This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

‘Kiiimmm! Kiimmm! Kiimmm!’ The crowds shrieked outside the Prada show as Kim Kardashian — the ultimate avatar of bodycon dressing — swanned past in an oversized nappa leather boiler suit from the brand’s men’s collection. That she wore the look open to the waist down, flashing skin and a black triangle-logo bra, only added to the spectacle.

Models wearing genderless fashions available at Pacific Place
Left: Instagram.com/kimkardashian

It was a moment that confirmed what had been brewing in fashion: that gender-neutral style had fully arrived. At the Autumn/Winter 2022 collections, insiders and influencers converged en masse in androgynous, oversized outerwear, boxy tailoring, clunky footwear, sweater vests or tracksuits. Think Annie Hall 2.0, runway edition.


This season, Louis Vuitton led the way with a knockout collection that might just put ties back on the map… for young women. Squid Game star Hoyeon Jung opened the show wearing loose-fitting striped trousers, a leather jacket and a floral printed tie. It was a decidedly mannish look, save for the star’s long, flowing locks, setting the scene for a series of gender-bending, bold-shouldered suits and bomber jackets. Dresses were styled with sporty rugby shirts, reminiscent of how a young co-ed might raid her boyfriend’s closet.

A model wearing genderless fashions available at Pacific Place

In Milan, Prada co-creative directors Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons took the masculine work uniform of blazer, crew neck wool sweater and mashed it up with artful, deconstructed evening skirts in unexpected textures like silk, leather and paillettes. Fall’s key trend item — the oversized bomber or boxy coat — also made an appearance, subversively festooned with a shock of feathers. 

Miuccia took the gender blurring one step further for her Miu Miu collection, sending out six ‘men’s’ looks that complemented the micro-mini sets from Spring that were all the rage. The sets, now updated with a tennis vibe, were shown alongside items borrowed from the boys: argyle sweaters, roomy shearling jackets, penny loafers and boots.


Gucci’s Alessandro Michele, who’s been at the vanguard of non-binary fashion since his debut at the brand, pivoted to tailoring as the way forward. He may have opened with a sober navy double-breasted number, but he quickly piled on with more outré suiting, sending out velvet tuxedos with crystal detailing and sequins on him, corduroy and plaid suiting with ties on her. A collab with adidas rounded out the collection with athleisure-inspired dresses and tracksuit drag.

Models wearing genderless fashions available at Pacific Place

Fashion’s current Victor/Victoria moment, however, has a long history. The movement began in the 1920s, when Coco Chanel started using men’s pieces in her designs and her own attire. Screen siren Marlene Dietrich pushed the boundaries with her louche, tailored androgyny and stylised men’s drag (dubbed the ‘Dietrich silhouette’). The Second World War years only accelerated the trend, with women filling men’s roles in the workforce.


After a brief return to heavily gendered fashions in the 1950s, with nipped-in waists and full skirts popularised by Dior’s ‘New Look’, the youth quake and sexual revolution of the 1960s and 1970s blurred the lines once again. Yves Saint Laurent introduced ‘le smoking’ (or the tuxedo for women), along with other totems of men’s style: gangster pinstripes, safari khaki, peacoats and trench coats. Pierre Cardin and Courrèges espoused ‘space age’ unisex silhouettes, with graphic patterns and synthetic fabrics. Halston found fame and fortune with his Ultrasuede shirt dress. By the 1980s, Comme des Garçons and Yohji Yamamoto pioneered new ground with deconstructed collections and shapes that spoke to both genders.

CK One advertisement by Steven Meisel
Image by Steven Meisel

A decade later, Calvin Klein launched his revolutionary CK One fragrance, marketed to both genders. The unisex fragrance was a precursor to powerhouse Jo Malone’s gender-agnostic scents or boutique, cult favorites like Maison Francis Kurkdjian, whose unisex Oud and Baccarat are winning new fans. ‘Like a unisex wardrobe, these masculine/feminine fragrances garb the body with their scent trail,’ said the famous ‘nose’, who created scents for major designers before establishing his own maison. To him, they are to be ‘shared with your other’.

So, what’s driving today’s resurgence of gender-neutral styles? For starters, there’s the rise of streetwear and sneaker culture, which injected creative mojo and masculine styling to women’s wear. At the same time, couples in Korea and beyond took the concept of twinning to another level with matching fashions that brought unisex concepts to the fore.


But most notably, Gen Z came of age, along with demands for inclusivity and gender fluidity in fashion. From high street to high fashion, sustainable, ethical and unisex brands are being embraced by a new generation. In fact, gender-neutral store The Phluid Project has reported that 56 per cent of Gen Z consumers have purchased items outside their gender.

Models wearing genderless fashions available at Pacific Place
Left image: Instagram.com/pangaia. Right image: Instagram.com/aimeleondore

Wherever you stand on the spectrum, though, the reality is today’s trend towards oversized blazers and coats, slouchy trousers, chunky footwear, boots or fragrance hits all the right notes. Retro 80s/90s vibes? Check. Comfort? Check. Inclusivity? Double check, as the proportions are forgiving for most bodies. It’s about individual style, with everything fair game — including your boyfriend’s closet.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

打破性別框架的時裝

「Kim!Kim!Kim!」Prada時裝展場外的人群在尖叫,全因平日愛穿緊身服、盡顯曲線美的Kim Kardashian,身穿Prada男裝系列的特大碼nappa皮革連身褲現身,露出胸口,深V低至腰間;肌膚透光迷人,露出附有品牌三角標誌的黑色胸罩,加倍衝擊觀眾的視覺。

左圖:Instagram.com/kimkardashian

這一刻引證了時裝界正在醞釀一個新趨勢──中性風格已經來臨。在2022年秋冬新品的發布會上,時裝界人士和網紅紛紛穿上中性的超大碼外套,四四方方的剪裁,搭配厚底鞋、針織背心或運動服,猶如70年代電影主角Annie Hall現身時裝展。


今季Louis Vuitton引領潮流,推出引人注目的系列,可能會讓領帶再次成為時尚焦點…打進年輕女性市場。《魷魚游戲》女主角鄭浩妍 為時裝展打頭陣,穿著鬆身間條長褲及皮褸,配花卉圖案領帶。這一身顯然是男性造型,鄭浩妍卻把一頭飄逸長髮放下來,成就中性時尚的舞台,凸顯肩膀輪廓的西裝及飛行員外套(bomber jacket)將大放異彩。連身裙搭配運動風欖球衣,讓人聯想到年輕女學生從男朋友的衣櫃翻找衣服。

在米蘭, Prada的聯合創意總監Miuccia Prada及Raf Simons運用絲綢、皮革和亮片等意想不到的材質,將男性化的工作制服——西裝外套及圓領羊毛衫,與巧妙的拼接晚禮服混合在一起。同場亦可見今秋的主要潮流單品——特大碼的飛行員外套或寬鬆大褸,採用了羽毛作裝飾,顛覆傳統。

Miuccia在她的Miu Miu系列中進一步模糊了性別,她推出了六款「男裝」,襯托與今個春季風靡一時的迷你套裝。現在這些套裝加入了從男裝借來的元素——菱格毛衣、寬鬆的初剪羊毛大衣、便士樂福鞋和靴子,煥新注入網球風格。


Gucci的Alessandro Michele自首次發表品牌作品後,一直都是非二元時尚的先鋒,革新了剪裁的未來方向。率先登場的是樸素的深藍色雙排扣禮服,大量outré套裝緊接登場;男模特兒穿上飾有水晶及亮片的天鵝絨燕尾服,而女模特兒則穿上燈芯絨格子西裝配領帶。最後,由品牌與adidas合作的運動休閒連身裙及運動服系列畫上圓滿的句號。

然而,時尚界打破性別界限的趨勢歷史悠久。該運動始於20世紀20年代,當時Coco Chanel開始在自己的設計加入男性單品,她自身的穿著亦然。美女演員Marlene Dietrich以反傳統、雙性剪裁的男式女裝風格,將時裝性別界限推向極致。而在二次世界大戰期間,隨著女性在勞動市場取代了男性,進一步加快這趨勢。


20世紀50年代,性別分明的時尚潮流短暫重現,Dior的「新造型」掀起了束腰長裙的風潮,後來在60年代及70年代,種種青年活動所帶來的震撼,以及性革命,再次模糊了性別界限。Yves Saint Laurent推出了女性燕尾服(le smoking),以及一連串男性風格的象徵──黑幫條紋、遊獵風卡其布、海軍外套及雙排扣大褸。Pierre Cardin和Courrèges支持太空時代的中性剪裁,配以圖形圖案和合成面料。Halston因他的麂皮絨襯衫裙而聲名鵲起。到了80年代,Comme des Garçons山本耀司通過拼接系列及造型開闢了新的領域,與兩性對話。

圖:Steven Meisel

十年後,Calvin Klein推出了革命性的CK One香水,同時面向男女市場。這款中性香水作為先驅,推動了Jo Malone推出無分性別的香水或時裝、時裝寵兒Maison Francis Kurkdjian推出Oud及Baccarat中性香水,贏得新的支持者。這位著名香水設計師表示:「如同中性服裝一樣,這些男性/女性香水的氣味痕跡包覆全身。」在建立自家香水品牌前,他曾為知名設計師設計香水。他認為這些香水「能與另一半共享」。

那今時今日的中性風格受什麼驅動而復興呢?首先,街頭服飾和運動鞋文化的興起,為女性服裝注入了創意和陽剛的風格。與此同時,韓國,以至全世界將情侶裝的概念昇華,因此男女皆宜的概念引入了時尚潮流。


但最值得注目的是,Z世代成長了,對時裝的包容性和性別流動性有所要求。從購物街到高級時裝,可持續發展及合乎道德的的中性品牌受到新一代人的追捧。事實上,無性別商店The Phluid Project指出56%的Z世代消費者曾購買自己性別以外的商品。

左圖:Instagram.com/pangaia。右圖:Instagram.com/aimeleondore

然而,無論從哪個角度看,事實是現時特大碼的西裝外套和大褸、休閒褲子、厚底鞋、靴子或香水都大行其道。復古80或90年代風?有;講求舒適?對;講求多樣?一定要,因為服裝的尺寸比例符合大部分人。重點在於個人風格,以及一切講求公平,你男朋友的衣櫃也不例外。

類型

關閉