Back Menu Close
Image

Aperol Spritz, Gin and Tonic, Margarita – when it comes to which drinks to order, we all tend to opt for our trusty old favourites time and time again. What about the drinks we’re not ordering? Just because we don’t know about them doesn’t mean they aren’t worthy of a round. In a bid to make new discoveries, we ask bartenders to share the drink orders that are often forgotten – but shouldn’t be.

Jack Leung from Café Gray Bar champions the classic Sazerac

1. Sazerac


 ‘It’s a classic cocktail, where you can taste the balance of cognac, rye whisky, anise, bitters and sugar. The cocktail is originally made with cognac but was substituted with rye whiskey due to the phylloxera plague hitting cognac supplies in the 1870s. So the ingredients have varied over the years, but its flavour has remained distinctive due to one essential ingredient – Peychaud’s aromatic bitters. I like tweaking the classic recipe with an equal part of cognac and rye whisky, creating a smoother taste which brings out the subtle notes of spice and vanilla.’ – Jack Leung, Café Gray Bar

Hanson Fok from Madame Ching makes the case for ordering a sweet, easy-to-drink Adonis

2. Adonis


‘Adonis is a drink named after a famous Broadway musical from 1884. The show had a run of 603 consecutive performances, and after the 500th show this cocktail was created in its honour. It was very popular at the Waldorf Astoria bar in New York back in its heyday. It’s sweet in taste, contains a little orange and lemon flavour and is super easy to drink. It’s also low on alcohol content, which makes it great for aperitif hour, and it’s amazing with a rich dish or dessert.’ – Hanson Fok, Madame Ching

Bryson Rivera from BAR Q88 suggests trying out James Dean’s Rebel Without a Cause – an Old Fashioned that ‘tastes like Christmas’

3. James Dean’s Rebel Without a Cause


‘While most people have heard of an Old Fashioned, not everyone realises it’s the world’s first cocktail. The original is made of bitters, alcohol and sugar, but at BAR Q88 we substitute the sugar with gingerbread syrup and replace angostura bitters with house-made hellfire bitters – which is a mix of cayenne pepper and Peychaud’s bitters – to give it a hint of spice. It’s like an Old Fashioned that tastes like Christmas. We also use Wild Turkey Bourbon, inspired by James Dean’s character in the movie Rebel without a Cause.’ – Bryson Rivera, BAR Q88

Adrian Noguera from The Continental is a fan of the Sidecar – a cognac-filled creation that’s been around for a century

4. Sidecar


‘Cognac is an underutilised tipple that can actually be used to make some of the most amazing cocktails – the Sidecar is one of them. While its exact origin is unclear, it’s thought to have been invented around the end of the First World War, with The Ritz Hotel in Paris claiming its creation. The recipe first appeared in 1922, and was one of the six basic drinks listed in David Embury’s The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks in 1948. Along with cognac, the drink is made with orange liqueur and lemon juice.’ – Adrian Noguera, The Continental

James Barker from Commissary suggests opting for a Yellow Bird – a rum-infused cocktail inspired by the Caribbean

5. Yellow Bird


‘Although the origin of the cocktail is a little hazy, some sippers say it was named after the Haitian tune of the same name. First re-written in English in the 1950s, the song was viewed by many as the unofficial national anthem of the Caribbean. This cocktail of yesteryear transports drinkers to that place. It’s made of Nusa Cana rum, Galliano, Crème de Banane, pineapple and lime.’ – James Barker, Commissary

Chelsea Yuen from American Brasserie opts for a Miss-a-sippy, made with organic vodka and refreshing mint

6. Miss-a-sippy


‘Inspired by the most vital waterway of North America, the Mississippi, Miss-a-sippy is a cocktail made with American organic vodka, which gives the drink a crisp and peppery palate. It also has complex flavours of tropical citrus and cinnamon, which is reminiscent of the warm, pleasant Mississippi weather, enjoying afternoons on the coasts along the Gulf of Mexico. Its hints of mint offer the sense of tranquil lush woods and hills.’ – Chelsea Yuen, BIZOU American Brasserie

Category

Close

返回 目录 Close
Image

走进酒吧,我们总是爱点那些已经喝过很多遍的鸡尾酒,譬如“阿佩罗开胃酒”、“金汤力”和“玛格丽特”等等,但我们没点的那些呢?虽然它们的名字可能有点陌生,但不代表不值得一试嘛。因此,我们请来酒保推介多款常被遗忘的鸡尾酒,重拾这些沧海遗珠。

Café Gray Bar的Jack Leung推介经典鸡尾酒“萨泽拉克”

1. 萨泽拉克


“这是一款经典鸡尾酒,用干邑、黑麦威士忌、茴香、苦酒和糖调制,比例恰到好处。原始配方只用干邑,但根瘤蚜在1870年代肆虐,大大打击干邑的产量,于是改用黑麦威士忌。虽然这些年来配方有变,但‘萨泽拉克’的招牌味道始终未变,全靠一种重要材料:Peychaud’s芳香苦酒。我喜欢在经典配方稍添巧思,采用一半干邑、一半黑麦威士忌调制,这样入口较幼滑,也能带出淡淡的香料味和香草味。”— Café Gray Bar的Jack Leung推介

郑氏烤肉的Hanson Fok建议大家尝尝“阿多尼斯”,这款甜味鸡尾酒很容易入口

2. 阿多尼斯


“1884年,百老汇音乐剧《阿多尼斯》连续上演了603场,并于第500场特别调配一款以剧作命名的鸡尾酒。当年‘阿多尼斯’鸡尾酒更在纽约华尔道夫酒店风靡一时,广受欢迎。这款甜味鸡尾酒略带橙味和柠檬味,容易入口,而且酒精含量不高,特别适合欢乐时光享用,佐配味道浓郁的小吃或甜点更佳。”— 郑氏烤肉的Hanson Fok推介

“叛逆浪子詹姆斯‧迪恩”像充满耶诞风味的“古典鸡尾酒”,BAR Q88的Bryson Rivera建议大家一试

3. 叛逆浪子詹姆斯‧迪恩


“‘古典鸡尾酒’是无人不晓的鸡尾酒,但很少人知道它是世上第一杯鸡尾酒。原始配方是用苦酒、酒精和糖調製而成,不過我们BAR Q88不用糖,而是用姜饼糖浆;也不用安格斯特拉苦酒,改用自家制的狱火苦酒。狱火苦酒用红辣椒和Peychaud’s苦酒制成,为鸡尾酒加入一抹香料味,像杯充满耶诞风味的‘古典鸡尾酒’。另外,这款酒也加了‘野火鸡’波本威士忌,灵感来自詹姆斯‧迪恩在《无因的叛逆》饰演的叛逆浪子。”— BAR Q88的Bryson Rivera推介

‘边车’是用干邑调配的鸡尾酒,已经流传一个世纪,The Continental的Adrian Noguera也很喜欢喝它

4. 边车


“干邑是烈酒,很多人不爱用它来调酒,但其实它很适合调制多款美味鸡尾酒,‘边车’就是其中一款。虽然没有人知道‘边车’的确实来源,但普遍认为它是起源于一次大战末期左右,巴黎丽思酒店更声称这款鸡尾酒是他们研发。‘边车’的调制配方在1922年首度面世,后在1948年于戴维恩伯里《调酒的艺术》一书中出现,作者更将它列为六种基本调酒之一。除了干邑,炮制这款鸡尾酒也用到橙酒和柠檬酒。”— The Continental的Adrian Noguera推介

Commissary的James Barker推荐‘黄鸟’,这款鸡尾酒用朗姆酒调制,满有加勒比风情

5. 黄鸟


“虽然这款鸡尾酒的由来模糊不清,但有酒客说它是以同名海地歌曲命名,这首歌在1950年代重写成英文版,更被许多加勒比人视为非官方‘国歌’。所以,当你品尝这款怀旧鸡尾酒的时候,就如置身加勒比一样。而制作‘黄鸟’的材料包括:Nusa Cana朗姆酒、加利安奴甜酒、香蕉酒、菠萝和青柠。”— Commissary的James Barker推介

American Brasserie的Chelsea Yuen介绍大家试喝“Miss-a-sippy”,这款鸡尾酒用有机伏特加和清新薄荷制成

6. Miss-a-sippy


“密西西比河是北美洲的重要河道,鸡尾酒‘Miss-a-sippy’以它为创作灵感,用上美国有机伏特加调配而成,入口清爽,辛香可口。此外,鸡尾酒也加入热带柑橘和肉桂,让人想起密西西比的和暖天气,一喝就感受到墨西哥湾沿岸地区的休闲风情。至于淡淡的薄荷味,则把你带到安静宜人的繁茂山林。”— BIZOU American Brasserie的Chelsea Yuen推介

类型

关闭