍是大膽豪邁的象徵,而這股冒險精神在這雙印滿Fendi標誌的靴子上表露無遺,並以形狀獨特的木製鞋跟襯托。至於時尚品牌Chloe,其設計師Natacha Ramsay-Levi以波希米亞風情為主題,設計以明線縫製的綁帶風格織綿高跟靴,耐穿之餘亦不失美感。另一知名品牌Givenchy的設計師Clare Waight Keller則以純粹主義為靈感,精心製作側邊設有拉鏈的中筒靴,襯上及膝裙子就很完美。

As seen at Dior this season, patchwork speaks of women’s stories and the beauty of stitching together remnants and memories
今季,Dior以拼布靴子細說女性故事,帶出舊物和回憶的美麗一面

靴子向來是叛逆的象徵,不同族群更於設計融入各自的特色風格,非常多元化,像是嬉皮士熱愛的麂皮沙漠靴、1980年代新浪漫主義興起的Westwood海盜靴,還有因龐克文化而流行的Dr. Martens工業風靴子。時裝品牌Saint Laurent為「華麗搖滾」風情的厚底靴添上野性一面,於今季推出豹紋踝帶扣短靴。儘管表面上,各款靴子在21世紀似乎已經廣為人知,文化融合卻帶來一系列嶄新鞋款。以Olivier Rousteing為Balmain創作的Diane高跟鞋為例,設計完美結合綁帶行山靴和高跟涼鞋的特色。


矚目高跟鞋


現代人生活忙碌,引人好奇和注目的高跟鞋常為女性「代言」,幫助她們展現個性。設計師Miuccia Prada以烈火為主題,創作火焰剪裁的漆皮鞋尾,其亮眼設計讓人看著已興奮,而這股熱情也是設計時尚鞋履的推動力。隨著科技不斷進步,脫離正常鞋履外型的鞋子不再是天方夜譚,像是著名鞋履品牌Zanotti巧妙將經典的G字鞋跟換成「閃電」造型,推出新款銀色高跟鞋。至於巴黎世家的大熱踝跟鞋,尖頭設計盡顯鋒芒,名字可愛的「貓跟」造型則樸素簡約。

Polka-dot mesh and a deep V-shaped vamp turn Jimmy Choo’s pumps into decadent objects of desire
Jimmy Choo的高跟鞋廣受追捧,鞋身以圓點紗網裝飾,鞋口則以V字設計,華麗不凡

雖然時尚熱潮會過時,但鞋履設計成功隨歲月改變。多年來,鞋款不斷推陳出新,像是Cinderella精緻玻璃鞋、低跟跳舞鞋、半高跟鞋、綁帶涼鞋和Prince Charming過膝長靴等等。在鞋履世界,Cinderella玻璃鞋是經典代表作,設計富想像力、用料華麗和裝飾巧妙。今季,有廣受追捧的Jimmy Choo高跟鞋,鞋身以圓點紗網裝飾,鞋口則以V字設計,華麗不凡。Gucci的花卉剪裁設計精細好看,在在提醒我們,美麗元素可以來自任何角落。另外,今季Miu Miu推出的新鞋也相當矚目,粉紅緞面鞋身配以水晶裝飾,活力四射,穿上這雙鞋子有如置身繁花世界。也許這是女性對鞋履情有獨鍾的最佳解說吧?


Harriet Quick是時裝作家,曾擔任英國版《Vogue》時裝專題總監,其著作有《Vogue The Shoe》

關閉