This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Sunday Lunch: Bobsy Gaia

The first time I met Bobsy Gaia was around 25 years ago, at my high-school assembly, when he presented me with a prize for participating in an art competition, designing a mural on Lamma Island with the message of keeping Lamma clean and beautiful. Already at that point, Bobsy had long been campaigning for environmental causes in Hong Kong.


As we sat down for lunch at MANA! Starstreet over The Shakti Flatzza, a millet-based flatbread ‘pizza’ base topped with vegan mozzarella, roasted cherry tomatoes, Portobello mushrooms, rocket and chipotle barbecue sauce, Bobsy retold stories about his life and work in Hong Kong that has culminated in MANA!

Janice Leung Hayes interviews Bobsy Gaia at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
Bobsy Gaia, founder of MANA! and several other environmental initiatives, speaks over lunch with Janice Leung Hayes

Arriving in Hong Kong in 1992, after a stint in Bangkok where he founded an eco-fashion business, Bobsy immediately felt at home. ‘It’s my destiny to be here,’ he says. ‘You know it’s destiny when you go somewhere and it feels so right. There’s no resistance, there’s no friction, and all the signs indicate that you’re on the right track. I felt exactly that way when I came to Hong Kong. I came with no money, no family, nothing. I came down here and it just felt right and flowed beautifully. There was never a moment of doubt.’


He felt an affinity with Lamma’s community (‘hippies, or people with alternative lifestyles,’ he explains) and moved there shortly after arriving in Hong Kong. In 1997, he founded ABLE Charity with the goal of re-zoning a forest in the northern hills of Lamma as conservation land, and soon after, also started Bookworm Cafe, a vegetarian cafe on Lamma — his first foray into hospitality. ‘I realised that food was going to be a lot more powerful than eco-fashion and campaigning,’ he says.

Shakti Flatzza at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
The Shakti Flatzza exemplifies the type of eco-conscious eating advocated by MANA!

His own journey towards the kind of plant-based eating that MANA! advocates came just under a decade before that. ‘I underwent what you might call a metanoia, a shift in consciousness: I had an awakening and I realised that the way humanity is living is not sustainable, and is in fact destructive, and it’s a question of time before we change our ways,’ he says. ‘I can’t be eating meat and planting trees, it’s just not compatible.’


As I sipped on my oat milk teeccino (a caffeine-free coffee alternative), Bobsy tells me that when he began this journey, he was vegetarian rather than vegan, as less research had been uncovered about the environmental and ethical issues related to non-meat animal products, such as dairy. ‘Back in the late eighties, early nineties, my vocabulary didn’t include “sustainability” and “eco-fashion”. We used to say “environmentally friendly”. The whole lexicon around this movement is not mature as it is today. This is how we grow — one idea at a time, one insight at a time.’


When you ask younger generations if they’re plant-based, Bobsy says, ‘They’re going “Duh, you might as well ask me if I have slaves”. It’s coming. Change is happening whether we want it or not, so the sooner we become aware of it, and the sooner we become aware of the necessity for change, the sooner our ride becomes a lot more comfortable, enjoyable, inspirational.’

MANA!'s spacious venue at Starstreet Precinct
MANA!’s large space in Starstreet Precinct allows it to express its ideas in full, according to Bobsy

It’s this amplification of ideas that’s at the core of what MANA!, and Bobsy himself, does. ‘I’ve found Mana to be a huge vehicle for inspiration. From the music we play to the incense we burn, how we express ourselves is all about raising awareness, through a gentler, kinder, more compassionate, feminine way of living,’ he says. ‘The word “mana” means “qi” or “prana” — life force. “Ma” in mana is the root of the word mother in all languages. Hong Kong is a very masculine city, but there’s a growing awareness about the rise of the feminine, the yin in yin and yang.’


Being part of the community in Starstreet Precinct was an important turning point for MANA!, and apart from ‘a sense of community and aesthetics’ in the Precinct, Bobsy says, ‘We have a much bigger space. This is the first time we’ve had the space and knowledge to be able to express what we’re about, not just for the yoga crew, or the hippy crew, but for everyone. Finally there’s room for state-of-the-art composting and recycling bins. This is a bigger expression of what MANA! deserves.’

Various plant-based foods at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
Healthy, tasty flatbreads and wraps with plant-based ingredients are a major part of MANA!’s menu

In Save The Human! Don’t Eat the Planet!, a short documentary made by Will Senn Lau and Bobsy in 2008, the sentences ‘Change Your Diet!! Don’t Change The Climate!!’ appear. This idea, more than a decade later, has since become one of MANA!’s core messages, or mantras: ‘Diet Change Not Climate Change’. This is just one example of how Bobsy’s messages of awareness often snowball and reappear, years down the line.


‘MANA! will have a momentum and destiny of its own that’s bigger than me, there’s no doubt about it,’ Bobsy says. ‘It must be shared. Positivity is contagious.’

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

周日午餐:Bobsy Gaia

约25年前,我第一次和Bobsy Gaia相遇。当时他在高中周会上向我颁发美术比赛参与奖,比赛内容是在南丫岛设计以保持环境干净美丽为题的壁画。那个时候,Bobsy已经在香港推动环保事务多年。


我们在星街小区MANA!共进午餐,点了一份Shakti Flatzza。这是一款素菜薄饼,薄饼以杂谷制成,配菜为纯素水牛奶酪、烤车厘茄、褐菇、芝麻菜,再淋上烟熏辣椒烧烤酱。美食当前,Bobsy开始把他在香港生活和工作的经历娓娓道来,以及关于他创立MANA!的心路历程。

Janice Leung Hayes interviews Bobsy Gaia at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
Bobsy Gaia是MANA!及其他几间环保企业的创始人,他和Janice Leung Hayes一边享用午餐一边倾谈

Bobsy结束于曼谷的环保时装业务后,于1992年来到香港,马上觉得自己属于这里。“我命中注定要来香港。”他说。“当你去到一个地方,感觉特别自在,心里没有抵触、没有磨擦,一切都告诉你这是正确的方向,那就是你的命运。我刚到香港时就有这种感受。当时我身无分文,也没有家人,可是感觉如鱼得水,日子过得很舒服,从来没有一刻犹豫。”


他和南丫社区特别投契(“他们是嬉皮士,生活方式与众不同。”他解释说),抵港后很快便搬到岛上。1997年,他创立了ABLE Charity,目标是在南丫岛北部山丘重新规划一片树林以作保育用途,之后又开办素食咖啡店Bookworm Cafe,首次涉猎餐饮服务。“我发现食物的作用比起时装和环保运动更大。”他说。

Shakti Flatzza at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
MANA!的Shakti Flatzza正好代表品牌提倡的环保饮食

早于十年左右前,他便奉行以植物为主的饮食习惯,这亦是MANA!的主张。“当时我觉悟了:人类的生活方式并非可持续的模式,而且对于环境造成极大破坏,改变生活方式只是时间的问题。”他说。“我不能一边吃肉一边种树,两件事本来就是违和的。”


我细味我的泡沫燕麦奶茶(它是没有咖啡因的咖啡替代品),倾听Bobsy的故事。一开始,他只是素食主义者而非纯素主义者,因为当时相对缺少讨论非肉类动物产品如奶类制品环保及道德问题的研究。“在80年代后期至90年代初期,我的词汇里没有‘可持续性’或‘环保时装’等字眼,我们当时提及的‘环保’概念和运动,也远不如今时今日成熟。这就是成长的过程,必须一步一步来,每次推行一个理念、一个见解。”


Bobsy说当问及年轻一代饮食是否以植物为本,“他们会感到诧异,觉得这个问题太荒谬。可是改变即将到来,无论我们喜不喜欢。我们越早提高意识,越早明白必须改变,就可以越快适应,并使过程更为舒服、快乐和鼓舞。”

MANA!'s spacious venue at Starstreet Precinct
MANA!星街小区分店空间宽敞,可以充分表达它的理念,Bobsy这样说

反复强调品牌理念以提高环保意识,正是MANA!和Bobsy的核心使命。“Mana对我来说是非常有力的灵感载体。由我们播放的音乐、选用的焚香,这些自我表达的方式都以提高意识为目标,并希望推广更温柔善良、富同情心且细致的生活方式。”他解说道。“‘Mana’是‘气’或‘prana’,亦即是生命之源,而Mana的‘Ma’在很多语言里是‘妈妈’的意思。香港是一个很阳刚的城市,但近年开始意识到刚柔并济的重要,越来越重视阴阳之中的阴柔力量。”


对于MANA!来说,成为星街小区一份子是一个重要的转捩点,除了感受到小区的温暖和美感,Bobsy指:“店面空间更广阔,这是我们第一次拥有足够的空间和知识,充分表达我们的信念,不单是给瑜伽爱好者或嬉皮士,而是向所有人传递。我们终于有充足空间放置最好的堆肥及回收箱,彰显MANA!应有的态度。”

Various plant-based foods at MANA! Starstreet Precinct
MANA!餐牌上主要是健康美味的薄饼和手卷,成分全部以植物为本

在Will Senn Lau和Bobsy于2008年联手制作的小型纪录片《Save The Human! Don’t Eat the Planet!》中,出现这一句口号:“改变饮食习惯!不要改变气候!”超过十年之后,这个口号成为了MANA!的核心信息兼理念:“Diet Change Not Climate Change”。这便是Bobsy其中一个蕴酿多年后成为大方向的小意念。


“MANA!的力量和使命将会超越我的存在,我对此充满信心。”Bobsy说。“我一定要把它分享开去。正能量是会感染的。”

关闭