This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Ask anyone serious about what has been summer’s – and will soon be autumn’s – must-have outfit, and they’ll have one answer: the jumpsuit.


Once associated with 70s nightclubs or the classic 80s/90s off-duty vibe of the denim overalls, the garment has been elevated to a new status – that of a closet staple both for easy day dressing and after-dark partying.


It’s easy to see why: in fashion terms, the jumpsuit is a fail-free style hit. It’s slip-on-and-forget-about-it kind of garb, can be paired with both flats and heels, requires limited add-ons – all you need are some solid accessories like earrings or necklaces – and cuts prep time in half because of its sartorial effortlessness. Given the fast-paced lives many of us lead, that’s gold.


Such laid-back appeal has characterised the jumpsuit since it was first invented in 1919 by the Florentine artist Thayaht, who wanted to create a garment both rebellious and liberating as an antidote to bourgeois clothing. Through the decades, the item has found its way from factory workers (both men and women) to fashion’s upper echelons – Italian designer Elsa Schiaparelli was one of the first to think of the jumpsuit as a women’s garment in the 1930s, followed by Coco Chanel. Hollywood adopted it as early as the 50s, when Kim Novak sported a louche, one-shoulder jumpsuit in the movie Bell, Book and Candle, and later confirmed its panache with Farrah Fawcett’s deep-V silky emerald-green jumpsuit in Charlie’s Angels, one of the garment’s most iconic iterations.

Left: Diana Ross jumps for joy in a nautically inspired jumpsuit. Right: David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust, by Masayoshi Sukita. © Sukita/The David Bowie Archive
Left: Diana Ross jumps for joy in a nautically inspired jumpsuit. Right: David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust, by Masayoshi Sukita. © Sukita/The David Bowie Archive

Pop culture, too, embraced the jumpsuit, from David Bowie to Mick Jagger and Diana Ross, injecting it with attitude and a touch of glam. The disco-diva styles of the 70s and 80s showed flared bottoms and plunging necklines, best accessorised with platform shoes and loud jewellery. It wasn’t a look for everyone: the outfit came to be considered mostly as something that only fashion-forward, out-there people would wear.


To that end, the baggy overalls of the mid- and late 90s were almost an anti-response to the garishness of the previous decades – and marked the decline of the jumpsuit as a ‘serious’ fashion trend.


Or so it was until 2009. That year, both Phoebe Philo and Stella McCartney rocked jumpsuits to the British Fashion Awards, giving it back its glossier edge. Celebrities followed suit – from Jennifer Lawrence in a Dior Haute Couture jumpsuit at Cannes Film Festival in 2014 to Sandra Bullock in a striking all-in-one by Zuhair Murad at this year’s Ocean’s 8 premiere in London.


In the intervening years, jumpsuits – or, as their workwear version is often referred to, boiler suits – have become everyone’s favourite item, and just about any retailer’s most popular pieces, from high-end names to fast-fashion labels to boutique designers. Several labels, from Whistles to Zara and Theory, even list them as their own section on their websites.


Our renewed obsession with all things 70s – just think of Gucci and Prada’s latest collections – has certainly helped revive the trend. But the easiness of the garment and the utilitarian-chic vibe it exudes are what’s made it jump (pun intended) back into the limelight and into our wardrobes.

Left: Model Lena Perminova takes the jumpsuit off-duty. Image by Yu Yang. Right: Diane von Furstenberg goes gilded for autumn 2018
Left: Model Lena Perminova takes the jumpsuit off-duty. Image by Yu Yang. Right: Diane von Furstenberg goes gilded for autumn 2018

New autumn versions come cropped and tapered, in block colours and loud prints. At Whistles, which even stocks a bridal number, the Victorian lace jumpsuit, they toe the line between smart and casual as in the case of the Kira spot floral silk jumpsuit, which is as cool with mules as it is dressy paired with a pair of chunky heels.


COS features a streamlined silk boiler suit with a twisted knot detail at the back that’s both fluid and super-sharp in its silhouette, but also carries a jersey number with a scoop neck and tapered cuffs perfect for lounging the weekend.


Zara spans short girly playsuits and floral, pyjama-style rompers, lacy looks and tweed ones with chain trims, to be worn with a turtleneck underneath.


Among fashion’s powerhouses, Diane Von Furstenberg has nailed the trend to perfection with a series of versatile and oh-so-urban-savvy styles, including a design with a vibrant bird pattern and flattering wrap details and a series of wide-legged looks that are a clear throwback to the 70s, and excellent options for the workplace. They can be found at Harvey Nichols next to an evening ruffle-trimmed, one-shoulder jumpsuit by Rebecca Vallance and a disco-ready sample from Boutique Moschino. The jumpsuit really does come in all shapes and styles, including the good old dungaree, as seen with Stella McCartney’s Kathy denim version, a highlight of the designer’s autumn collection.


As celebrity stylist Tanya Gill said in an interview with British Vogue earlier this year, ‘Jumpsuits are the epitome of a modern woman’s wardrobe’. She couldn’t be more right.

Category

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close
Image

今年,相信你問任何人「哪種服飾是夏季和秋季必備?」大家一定會異口同聲地說:連身褲。


連身褲以往一直是70年代夜店服裝的代表,及至80至90年代,休閒連身牛仔褲更成為風潮。來到今天,連身褲再經設計師升級改造,成為衣櫥必備服飾,無論日間上班或晚上去舞會,同樣適宜。


連身褲重回潮流的原因非常簡單:以時裝術語來說,連身褲是「不敗」造型,只要翻出一件連身褲,隨手配一雙平底鞋或高跟鞋,再加上耳環或頸鏈,已經可以奪目登場,不必配搭其他服飾,為你省卻一半配搭造型的時間。在時間就是金錢的現代社會,連身褲簡直是造型恩物。


早於1919年連身褲剛誕生時,已經洋溢濃濃的休閒風格。佛羅倫斯藝術家Thayaht當年希望設計一套既有反叛色彩,又能釋放個性的服裝,一洗當時流行的貴族服裝風格,於是設計出連身褲這種前衛服裝。數十年後,連身褲已由工廠男女工人的工作服,躍升為上流社會服飾。意大利設計師Elsa Schiaparelli就是全球首位將連身褲化為女裝的人,她在30年代推出女裝連身褲,然後Coco Chanel亦不甘後人,推出多種連身褲款式。荷里活女星也在50年代投身連身褲行列,先有金露華(Kim Novak)在《奪情記》(Bell, Book and Candle)穿的單肩露膊連身褲,再有花拉科茜(Farrah Fawcett)在當年的時裝神劇《神探俏嬌娃》中,穿上低胸真絲翡翠綠色連身褲登場,令連身褲成為當時得令的服飾。

Left: Diana Ross jumps for joy in a nautically inspired jumpsuit. Right: David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust, by Masayoshi Sukita. © Sukita/The David Bowie Archive
左:戴安娜羅絲(Diana Ross)穿上水手風連身褲,開懷踏步。右:大衛寶兒(David Bowie)演繹的Ziggy Stardust,由Masayoshi Sukita拍攝 © Sukita/The David Bowie Archive

連身褲熱潮更蔓向流行文化,大衛寶兒、Mick Jagger、Diana Ross等巨星均穿上連身褲亮相,令這種服飾成為型格代表,瞬間華麗升級。70至80年代的disco舞后連身褲更會加上喇叭褲腳剪裁和荷葉領邊,腳踏平底舞鞋,全身戴上鏘鏘作響的首飾。當然,這種造型未必符合一般人的口味,只屬當時走在潮流尖端的時尚達人尊享。


這也是連身褲在90年代中晚期漸漸式微的原因。當時的時尚風格一反過去數十年的浮誇造型,改用休閒闊身剪裁,走型格路線的連身褲自然被視為「盛裝」,漸漸在潮流中引退。


不過到了2009年,潮流又再更替,Phoebe Philo和Stella McCartney以連身褲服裝勇奪英國時裝大獎(British Fashion Awards),令連身褲再次席捲全球。無數巨星名人爭相投入這股熱潮,珍妮花羅倫斯(Jennifer Lawrence)就在2014年穿上Dior Haute Couture的連身褲,出席康城影展,巨星珊迪娜布洛(Sandra Bullock)也穿上Zuhair Murad設計的連身褲,在《盜海豪情:8美千嬌》的倫敦首映會上耀目登場。


在這些年,連身褲已經一改以往工人服的形象,搖身一變成為眾人追棒的潮服。有見及此,零售服裝品牌自然爭相推出連身褲,於是無論高級時裝品牌,或是日常服裝零售店,均可看到連身褲的蹤影。Whistles、Zara、Theory等流行零售店的網站,更為連身褲獨立開設服裝目錄,代表這種服飾已成常設主流。


與此同時,Gucci和Prada近來的新系列,不斷讓我們重投70年代的懷抱,帶動連身褲熱潮再次興起。連身褲容易配搭造型,時尚耀目,而且適合出席各種場合,更讓它成功殺出演藝圈,進入我們的日常生活。

Left: Model Lena Perminova takes the jumpsuit off-duty. Image by Yu Yang. Right: Diane von Furstenberg goes gilded for autumn 2018
左:模特兒Lena Perminova身穿休閒連身褲,照片由Yu Yang拍攝。右:時裝品牌Diane von Furstenberg的2018年秋季系列綻放璀璨光芒

今年秋季的連身褲更換上新設計,剪裁改成吊腳及窄腳,色彩奪目大膽,圖案鮮明。Whistles甚至推出婚紗連身褲,讓新娘穿上維多利亞喱士連身褲說「我願意」,品牌的Kira圓點印花真絲連身褲則巧妙平衡型格與休閒風格,既可配搭露踭鞋,展現率性一面,也可配搭粗踭高跟鞋,塑造華麗風格。


COS同樣推出剪裁俐落的真絲長褲連身褲,背部還有一個別緻的紐結,令曲線更流麗奪目。另一方面,品牌亦推出運動裝連身褲,闊圓領配搭窄袖口,最適合周末想賴在家裡時穿著。


Zara亦有推出多種連身褲,有少女風的短身連身褲及印花睡衣型連身褲,也有以喱士或花呢布製造的連身褲,配搭飾鏈為裝飾,在底下穿一件樽領上衣,即可出門。


至於設計師品牌方面,Diane Von Furstenberg亦抓緊連身褲熱潮,本季推出多種百搭和迎合都市風格的款式,其中一款更以奪目飛鳥圖案配搭裹身剪裁,展現玲瓏身段。另有一系列則採用闊腳設計,瀰漫70年代風采,最適合上班穿著。而在Harvey Nichols內,也可找到Rebecca Vallance的單肩荷葉邊連身褲,適合出席晚宴,還有Boutique Moschino的連身褲,適合在舞池一展舞技。今年的連身褲包羅各種剪裁及款式,但假如你想尋找復古的工人褲,Stella McCartney的Kathy牛仔工人褲正合你心意,而且是品牌秋季的皇牌款式,不容錯過。


猶記得時尚達人Tanya Gill今年接受英國版《Vogue》訪問時,曾說過「連身褲是現代女性不可或缺的服裝」。沒錯,這句話一點不假。

類型

關閉