This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close

New permanent installations Parade. and Running 3. by Julian Opie

24 April 2020

The unique artworks by the British artist was inspired by and designed exclusively for the Pacific Place complex.

Pacific Place is proud to showcase world-renowned artist Julian Opie’s site-specific works, Parade. and Running 3. (2020). 
 
Parade. depicts 60 colourful and dynamic characters from all walks of life as they go about their daily business. The multi-layered and dimensional metal figures are finished in glossy varnish and both delight and accompany passersby in their journey through the pedestrian link between the Mall, Three Pacific Place and Starstreet Precinct. 
 
Located along the walkway between the Shangri-La and Conrad hotels in Pacific Place, Running 3.occupies a dramatic position along a prominent raised walkway. Conceived as a continuous frieze of thirteen life-sized figures in black vinyl, Running 3. embodies the energetic dynamic of central Hong Kong.
 
Opie’s distinctive formal language is instantly recognisable and reflects his artistic preoccupation with the idea of representation and the means by which images are perceived and understood. Always exploring different techniques both contemporary and ancient, Opie plays with ways of seeing through reinterpreting the vocabulary of everyday life; his reductive style evokes both a visual and spatial experience of the world around us. Drawing influence from classical portraiture, Egyptian hieroglyphs and Japanese woodblock prints, as well as public signage, information boards and traffic signs, the artist connects the clean visual language of modern life with the fundamentals of art history.
 
The artist has commented on observing busy city crowds: 
A constant flow in both directions. Each person a mass of decisions and style and attributes with a destination and only a fleeting moment in front of me but combined, they create a constant flowing crowd. Each random person would be great to draw, better than I could ever invent.  
 
I draw using a graphic program that allows me to bend thick lines over the photograph and fill the gaps with flat colour. A gang of characters emerges, caught in mid stride, going about their business with bags or phones or cold drinks. Their random, momentary decisions became frozen into a set piece, a logo and symbol drawn in the most emphatic and generalised way I could manage while sticking to the details of what I saw. Symbols and hieroglyphs, images and road signs perform similar tasks of turning objects and people into a language that is specific enough to describe but general enough to be read. These words can be combined to form sentences just as the people combine to form crowds. Walkways and pavements turn pedestrians into lines of text, read left to right. 
 
The series of figures, created exclusively for Pacific Place by British artist Julian Opie, is the latest addition to Swire Properties’ permanent art collection, as part of the Company’s long-time support of the arts and placemaking. Inspired by and designed to engage with its community —the workers, tourists and shoppers of Pacific Place and people of Hong Kong Parade. and Running 3. is a noteworthy highlight for the Pacific Place community and beyond.
 
Visit www.julianopie.com to find out more about the artist and his works.

Stay ahead of the curve

Sign up for the latest news, promotions and events

  • newsletter_form_pic_error_message

Thank you for signing up to this newsletter.

There is error during submission, please check if the email address has been used.

Close

本網站使用Cookies來確保您獲得我們網站上的最佳體驗。瀏覽更多
返回 目錄 Close

朱利安・奧培全新永久藝術裝置Parade. 及Running 3.

2020年4月24日

英國藝術家朱利安・奧培從太古廣場汲取靈感,為太古廣場帶來獨一無二的創作。

太古廣場榮譽呈獻世界知名藝術家朱利安・奧培的場域特定作品 —— Parade. 及Running 3. (2020)。

 

Parade. 反映60個色彩繽紛又活力非凡的人物,他們有各自的身分和性格,一起經過隧道並走向各自的日常。人物肖象以層層金屬組成,表面塗上光漆,極富立體感。他們在行人隧道內形成長長的人群,陪伴途人走過連結太古廣場、金鐘及星街的地下行人隧道,並帶來驚喜和趣味。

 

Running 3. 位於太古廣場內連接香格里拉大酒店及港麗酒店之間的行人通道, 13幅巨大的人物肖像,以粗厚的黑線勾勒簡練的輪廓形象,接續橫跨整條通道,呈現出香港人來人往、充滿活力的的景象。

 

奧培獨特的肖像藝術作品充滿標誌性,鮮明的創作風格容易為人辨識,亦充分反映出他對藝術及象形圖案描繪的獨特方式。透過探索當代及古代的不同創作技巧,他重新詮釋日常生活中的事物,將之提煉成簡潔但令人回味的視覺及空間體驗。奧培受古典肖像畫、埃及象形文字、日本木版畫、公共標誌、資訊板以及交通標誌所影響,成功將現代生活的視覺語言連繫藝術史的基礎。

 

奧培觀察到城市內熙來攘往的人群:「人們往不同方向移動。每個人朝向一個目的地,有著各樣的選擇、風格及特質,而在轉瞬即逝的一刻,我眼前的人結為一體,變成延綿不斷的人群。每個人都很適合作畫,比憑空想像的人物來得好。」

 

奧培稱:「我運用圖象程式作畫,使我能在照片上彎曲粗線,並以純色填補空白。一群人出現,大步走過,上班生活,有的拿著手提袋、電話或凍飲。他們隨機而片刻的動態被定格下來,成為作品的一部分、一個標誌或符號,我按照所看到的細節,以最清晰寫實的方式紀錄下來。符號及象形文字、圖像及路標皆發揮類似的作用,將物件和人轉化成一種足以描述且閱讀的語言。單字可以組合成為句子,等同個體組合起來形成人群。行人通道將行人變成文本,從左至右閱讀。」

 

英國藝術家朱利安・奧培為太古廣場獨家創作的一系列人物肖象,是太古地產永久藝術收藏之最新一員,反映公司一直以來對藝術及地方營造的長遠支持。這藝術裝置為社區而設 —— 不論是上班族、遊客、顧客或香港人—— Parade. 及Running 3. 的亮相定必是太古廣場社區值得注目的亮點。

 

登上 www.julianopie.com 了解更多朱利安・奧培及其作品。

 

登記收取最新資訊

訂閱太古廣場之最新消息及活動

  • 請閱讀條款和細則後才按同意

感謝您訂閱太古廣場最新資訊。

遞交資料時發生錯誤,請檢查電郵有否重覆使用

關閉