This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.MORE INFO
Back Menu Close
Image

As Pacific Place celebrates its 30th birthday, we ask Hongkongers to reflect on their childhoods in Hong Kong and how the city has grown and changed with them.

Victoria Tang-Owen, Creative Director. Image courtesy of Victoria Tang-Owen

Victoria Tang-Owen, Shanghai Tang Creative Director


My earliest memories are of playing games with my brother Edward. We loved to dress up, play music and eat traditional Cantonese food. We lived in various places, from the Peak to Mid-Levels and, for a time, even at the China Club. My favourite times were spent out of the city at my parents’ old home in Sai Kung. They loved to host lunch and dinner parties, so there were always guests coming in and out, and kids and dogs were most definitely welcome. There was a big lawn, a swimming pool and a beautiful view out to sea.


We used to go on cinema trips to Pacific Place, and I remember lots of friends hosting birthday parties there. I’ve always had a passion for paper, stationery and art supplies, and I have this funny memory from when I was very young insisting to my mother that we spend hours in a stationery shop in Pacific Place when she just wanted to be shopping upstairs somewhere more glamorous!

China Club dining room. Image courtesy of China Club

I studied photography and graphic design at Central Saint Martins, and loved my time in London. I worked at fashion brand Issa and travelled a lot as a freelance fashion and portrait photographer; I shot for magazines like V Magazine, L’Uomo Vogue and Vogue Hommes Japan. Meeting fascinating and sometimes controversial subjects was exciting, but Hong Kong felt like home and opportunities were opening up for me here — including working with my father on lifestyle concept brand TangTangTangTang.


Hong Kong feels bigger and busier than when I was growing up here, but the soul of the city, the harbour lights and the buzzing social scene is much the same. Maybe we’ve lost a little of the old-school glamour I remember from my parents — we’re more casual as a society today.


I’ve been in and around the Hong Kong creative scene since I was very young. My father was a huge supporter of artists, musicians and other creatives from Hong Kong and the Chinese Mainland, so I know the talent and interest has always been there. But Hong Kong made its name as a commercial city, not a creative city, so it’s a challenge for people to put creativity at the top of the agenda.


These days I spend my spare time in Hong Kong with my son Rocco (邓艺) and my husband. Rocco has a beautiful smile and a laugh that melts my heart. We love to take him to the park to ride his scooter and check out exhibitions at the galleries in Pedder Building and H Queen’s.


Hong Kong has been good to me, and I’m proud to be from the city. Wherever you travel in the world, people think highly of Hong Kong, and if you run into someone from Hong Kong when you’re abroad there’s always a happy connection. Hong Kong is like a big family — sometimes families have arguments, but in the end the love runs deep.

Ruth Chao, Designer. Image courtesy of Ruth Chao

Ruth Chao, Founder & Creative Director, Ruth Chao Studio


I always remember Hong Kong as a beautiful place. It’s the perfect balance between city and countryside because you can travel for mere minutes and find yourself on a mountaintop or by the sea. I think it’s one of the greatest things about this city — while you have the convenience of city life, you also have the tranquillity of nature.


One of my family’s traditions is Sunday dim sum. We’ve always spent our Sunday lunchtime together. I think food is something that unites people, and there’s just such a surplus of great food here in Hong Kong. My whole family gets together every Sunday — sometimes we try something new, sometimes we revisit old favourites — but dim sum is always the theme.


Over the years, Hong Kong has changed a lot. When I was young, we used to go to galleries and museums overseas, but rarely in Hong Kong. Lately, there have been many more cultural happenings here, with Art Basel, the West Kowloon Cultural District and Tai Kwun. I love that there are more art galleries and events in the city. It provides fuel and inspiration, and encourages dreamers and seekers to find their way.

Pacific Place pre-renovation. Image by Roger Price/Wikimedia Commons

Looking back, Pacific Place has been one of the constants in my life. We always went there to see movies as kids. I remember the cinema and the atrium well — the sky-high ceilings always filled the place with light. Later, I remember the remodelling and the new design. With its curves and tranquil zen feeling, it all flows so well together.


I went to university in the UK, but I always knew I’d come back because my grandma was here and I was really close to her. One of my fondest memories is going to the park with her to feed the ducks. I don’t remember exactly where it was — I was too young — but I’d always be the one to carry a full loaf of bread; I just loved feeding the ducks.


These days, I take my puppy out into nature. He’s a Jack Russell and his name is Clover. He loves going out, splashing in waves by the sea or jumping around in the mountains.


There’s something about the Hong Kong cityscape. Every time I see our harbour it still moves me — the lights, the people; I think Hong Kong is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. It’s my home and I love it.

ChauKei Ngai, Yoga Teacher. Image courtesy of ChauKei Ngai

ChauKei Ngai, Yoga Teacher


My earliest memories of growing up in Hong Kong are of going to the beach and digging for clams, and of visiting my parents’ friends’ village houses and playing with firecrackers. Among my favourite things to do, but which doesn’t exist anymore, was visiting the Lai Yuen amusement park. I used to love the game where you’d throw a dollar coin within the tiles to win a pack of Doublemint chewing gum. There was also an old-school Ferris wheel. Today there’s a new and different kind of wheel — the Observation Wheel on the Central Harbourfront.


I used to love Hong Kong’s individual street food carts, where I could have a wide variety of choices. One of my favourite foods was waffles with peanut butter and white sugar sprinkled on top. You can still find it today, though I haven’t had it in a long time as I try to avoid white sugar. I don’t mind eating it once in a while, though, and reminiscing on it now has reminded me that I must take my son to try the snack one day.

Lai Yuen Amusement Park. Image by Simon Lee

I love that people in Hong Kong draw on Eastern and Western cultures, and I think that makes us very unique. As Hongkongers, we also know how important it is to take care of our parents, which is paramount and is something that hasn’t changed over the years.


I was born in Hong Kong. I went to university in Canada and travelled for about two years after graduating, then moved to the US and came back to Hong Kong about five years ago. I feel that Hong Kong always has a place in my heart, and that’s what made me want to return to the city. I’m very happy that I made the decision to come back.


When I’m away from Hong Kong, I miss the street food. Luckily, when I lived in Vancouver and in Toronto I could still enjoy really good local-style food. Now that I’m back, I like to go out and try different restaurants, which is something I didn’t do when I was a kid. I also like to go hiking in my free time. There are so many places to go in the city and so much to do. There’s always something going on in Hong Kong — it’s a vibrant and dynamic place.

Nancy Fung, founder, Signature Communications. Image courtesy of Nancy Fung

Nancy Fung, founder, Signature Communications


My sister and I grew up in Hong Kong. My family loved spending weekends on a boat, whether in summer or winter. In the summer, we’d swim and enjoy the beautiful weather, whereas in the winter, the adults would play mah-jong and the kids would sing karaoke. Regardless of the season, a seafood meal on Lamma Island was always a must.


I always remember the excitement of a Typhoon 8 signal. My father would take us for mini staycations. It was his excuse to check out all the new hotels but also to not have to worry about food and safety for the family. Typhoons nowadays definitely feel less magical!


Winters in Hong Kong are not as cold as they used to be. As a kid, I always knew Chinese New Year was around the corner when I got to wear my traditional Chinese silk padded jacket (棉衲). The cold weather and that jacket felt very festive, and had me looking forward to all the sweet treats and red packets that Chinese New Year brought. I hope my son will have the opportunity to wear that type of jacket over Chinese New Year and experience the excitement and anticipation that I felt as a child.

Repulse Bay, 1991. Image by Russell Watkins/Flickr

I remember the opening of Pacific Place. It was a game changer for our family. Before that, my mum used to love going to one mall in particular, so much so that my father joked that she should apply for a security guard position there as she just walked around it all day long. When Pacific Place opened, it was a breath of fresh air for the family. My father loved exploring new places, and he often took us there on the weekends. I remember going for ramen in the food court and to the oh-so-cool Muji store. It’s interesting that Muji has reopened in Pacific Place recently, eliciting so much nostalgia for me.


I studied overseas — in Canada, the US and the UK — from the age of 13, but I knew I’d return to Hong Kong. I wanted to be close to my family. I also missed the convenience, efficiency and the ease of getting things done, not to mention the food — London’s food scene hadn’t yet flourished when I was there.


I now spend as much of my free time as I can with my baby boy Anthony. I used to be a city girl, but since having Anthony, I appreciate nature more and want to expose him to as much of it as possible. Hong Kong makes that very easy because we can get to a beach on the south side from the city so conveniently, and if my husband feels like taking Anthony for a hike, he walks up the Morning Trail to The Peak.


I love Hong Kong most for giving me such fond childhood memories.

Category

Close

本网站使用Cookies来确保您获得我们网站上的最佳体验。浏览更多
返回 目录 Close
Image
在太古广场庆祝30周年庆典之际,我们和香港人一起回首童年,忆起和这座都市一同成长的经过,并细数各种时日变迁。
邓爱嘉(Victoria),创意总监。图片由Victoria提供

邓爱嘉(Victoria),上海滩创意总监


我最早的记忆是和弟弟 Edward玩游戏。我们很喜欢打扮、听音乐和吃传统广东菜。我们住过很多地方,例如山顶、半山,甚至有一段时间住在中国会,而我最喜爱远离市中心、父母曾经生活的西贡旧居。父母很爱举办午饭或晚饭聚会,因此家里经常有客人进出,我们也很欢迎他们携同小朋友和爱犬。那里还有大草地、游泳池和美丽的海景。


我们以前会到太古广场看电影,我还记得很多朋友会在那里开生日派对。我一直都特别钟情纸品、文具和美术用品,小时候曾和妈妈坚持要在太古广场的文具店逗留几个小时,害她不能如愿到楼上名店购物,想起来也觉得好笑!

中国会宴会厅。图片由中国会提供

我在伦敦中央圣马丁艺术与设计学院修读摄影和平面设计,我十分喜爱那段日子。我曾在时装品牌Issa工作,又以自由时装及人像摄影师的身份周游列国,为《V Magazine》、《L'Uomo Vogue》和《Vogue Hommes Japan》等杂志拍摄。虽然到处游历让我有机会接触很多引人入胜、时而诱发争论的主题,的确值得兴奋,可是香港始终给我家的归属感,同时亦充满机遇,其中包括和父亲联手推动生活风尚概念品牌TangTangTangTang的机会。


与我的童年回忆相比,香港现在感觉更大、更繁忙,但是这个城市的灵魂、海旁的灯火和活力的社区面貌始终如一。也许我们失去了一些怀旧的光辉,那是属于我父母的特质,可是我们的社会现在更加休闲和放松。


我自小就在香港的创意圈子打滚。我的父亲非常支持本地和内地艺术家、音乐家和其他创意工作者,因此我一直知道城中不乏别具天赋的有志之士。然而,香港以商业之都闻名于世,而非一个主打创意的地方,所以要求大家将创意看成首要考虑,确实是很大挑战。


这些日子,我有空就会和儿子Rocco(邓艺)、丈夫在香港度过。Rocco甜美的笑容和爽朗的笑声,总是能够融化我的心。我们喜欢带他到公园,让他踩滑板车,或者到毕打行和H Queen’s看展览。


香港对我很好,我很荣幸我是香港人。无论你去到哪里,大家都对香港评价很高,如果你在外地遇上香港人,很多时候都能一拍即合。香港就像一个大家庭——纵使偶有争吵,可是爱依然根深柢固。

赵于汶(Ruth),设计师。图片由Ruth提供

Ruth Chao,创始人及创意总监,Ruth Chao Studio


在我的记忆里,香港永远都是一个美丽的地方。它完美平衡都市与郊野生活,你只需花几分钟 车程,就可以上到山顶,或者去到海边。对我来说,这是香港最棒的地方之一,你可以享有城市生活的方便,又可以享受大自然的安静。


我和家人有一个传统,那就是星期天喝早茶、吃点心。每个星期天,我们都会一起吃午饭。我认为食物可以凝聚人心,而香港是一个美食天堂,选择多不胜数。每个星期天,我和家人都会一早起来去喝早茶,有时候寻觅新欢,有时候重拾旧爱,可是主题必定是点心。


这些年来,香港变了很多。我小时候想去画廊或博物馆,大多都是飞往海外,很少在本地探索。最近本地文化活动越发蓬勃,例如巴塞尔艺术展、西九文化区和大馆等亮点。我很高兴本地艺术画廊和活动愈来愈多,带来更多动力和灵感,鼓励梦想家和搜索家开辟自己的道路。

太古广场翻新之前。图片由Roger Price/Wikimedia Commons提供

回想起来,太古广场是我生命中不变的一部分。我们小时候总是去那里看电影,我清楚记得戏院和中庭的模样,高耸的天花让室内充满自然阳光。之后,太古广场全面翻新,迎接全新流线“禅”式设计,一切浑然天成,叫人心境平静。


我去了英国读大学,可是知道自己一定会回来香港,因为我婆婆 就在香港,而我和她十分亲近。其中一个最触动我的回忆,就是和她一起在公园喂鸭子。我当时太小了,不记得实际地点,但我每次都抱着满怀的面包和期待,因为我真的很爱喂鸭。


这些日子,我会带我养的小狗到大自然去。牠是一只杰克罗素梗,名字叫四叶草(Clover),很喜欢出外、在海边踩浪,或在山间蹦跳。


香港的城市景致十分独特,每次我看见维多利亚港,那些灿烂迷人的灯饰,以及熙来攘往的人群,依然会被感动。我觉得香港是世界上最美丽的城市之一。香港是我的家,我爱香港。

魏秋琪,瑜伽老师。图片由魏秋琪提供

魏秋琪,瑜伽老师


我在香港长大,最早的记忆是在海滩挖蚬子、到父母朋友的村屋拜访和玩鞭炮。我当时最喜欢做的事之一,就是去荔园游乐场玩耍,可是荔园已经不在了。我小时候很喜欢玩一个游戏:把硬币抛出去,要是落在磁砖格子内,就可以嬴得一包绿箭口香糖。那时曾有一个复古摩天轮,现在已经被中环海旁的摩天轮取而代之,模样更新颖,设计也不一样。


我以前很喜欢香港街头的小贩摊档,提供种类繁多的小食,而我最爱的其中一款是格仔饼,里面涂满花生酱,再洒上白砂糖。现在,你依然可以找到格仔饼,不过我已经好久没吃了,因为我努力避开白砂糖。虽然这样说,我不介意偶尔吃一次,回忆一下过去——这提醒了我,一定要带我儿子吃一次。

荔园游乐场。图片由Simon Lee提供

我喜欢香港人中西合璧的才华,这是我们的独特之处。作为香港人,我们也很重孝道,希望照顾父母,这些年来一直没变。


我生于香港,然后在加拿大上大学,毕业后游历了大约两年,然后搬到美国,最后在大概五年前回归香港。香港永远都在我心中,这是我回来的原因,我亦很高兴做了这个决定。


当我身在外地,总会想念街头小食。幸运地,我在温哥华和多伦多时仍可享受当地美食。现在我回来了,我想出去尝试不同的餐厅,这是我小时候没机会做的事,亦想闲时去爬山。香港很多地方可以去,也很多事情可以做,无时无刻都一定有活动,因为这里活力四射、多姿多彩。

Nancy Fung,Signature Communications创始人。图片由Nancy提供

Nancy Fung,Signature Communications创始人


我和姐姐一起在香港长大,以前家人喜欢周末出海,四季如一。在夏天,我们会游泳和享受绝美的天气,而在冬天,大人会打麻将,小孩则去唱KTV。无论什么季节,我们都会在南丫岛吃一顿丰富的海鲜大餐。


我很记得面临八号风球的兴奋心情。爸爸会趁机带我们入住新酒店,让我们可以在香港度假,同时不用担心食物和安全,现在的台风就没有那么梦幻了。


现在香港的冬天没有以前冷。小时候,当我穿上传统中式棉袄,我就知道农历新年快到了。寒冷天气和绵衲很有节日气氛,让我开始期待新年的糖果和红包。我希望我儿子有机会在新年穿上棉袄,感觉我儿时曾有的兴奋和期待。

浅水湾,1991年。图片由Russell Watkins/Flickr提供

我记得太古广场的开幕,为我们家庭带来重大改变。在那之前,妈妈特别喜欢一个商场,她经常造访,爸爸会开玩笑叫她去那里当保安,反正她整天在那里走来走去。当太古广场开张,对我们来说像是一口清新空气。爸爸喜欢探索新的地方,所以他会在周末带我们到太古广场。我记得那时在美食广场吃拉面,然后去逛新潮得不得了的无印良品。最近无印又在太古广场重开,刚好让我缅怀一番。


我从13岁就在海外读书,去过加拿大、美国和英国,可是总知道自己会回来香港。我想和家人更亲密,亦很想念方便快捷的生活,更不用说这里的美食——我在伦敦的时候,当地的饮食业还没兴盛起来。


现在只要有时间,我就会陪我的宝贝儿子Anthony。我以前是个都市女性,可是有了Anthony之后,就开始更加欣赏大自然,希望尽可能让他接触花草树木。香港交通发达,我们可以轻松去到南面的海滩,如果丈夫想和Anthony远足,也可以踏上山顶晨运径。


我很爱香港,感谢此地给我的温馨童年。

关闭