This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

Meet Ultra Violette, the emerging skinscreen label that makes prioritising our SPF routines a whole lot more enticing.


From their home base of Melbourne, Australia, Ultra Violette co-founders Bec Jefferd and Ava Matthews let The Style Sheet in on everything from what it’s like launching a beauty brand during a pandemic to how to decipher which sun protection is best for you.


1. You’re both from Australia, the sunburnt country! Has wearing sunscreen been ingrained in you from a young age?


Ava: We’re told almost from birth to ‘slip slop slap’, which means wear sunscreen and hats. When you’re younger, your parents are the ones who apply it for you but as you grow up and sun protection becomes your responsibility, I think that’s where it can slip. For me personally, I wasn’t invested in daily use of SPF until my mid-twenties. It’s something I wish I’d been more on top of from a much younger age!

Ava Matthews and Bec Jefferd, co-founders of beauty brand Ultra Violette
Ultra Violette founders Ava Matthews (left) and Bec Jefferd (right)

2. You launched not long before the pandemic. What unique challenges did you face?


Bec: We launched Ultra Violette in January 2019, so we had a good year of sales before the pandemic started to take effect. Challenges we faced included launching into retailers outside Australia such as JOYCE Beauty during a period of ongoing lockdowns. It also meant we weren’t able to travel to Hong Kong and visit the market. I’ve always loved Hong Kong (oh, the shopping!) and can’t wait to get there and see our products in store (and a few other stores while I’m there!).


3. Can you tell us about the inspiration behind your statement branding?


 

Bec: The Ultra Violette branding was inspired by cues from our childhood. In Australia in the 1980s and 90s, it was popular to wear fluorescent zinc on your face to stop your cheeks and nose getting burnt. I should say it was popular for parents to slather their kids with this — no one actually liked wearing the stuff! So our colours are a nod to the zinc creams of our childhood, and the blue is an iconic reference to the category (i.e. the sky).  

4. Ultra Violette is a skinscreen brand. Can you tell us a bit about the skincare element?


Ava: We made sure to include wonderful skincare actives in all our screens as we liked the idea of it being able to replace your daily hydrator or serums. We’ve included Kakadu plum (native to Australia and a potent form of vitamin C) in most of our screens, and all of them contain Pentavitin, which is a super powerful hydrator (more powerful than hyaluronic acid). 


5. What’s your beauty motto?


Ava: Take care of your skin first and everything else is just an accessory. I’m also a big believer in a great blush and bold brows to help anchor your face.

Ultra Violette beauty products
The brand’s products have quickly grown a loyal fanbase

6. Are there any role models within business you look up to? 


Ava: Whitney Wolfe, who created Bumble, is incredible — I’m so in awe of what she has built. Bumble is such an amazing brand. And she’s the youngest female self-made billionaire (without even having a tech background).


7. What’s the best business advice you’ve ever been given?


Ava: Things take a lot longer and cost way more than you’ll ever think is possible. Failure in business is inevitable, so it’s what you do after that failure that counts. Everyone makes mistakes.


8. What’s the hardest part of running a beauty business?

Bec: I don’t know if there is anything specifically hard about running a ‘beauty’ business, but running a business has its challenging moments. Navigating a fast-growing brand and all that comes with that in terms of production, manufacturing and staying well-equipped with the best people and resources keeps you on your toes.


9. What’s been the most fun part?


Bec: Nothing beats seeing your brand in a new retailer. It just opens the doors to new people discovering the brand and hopefully finding a skinscreen that they love to wear every day. Actually, maybe one thing beats that… Earlier this month, we held a brand activation on Bondi Beach and hundreds of people joined us. It was truly awesome to meet customers and fans from all over New South Wales that had travelled for the event. That was the most fun part by far!


10. If we’re inside all day and it’s cloudy outside, do we really need to wear sunscreen?


Bec: Wearing sunscreen isn’t just to prevent getting sunburnt — it’s the best anti-ageing product you can use, and the ‘ageing’ rays (UVA) can penetrate clouds and windows. So if you care about ageing then the short answer is yes, you do need to wear sunscreen every day.


11. Where does sunscreen application come in one’s daily skincare routine?


Ava: SPF is the final step in your skincare regime before make-up, so it should be applied after (or instead of) moisturiser.


12. You have a mix of chemical and mineral sunscreens in your offering. What’s the difference?


Bec: Sunscreen actives are generally classified into inorganic (mineral) actives or organic (chemical) actives and the main difference is their texture resulting from the different SPF actives. Mineral sunscreens can be slightly thicker than chemical actives. Both work at protecting the skin from UVA and UVB rays. I usually recommend a chemical sunscreen (Queen Screen and Supreme Screen) if you prefer lighter textures that sink into the skin. Mineral sunscreens (Lean Screen and Clean Screen, the latter being a part mineral and part chemical sunscreen) are recommended for people who prefer a thicker texture or who have sensitive skin. Our mineral sunscreens also are fragrance-free, which can be better for skin that’s easily irritated.


13. What’s a common misconception about sunscreen?


Bec: People often think that mineral-based sunscreens are ‘natural’. There are two broad types of active sunscreen ingredients: mineral, such as zinc and titanium dioxide; and chemical, such as homosalate and Tinosorbs. Both types of sunscreen ingredients are effective, neither is ‘natural’ and it’s important you find the type that works best for your skin without any bias.


14. Should we be wearing SPF 30 and SPF 50?


Bec: Ultra Violette has a ‘wardrobe’ of sunscreens, so you can choose a product that suits your skin for different scenarios. I personally like to use Supreme Screen or Queen Screen for under make-up. I prefer to use Clean Screen or Lean Screen on my face if I’m exercising outside, as I like that they don’t have fragrance, and Extreme Screen is our body and hand SPF that I wear on my body if I’m at the beach or outside. All of our products are SPF50 except for Clean Screen which is SPF30 — I recommend wearing the highest SPF you can.


15. How much sunscreen should we actually be applying for it to be effective?


Bec: There’s actually no global standard for how much you need to use, so we primarily follow Australian guidelines and recommend applying 5 ml for each arm, leg, body front, body back and face (including neck and ears).


16. What’s your top beauty hack?


Bec: As SPF is an important part of every skincare routine and should be the last skincare product you use before make-up, my beauty hack is to start at the end of your routine with an SPF that you love and work backward to create a routine that works for you every day.

Ultra Violette beauty products
Ultra Violette brings a distinctive style influenced by Matthews and Jefferd’s Australian childhoods

17. You’ve just wrapped up an Australian summer. Which Australian beaches would you recommend when travel opens up?


Ava: Legendary Bondi Beach — North Bondi only. Hyams Beach on the New South Wales South Coast is just beautiful — it has long stretches of white sand and clear blue sea. Byron Bay has amazing beaches too. We’re in Melbourne and there’s not much that compares to those here, but anything along the Mornington Peninsula is a safe bet.


18. Are there any other fellow beauty brands available at JOYCE Beauty that you personally a big fan of?


Ava: I’m a HUGE Oribe fan — I buy it in one-litre pump packs! I also love my NuFACE — I used it religiously in the lead-up to my wedding last year.


19. Ultra Violette is very Instagram-worthy! Who do you enjoy following on Instagram and why?


Bec: Thank you! I love following the New York Times for news updates, Molly Baz for food and recipes, Pia Baroncini for lifestyle and Deuxmoi for a bit of celebrity gossip.


20. Where do you see Ultra Violette five years from now?


Ava: Global SPF Domination! We see the brand in more places around the world — Europe, South East Asia, China, Middle East, the US. We’re also expanding more into that fusion of skincare and make-up with some SPF tints launching later this year, so maybe an expansion of that category. We’re a young, agile business, so I think the opportunities for us are boundless.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image

新兴防晒护理品牌Ultra Violette让我们每天更有动力涂抹防晒霜。


来自澳大利亚墨尔本的Ultra Violette共同创始人Bec Jefferd和Ava Matthews,接受The Style Sheet专访,由谈论在疫情下发布美容品牌的种种,到如何分析哪种防晒产品最适合你,与大家畅谈品牌的大小事。


1. 两位来自阳光普照的澳大利亚,是不是从小已习惯要涂抹防晒霜?


Ava:从小开始常常听到“slip slop slap”这句防晒口号,呼吁市民要穿衣服、涂防晒和戴帽子。年幼的时候,父母会替你涂抹,但长大后你就要自己来,结果变得可有可无。对我来说,我是二十多岁才投资日用防晒产品,真希望自己更早建立这个习惯!

Ava Matthews and Bec Jefferd, co-founders of beauty brand Ultra Violette
Ultra Violette共同创始人Ava Matthews(左)和Bec Jefferd(右)

2. 品牌面世后不久后出现疫情,当时你们面对什么另类挑战?


Bec:Ultra Violette在2019年1月面世,所以疫情来袭前的那第一年也有不错业绩。后来由于持续封关,我们难以拓展至澳大利亚以外的零售商,如JOYCE Beauty,成为当时的一大挑战。封关也代表我们无法前往香港、无法亲访当地市场。我向来很喜欢香港,那里简直是购物天堂,而且我很期待看到我们的产品上架,还能顺道到访另外几家零售店。


3. 能否分享主要品牌形象背后的灵感?


Bec:Ultra Violette的品牌形象以我们的童年生活为灵感。1980、1990年代的时候,澳大利亚很流行在脸上涂抹有色防晒膏,防止面颊和鼻子晒伤。当年其实是家长流行给子女涂那种防晒膏,根本没有小孩喜欢那东西。品牌用色就是呼应那种童年常见的防晒膏,而蓝色也有标志性作用,让人联想到天空。


4. Ultra Violette是防晒护理品牌,可以谈谈当中的护肤元素吗?


Ava:我们希望Ultra Violette的防晒霜能够取代大家的日用保湿霜或精华素,所以全部产品均含有有效护肤的活性成分。我们也在大部分防晒霜加入了澳大利亚原产的卡卡度果,蕴含强效维生素C;而所有防晒霜均含有超强保湿成分Pentavitin锁水磁石,保湿能力比透明质酸(hyaluronic acid)更强。


5. 你们有什么美容格言?


Ava:护肤最重要,其他的都是其次。另外,我深信漂亮胭脂和粗眉,有助勾勒面部轮廓。

Ultra Violette beauty products
品牌的卓越产品迅速赢得一群忠实支持者

6. 行内有没有谁让你们十分钦佩?


Ava:交友应用程式Bumble的创始人Whitney Wolfe相当厉害,我很佩服她。她不是科技背景出身,却创立了Bumble这个杰出品牌,更让她成为最年轻白手起家的亿万女富豪。


7. 你们给过最好的营商建议?


Ava:你所花的时间和资金远比所想的多很多。做生意一定会有失败的时候,重点是失败后如何继续向前,毕竟人人都会犯错。


8. 经营美容生意最困难的部分?


Bec:我不知道有些什么是“美容”生意独有的难题,但经营生意的确有其挑战。打理快速成长的品牌,就要管理生产和制作过程,同时也要有最佳的团队和资源,才能让你保持备战状态。


9. 最有趣的部分呢?


Bec:看到自己的产品在新的零售店上架最开心,不仅能让更多人认识我们的品牌,也希望顾客能找到他们乐意每天使用的防晒护理产品。其实,可能有一件事更胜一筹……本月月初,我们在邦迪海滩(Bondi Beach)办了一场品牌激活活动,当日有数以百计的出席者参与,很高兴可以接触到专诚由新南威尔士(New South Wales)各地而来的支持者。那场活动算是目前最有趣的部分!


10. 如果我们整天待在室内,户外又是阴天,真的需要涂抹防晒霜吗?


Bec:涂抹防晒霜不仅是为了防止晒伤,其实它是最佳的抗衰老产品,因为能够造成“光衰老”的UVA紫外光能够穿透云层和窗户。如果你不希望衰老,那答案就是需要,你要每天涂抹防晒霜。


11. 日常护理的时候,该在什么时候涂抹防晒霜?


Ava:涂抹防晒霜是化妆前的最后护理步骤,所以该在涂抹保湿霜后使用防晒霜,或用来取代保湿霜。


12.你们提供有机化合物和无机矿物的防晒霜,两者有何分别?


Bec:防晒霜的活性成分一般分为无机矿物或有机化合物两种,最大分别在于不同防晒活性成分的质感不一样。矿物防晒霜的质感比化合物防晒霜较滋润,两者都能阻挡UVA和UVB紫外线,保护肌肤。假如你喜欢质感较轻盈、能够渗透肌肤的选择,我一般推介有机化合物防晒霜,像是Queen Screen和Supreme Screen;假如你喜欢质地较滋润或你有敏感性肌肤,则建议选用矿物防晒霜,像是Lean Screen和无机矿物和有机化合物的混合型防晒霜Clean Screen。我们的无机矿物防晒霜不含香料,较适合易受刺激的肌肤。


13. 一般人对防晒霜有什么普遍误解?


Bec:大家误以为矿物防晒霜属于“天然”。活性防晒成分有两大类:矿物,如氧化锌和二氧化钛;化合物,如甲基水杨醇(homosalate)和Tinosorb S。这两种成分均能有效防晒,但两者都不算“天然”,最重要是根据肌肤的状态,以客观角度挑选最适合自己的防晒霜。


14. 我们应该选用SPF 30和SPF 50的防晒霜吗?


Bec:Ultra Violette提供一系列的防晒霜,你可因应不同情况选择合用的产品。我自己喜欢在妆前使用Supreme Screen或Queen Screen,如在户外做运动就会用Clean Screen或Lean Screen,因为这两款防晒霜不含香料。至于Extreme Screen是我会全身使用的防晒霜,适合去沙滩或户外使用。我们所有产品的防晒功效均是SPF 50,只有Clean Screen是SPF 30,我会建议大家选用SPF值最高的产品。


15. 防晒霜要用多少才能有效防晒?


Bec:其实防晒霜的用量并无国际标准,所以我们主要是参考澳大利亚的指引,建议四肢、胸前、背部和面部(包括脖子和双耳)每处涂抹5毫升分量的防晒霜。


16. 你们的最强美容心得?


Bec:防晒对于日常护肤非常重要,所以应该是妆前护肤的最后一步。我的美容心得是从最后一个护肤步骤着手,先选出自己最爱的防晒霜,然后逆向思考,搭配出最适合自己的日常护肤程序。

Ultra Violette beauty products
Ultra Violette品牌形象独特,灵感取自两位创始人Ava和Bec的澳大利亚童年生活

17. 澳大利亚炎夏刚过,重新开放旅游后,你们推荐大家去哪些澳大利亚海滩?


Ava:名不虚传的邦迪海滩,但仅限北邦迪海滩。新南威尔士的海姆斯海滩(Hyams Beach)美不胜收,长长的海滩有着幼滑白沙和清澈碧海。拜伦湾(Byron Bay)的海滩休也相当迷人。我们墨尔本这里没有哪个海滩能够媲美,但往摩林顿半岛(Mornington Peninsula)一带去找的话,也有不错的海滩。


18. 有其他在JOYCE Beauty上架的美容品牌是你们很喜欢的吗?


Ava:我超级喜欢Oribe,我都买它的1公升泵装产品!我也很喜欢NuFACE,去年举行婚礼之前,我一直在用它。


19. Ultra Violette很适合打卡,你们有在Instagram关注什么?为什么?


Bec:多谢赞赏!新闻方面我有关注《纽约时报》、美食方面有Molly Baz、生活品味有Pia Baroncini,明星八卦则有Deuxmoi。


20. 你们预期Ultra Violette往后五年有何发展?


Ava:防晒产品进军全球!希望我们的品牌可以打入至更多地方,例如欧洲、东南亚、中国、中东和美国等等。此外,我们今年稍后也会推出防晒润色的护肤和化妆产品,有望拓展那个板块的业务。作为年轻且灵活的品牌,深信我们未来有无限的发展商机。

类型

关闭